2013 Carnegie Science Awards Recognizes Leaders In Science And Technology

2013 Carnegie Science Awards Recognizes Leaders In Science And Technology

Today Carnegie Science Center announced the winners of its 2013 Carnegie Science Awards, sponsored by Eaton, at its annual Announcement Reception.

The program honors awardees from more than 15 categories, including Corporate Innovation, Emerging Female Scientist, Entrepreneur, Environmental, Leadership in STEM Education and others. These individuals and companies have distinguished themselves by making unparalleled contributions to science and technology in various disciplines.

"The Carnegie Science Awards spotlight some of the most innovative minds today," said Ron Baillie, Henry Buhl, Jr., Co-Director of Carnegie Science Center. "These individuals are making a global impact starting with our own region. We know they are already inspiring a new generation of leaders."

Carnegie Science Center established the Carnegie Science Awards program in 1997 to recognize and promote outstanding science and technology achievements in western Pennsylvania. Celebrating its 17 th year, the Carnegie Science Awards have honored the accomplishments of more than 300 individuals and organizations that have improved lives through their commitment and contributions in science and technology.

"We have supported the Carnegie Science Awards through a premier sponsorship for the past ten years and have seen remarkable leaders and organizations recognized for their efforts in a challenging and rewarding field," said Richard D. Holder, president of the Control and Circuit Breaker Division of Eaton's Electrical Sector - Americas."We are happy to continue supporting this program and its commitment to discovery, innovation and education."

"One of our central missions is to promote education in science, technology, engineering, and math or STEM. The Carnegie Science Awards winners exemplify the highest levels of success in STEM fields and in STEM education," said Ann Metzger, Henry Buhl, Jr., Co-Director of Carnegie Science Center. "We are proud to recognize these outstanding awardees and look forward to their continued contributions."

Awardees will be honored during a formal celebration at Carnegie Music Hall on Friday, May 3, 2013. Three student winners, who will be selected at the Science Center's 74th annual Pittsburgh Regional Science and Engineering Fair, also will be recognized.

2013 Carnegie Science Award Winners

Advanced Manufacturing Award
David Burns, The ExOne Company

Advanced Materials Award
Edward Argetsinger, Jonathan Stinson, Paul Turner, Paul Jablonski, National Energy Technology Laboratory

Catalyst Award
Nancy Minshew, Center for Excellence in Autism Research University of Pittsburgh

Corporate Innovation Award
Julianne Klara, National Energy Technology Laboratory Regional University Alliance

Elementary Educator Award
Shannon Merenstein, Environmental Charter School

Middle Level Educator Award
Howard Johnson, Charleroi Area School District

High School Educator Award
Jackie Karenbauer, Jennifer DiPasquale, Mark Buccilli, North Hills School District

Leadership in STEM Education
James Manner, Fu-mei C. Lin, Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh, Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh

University/Post-Secondary Educator Award
Steven Little , University of Pittsburgh, Swanson School of Engineering