Quatuor Mosaiques, Charles Owen, Ruby Hughes and More Set for 2014-15 Concert Series at The Frick

Quatuor Mosaiques, Charles Owen, Ruby Hughes and More Set for 2014-15 Concert Series at The Frick

This fall, The Frick Collection presents its seventy-sixth anniversary season of classical music concerts. Debuting in 1938-just three years after the museum opened to the public-the concert series is one of the most celebrated in New York City and over the years has delighted thousands of visitors with a wide range of world-class performances by soloists, chamber music groups, and early music ensembles.

During its distinguished history, the concert program has been recognized for the special niche it fills in the highly competitive and rich world of music performance in New York. The Frick has been host to major soloists and ensembles such as legendary instrumentalists Gregor Piatigorsky, Artur Schnabel, Joseph Szigeti, and Wanda Landowska; vocalists Kiri Te Kanawa, Peter Pears, Kathleen Battle, and Elisabeth Söderström; and the Budapest, Amadeus, Tokyo, and Guarneri quartets.

In recent years, it has become prestigious for European musicians to make their New York debuts at the Frick. Notable examples include Ian Bostridge, Matthias Goerne, Felicity Lott, Pieter Wispelwey, Julian Rachlin, Kate Royal, Yevgeny Sudbin, the Jacques Thibaud Trio, the Carmina Quartet, and Fretwork. The Frick has also become an important venue for performers on period instruments, such as Jordi Savall with Hespèrion XX, Richard Egarr, Andrew Manze, and Quatuor Mosaïques.

The 2014-2015 series showcases exceptional musical talent from around the world. Among the highlights will be performances by a record number of quartets and the return engagement of renowned Austrian string quartet Quatuor Mosaïques. Debuts include acclaimed British pianist Charles Owen; the internationally recognized American pianist Kevin Kenner; British soprano Ruby Hughes (named the BBC New Generation Artist in 2011 and 2013); German cellist Leonard Elschenbroich (recipient of the prestigious Leonard Bernstein award in 2009); and the award-winning French string quartet Quatuor Cambini-Paris.