Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
5 Seconds of Summer '5SOS5' Debuts #2 on Billboard 200

5 Seconds of Summer '5SOS5' Debuts #2 on Billboard 200

The 19-track album showcases the band’s multi-faceted artistry and growth over their 10-year career.

Multi-platinum selling pop-rock band 5 Seconds of Summer have charted #2 in the US on the Billboard Top 200 with their highly anticipated fifth studio album 5SOS5. The album also debuted #1 on the Album Sales, Digital Albums, and Current Pop Albums charts. 5SOS5 garnered global success landing #1 in Australia, the UK, and the Netherlands.

"Thank you to everyone all over the world who's listened to this record, your support means the world to us," says 5 Seconds of Summer on the success of 5SOS5.

With 5SOS5, the band has ascended to the next level musically. The 19-track album showcases the band's multi-faceted artistry and growth over their 10-year career, highlighting their dynamic pop-punk sound paired with reflective and intimate lyrics, with the majority of the new album written by the band and Michael Clifford (vocals/guitar) leading on production.

Last week, 5 Seconds of Summer performed "Bad Omens" on Late Night with Seth Meyers. The four-piece also wrapped up the TODAY shows' Citi Concert Series performing "Bad Omens," "Me, Myself & I," and "COMPLETE MESS."

The band recently unveiled the music video for their new single "Bad Omens," a visual metaphor for just how far one will go in the name of love despite red flags. For the video, the band collaborated with Ukrainian directors Alyona Shchasnaia and Danny Mitri. "Bad Omens" is the very first international commercial/video shoot in Ukraine since the war began.

5SOS5 also includes previously released singles "Blender," "Take My Hand," "Me, Myself & I," and the smash hit "COMPLETE MESS," an anthemic single that took airwaves by storm as the #2 most added at Top 40 Radio with 100+ stations in the first week.

Since forming in 2011, 5 Seconds of Summer - comprised of Luke Hemmings (vocals/guitar), Michael Clifford (vocals/guitar), Calum Hood (vocals/bass), and Ashton Irwin (vocals/drums) - have released four albums and numerous hit singles. They were quickly hailed as the "biggest new rock act in the world" by Rolling Stone, and are the only band in history to see their first three full-length studio albums enter the Billboard 200 at No. 1.

The band has sold over 2.5 million concert tickets while touring the world several times over, and sold more than 12 million albums. They recently joined Spotify's exclusive Billions Club with their hit single "Youngblood."

5 Seconds of Summer have also been recognized with numerous prestigious accolades, including ten European Music awards, five ARIA awards, two MTV Video Music Awards, an American Music Award, a People's Choice Award, two iHeartRadio Music Awards, and three APRA Awards.

For the first time in over a decade, 5 Seconds of Summer have completely taken control of their destiny. With their fifth full-length album, 5SOS5, the band ascends to the next level musically - it's also their first LP to be released independently in partnership with BMG. The album showcases the band's multi-faceted artistry and growth over their 10-year career.

Satl Drops His Debut Album Gloom Photo
Satl has put himself firmly on the map with tracks such as Everything Anything, which gathered over 1M Spotify streams and extensive support from BBC Radio 1, whilst also collaborating with the likes of DRS, Artificial Intelligence, Tokyo Prose and earning praise across his work from Goldie, Fabio, dBridge, Doc Scott and more.

VIDEO: Omah Lay Releases Music Video for New Single soso Photo
The visual reflects the song’s arresting energy with stunning imagery and mystical symbolism. African dancers douse Omah Lay with colorful paint as they encircle him in an eloquently choreographed motion. The video jumps between moments of performance and prayer, moving to a tribal bounce punctuated by handclaps and natural percussion.

Whose Rules Premiere New Single Somber Photo
“Somber” follows Marius’ latest single “Slow Down” which both arrive as part of a forthcoming project born out of the solitude found within the walls of the COVID pandemic living in Hasler, Norway. Marius Elfstedt found solace as the world shut down inside of his studio in the middle of the Scandinavian wilderness.

Quarters of Change Announce 2023 North American Headline Deluxe Tour Photo
Quarters of Change will hit the road on the Deluxe Tour in 2023. It will be the group’s first headline run across North America. The band hits the road on February 22 in Washington, DC on Union Stage, rolls through New York on February 25 for a home show at Irving Plaza, hits SXSW in Austin, TX March 15-17, and concludes on March 21 in Atlanta, GA

From This Author - Michael Major

Mariah Carey to Host Ultimate NYC Weekend GetawayMariah Carey to Host Ultimate NYC Weekend Getaway
November 29, 2022

One pair of guests will be the first and only to book a weekend-long experience specially curated by Mariah with her top travel preferences, including a three-night stay at The Plaza, a Fairmont Hotel in New York – where will put them up in a lavish room fit for the star herself.

Dukwa Shares New EP 'Matter of Time'Dukwa Shares New EP 'Matter of Time'
November 29, 2022

Florence-based DJ/producer Dukwa returns with his club-ready EP Matter of Time, out now on Gudu Records. The follow-up to driving bass-laced single ‘Prune’, the EP came to life during the creation of his new live set and signals a sonic evolution for the artist who finds himself moving into deeper, slightly darker territory. 

MGM+ Picks Up A SPY AMONG FRIENDS Thriller SeriesMGM+ Picks Up A SPY AMONG FRIENDS Thriller Series
November 29, 2022

A Spy Among Friends is based on the New York Times best-selling novel written by Ben Macintyre. Produced by ITV Studios in collaboration with Sony Pictures Television, A Spy Among Friends stars Golden Globe- and Emmy-winning actor Damian Lewis (Homeland, Billions) and Emmy winner Guy Pearce (Jack Irish, Mare of Easttown).

Alan Walker Releases Final Single of the Year 'Ritual'Alan Walker Releases Final Single of the Year 'Ritual'
November 29, 2022

As the year draws to a close, Alan is also preparing to wrap up his Walkerverse tour, with just one more week and a handful of shows left to play. The stacked tour has seen Walker sell out some of Europe and North America’s most revered venues – from O2 Academy Brixton to Hollywood Palladium, Los Angeles.

Apple Music Launches New Replay Experience & Reveals 2022's Top ChartsApple Music Launches New Replay Experience & Reveals 2022's Top Charts
November 29, 2022

2022 was a thrilling year in music, with listeners delving into new sounds, new languages, and new genres more than ever before. Additionally, the 2022 year-end charts show just how influential Apple Music listeners were in making 2022 a year to remember, both individually and as a community.