Margaret Colin Biography


Margaret Colin Biography

Date of Birth: May 26, 1957 (59)
Birth Place: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Gender: Female

Margaret Colin received a Drama Desk Award nomination for Outstanding Actress in a Play for her work in John Patrick Shanley's Defiance. She made her Broadway debut in the title role of Jackie, for which she received a Theatre World Award. She smoked her way through Roundabout's A Day in the Death of Joe Egg and appeared in Speaking in Tongues. Off-Broadway includes Portrayal, Triptych, Temporary Help, Psychopathia Sexualis, Sight Unseen and The Aristocrats, which garnered her a Drama Desk Award nomination. At the Williamstown Theatre Festival she appeared in Sweet Bird of Youth and On the Razzle. Her film credits include First Daughter, Unfaithful, Blue Car, The Adventures of Sebastian Cole, The Devil's Own, Independence Day, The Butcher's Wife, Something Wild, Like Father Like Son, Three Men and a Baby, True Believer and Amos & Andrew. Television audiences know her from leading roles on "Gossip Girl," "Now and Again" (Saturn Award), "Sibs," "Foley Square," "The Wright Verdicts," "Legwork," "Chicago Hope," "As the World Turns" and numerous films for Lifetime, Showtime and network TV.

Margaret Colin Awards and Nominations

(winners are in red)

Theatre World Awards - 1998 - Performance
Margaret Colin, Jackie
Drama Desk Awards - 1989 - Outstanding Featured Actress - Play
Margaret Colin, Aristocrats