Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

2020 Griffin Award Winner Announced

2020 Griffin Award Winner Announced

Dylan Van Den Berg has been awarded the 2020 Griffin Award for new Australian playwriting for his play way back when. way back when, set in a fictional post-colonial Tasmania, sees Ghost, a take-no-nonsense apparition, set the scene for the meeting of an unlikely trio of three women. To pass the time (and forget the cold), they re-imagine the colonisation of Tasmania as a Gothic revenge drama. There's comedy, a play-within-a-play and, as their connection to each other strengthens, revelations of personal traumas which steadily undermine the fervour of their collective revisionism.

Van Den Berg was awarded the $10,000 prize for way back when in a ceremony which was held online due to the temporary closure of the SBW Stables Theatre. More than 130 entries were assessed anonymously by a panel of artists and whittled down to five shortlisted plays, each of whom took home $1,000. The shortlisted plays comprised of: Never Closer by Grace Chapple, 44 Sex Acts in One Week by David Finnigan, Curiosity by Daley Rangi and LuNa by Keziah Warner. Four leading industry professionals including: Shari Sebbens, Hilary Bell, Michele Lee and Griffin's Artistic Director, Declan Greene, then reviewed the shortlist and chose Van Den Berg's way back when as this year's winner.

Greene commented, "The shortlist for this year's Griffin Award was really remarkable: five plays of huge originality, innovation, and humanity. But the judges were unanimous in selecting "way back when" - we were blown away by the poetry of Dylan's voice, and the incredible scope of the drama he has penned."

Van Den Berg said, "I'm beyond excited - stunned, really - to receive this award, particularly in the company of such brilliant writers, all of whom I admire, and whose work I will continue to follow with great interest. way back when is about four Aboriginal women telling a big exhausting, heart-rending story, which details their resilience in the face of colonisation. I feel very proud to tell this story and have it recognised by Australia's premier new work theatre company."

The Griffin Award is a national competition which celebrates an outstanding play or performance text that displays an authentic, inventive and contemporary Australian voice. The award has a rich history of recognising new talent and propelling forward the careers of emerging Australian writers. Previous winners include Lachlan Philpott, Debra Oswald, Brendan Cowell, Mary Rachel Brown and Suzie Miller. Angus Cerini's The Bleeding Tree took out the Award in 2014 and went on to win the NSW Premier's Literary Award and the Helpmann Award for Best Play in 2016.

Dylan Van Den Berg is a Palawa writer with family connections to the northeast of Tasmania. His plays include Milk (The Street Theatre), The Camel (Fringe at the Edge), Why am I a Fish? (Short+Sweet) and Blue: a misery play (First Seen/The Street Theatre). His work has been shortlisted for the Patrick White Playwrights Award, the Queensland Premier's Drama Award and the Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Award. Van Den Berg studied drama at ANU and the State University of New York.

TodayTix Extension

More Hot Stories For You

Cast and Creatives Announced For PARADISE NOW! at the Bush TheatreCast and Creatives Announced For PARADISE NOW! at the Bush Theatre
October 4, 2022

Paradise Now! a funny and raging new play about ambition, exploitation, and kinship in a world that wants to keep us strangers, opens at the Bush Theatre on 2 December (press night 8 December).  This new Bush Theatre commission by Margaret Perry (Collapsible) is an exciting collaboration with director Jaz Woodcock-Stewart (Civilisation) and features an all-female ensemble cast.

FOIL ARMS AND HOG Will Embark on UK TourFOIL ARMS AND HOG Will Embark on UK Tour
October 4, 2022

Foil Arms and Hog are touring the UK in Autumn 2023 with Hogwash. Tickets go on sale on Thursday 6th October.

October 4, 2022

 Fans of Netflix's latest drama about the hideous crimes of Jeffrey Dahmer are being invited to delve deeper into the chilling world of serial killers at an event at Parr Hall.

Sherman Theatre Announces Details of its 50th Birthday Year
October 4, 2022

Sherman Theatre has announced the first productions of this celebratory year with a diverse range of both emerging and established voices in Welsh theatre taking centre stage. Over the course of the year, communities across Cardiff and South Wales will once again see their experience represented on the Sherman’s stages with work in both Welsh and English.

Cast and Creatives Announced for Corn Exchange Newbury's Christmas Pantomime JACK AND THE BEANSTALKCast and Creatives Announced for Corn Exchange Newbury's Christmas Pantomime JACK AND THE BEANSTALK
October 4, 2022

Matthew Cavendish (The Play That Goes Wrong, West End and Broadway;  Showstopper! The Improvised Musical, West End/Edinburgh) will give audiences plenty of opportunities to boo and hiss as he plays Fleshcreep, and Will Beckerleg (Madagascar, UK Tour; Summer Holiday, UK Tour) returns to the Corn Exchange as he steps into the role of Fairy Fabulous.