Click Here for More Articles on 2012 AWARDS SEASON

2012 Drama Desk Awards to be Streamed Live on June 3!


This Sunday, the Drama Desk Award winners will be announced at The Town Hall on June 3rd, 2012. The festivities will be presided over by star of stage and screen Brooke Shields and  talented leading man and Drama Desk winner Brian d'Arcy James.

The 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards will be streamed live from the red carpet (7:15-7:45PM) as well as inside the Town Hall (beginning at 8PM) at DramaDeskAwards.com. Plus, don't forget to check in here at BroadwayWorld.com for live updates on winners and more! Click here for a full list of this year's nominees.

The awards will be presented by award winning dramatists: Doug Wright and Rick Elice; legendary composers: Maury Yeston, William Finn; heralded directors: Roger Rees, Alex Timbers; celebrated designers: Peggy Eisenhauer; revered orchestrators: Jonathan Tunick; valued members of the New York theater scene: Oskar Eustis, Jenny Gersten; and, of course, popular performers: Martha Plimpton, John Larroquette, Julie Halston and Bernadette Peters

This year’s show will feature performances by Miche Braden, Jessie Mueller, Kevin Earley, Marin Mazzie, and Mollie Ranson from Drama Desk recognized productions including The Devil’s Music: The Life & Blues of Bessie Smith, On a Clear Day You Can See Forever, Death Takes a Holiday, and Carrie with a special performance by the Drama Desk winning cast of Newsical.

The Drama Desk nominees were announced at Feinstein’s at Loews Regency on April 27 and celebrated at an exclusive Nominees’ Reception on Tuesday, May 8, 2012 at Oceana Restaurant in Manhattan. The 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards will take place on Sunday, June 3, 2012, at 8:00 PM at The Town Hall (123 West 43th Street) in Manhattan. This year’s award show is being written by cast album producer, playwright, and two-time Drama Desk Award winner Bill Rosenfield and directed by multi-award winning director Mark Waldrop (Divine Miss Millennium Tour, When Pigs Fly, Bea Arthur on Broadway: Just Between Friends). Executive Producer Gretchen Shugart, CEO of TheaterMania, will present the awards ceremony with Robert R. Blume and David S. Stone in association with Renee McCurry. Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the event.

The Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. For additional information about the Drama Desk and this year's awards show, and to purchase tickets to the 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards show at The Town Hall on June 3, visit www.dramadeskawards.com.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...