Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Scoop: Coming Up on the 72ND EMMY AWARDS on ABC - Sunday, September 20, 2020

Article Pixel

Ty Burrell, Ken Jeong, Mindy Kaling, Tatiana Maslany and Bob Newhart will appear.

Scoop: Coming Up on the 72ND EMMY AWARDS on ABC - Sunday, September 20, 2020Scoop: Coming Up on the 72ND EMMY AWARDS on ABC - Sunday, September 20, 2020ABC and the Television Academy have announced the final group of talent who will be making special appearances during the "72nd Emmy® Awards." Talent includes Ty Burrell, Ken Jeong, Mindy Kaling, Tatiana Maslany and Bob Newhart. Additional surprises are in store for television's biggest night.

Hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, the "72nd Emmy® Awards" will broadcast SUNDAY, SEPT. 20 (8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT/6:00 p.m. MDT/5:00 p.m. PDT), on ABC. Previously announced talent includes Anthony Anderson, Jason Bateman, Sterling K. Brown, Laverne Cox, D-Nice, America Ferrera, Morgan Freeman, Ilana Glazer, Abbi Jacobson, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Randall Park, Issa Rae, RuPaul, Patrick Stewart, Jason Sudeikis, Gabrielle Union, Count Von Count of "Sesame Street," Lena Waithe, J.J. Watt, Oprah Winfrey, and H.E.R. will be performing during the "In Memoriam" segment.

The Television Academy seeks to expand the horizons of television excellence. It strives to empower storytellers who shape the evolving television space through the programs, publications and events of the Academy and its Foundation. And it celebrates those who have led excellence by recording their stories and recognizing their achievements through accolades and awards, including television's most coveted prize, the Emmy® Award.

ABC Entertainment airs compelling programming across all day parts, including "Grey's Anatomy," the longest-running medical drama in primetime television; riveting dramas "The Good Doctor," "A Million Little Things" and "Station 19"; trailblazing comedy favorites "American Housewife," "black-ish," "The Conners," "The Goldbergs" and "mixed-ish"; the popular "Summer Fun & Games" programming block, including "Celebrity Family Feud," "Holey Moley," "Match Game," "Press Your Luck" and "To Tell the Truth"; star-making sensation "American Idol"; reality phenomenon "Shark Tank"; "The Bachelor" franchise; long-running hits "Dancing with the Stars" and "America's Funniest Home Videos"; "General Hospital," which has aired for more than 55 years on the network; and late-night talk show "Jimmy Kimmel Live!"; as well as the critically acclaimed, Emmy® Award-winning special "Live in Front of a Studio Audience: Norman Lear's 'All in the Family' and 'The Jeffersons.'" The network also boasts some of television's most prestigious awards shows, including "The Oscars®," "The CMA Awards" and the "American Music Awards."


Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV Scoop