JJ Cale's STAY AROUND Gets Record Store Day Release Ahead Of Album

Article Pixel

JJ Cale's STAY AROUND Gets Record Store Day Release Ahead Of Album

To celebrate the release of beloved songwriter, guitarist and singer JJ Cale's Stay Around, Because Music will release an exclusive 7" vinyl for Record Store Day on April 13. The B-side features "Worrying Off Your Mind," a bonus track from 2009's Roll On.

Because Music will also release for the first time vinyl pressings of four albums from Cale's catalogue: Closer To You (1994), Guitar Man (1996), Live (2001), and To Tulsa and Back (2004). Roll On will also be re-pressed after a long period out of print.The reissues will be released on April 26 in limited 180g black vinyl and CD. They are available now for preorder.

Also on April 26, Tulsa's OKPOP museum will host an album release event, featuring an exhibition of images from throughout Cale's career, as well as a screening of the documentary "To Tulsa and Back: On Tour with J.J. Cale" and music videos from the Stay Around album. More information and tickets can be found at CircleCinema.com.

Stay Around was compiled by those closest to Cale - Christine Lakeland Cale, and friend and longtime manager, Mike Kappus - and will be released on April 26, 2019 via Because Music. Preorders are available now digitally and on CD & limited collector vinyl edition.

For the first time in a decade, listeners will be moved by a new collection of unreleased Cale songs, a feat that's possible due to Cale's modus operandi: in addition to regularly writing and recording new songs in his home studio, Cale would typically reserve outtakes from one album for later release on another. That resulted in a reserve of ready for release songs from which this album's collection was drawn. In compiling Stay Around, Christine pored over these songs, both studio and home recordings, that the public had never heard. The result is an album mixed and produced by Cale himself, left nearly untouched to leave, in Christine's words, the "Cale Factor." The only song not written by Cale is Christine's "My Baby Blues," the first song she and Cale cut as a four-piece combo in Bradley's Barn studio in 1977, the year they met.

Cale spent his career as an "under-the-radar-giant" (New York Times) and influenced musicians as wide ranging as Neil Young (who wrote in his autobiography, "J. J.'s guitar playing is a huge influence on me. His touch is unspeakable. I am stunned by it."); Beck (who, speaking to the L.A. Times, referred to his "effortlessness...restraint and underplaying" as "very powerful"); Eric Clapton (who, in his autobiography, called Cale "one of the most important artists in the history of rock, quietly representing the greatest asset his country has ever had"); and so many more.

Cale cut his teeth during the '50s, playing guitar in bars in Oklahoma alongside fellow natives David Gates of Bread and Leon Russell, and is credited as one of the key figures in creating the laid-back "Tulsa sound." He managed to gather a loyal fan following and the admiration of some of the most revered rock musicians while-in the unwavering desire to lead a normal life-eluding fame, and it was via other artists recording and performing his songs that he became best known. Eric Clapton recorded "After Midnight," "Cocaine," and several other Cale originals, his admiration culminating with the pair's Road To Escondido collaboration in 2006, which earned Cale his first Grammy, for Best Contemporary Blues Album, and his first RIAA Certified Gold Award.

Among the many others who covered Cale's songs are Jerry Garcia, Captain Beefheart, Spiritualized, Beck, Lynyrd Skynyrd, John Mayer, Bryan Ferry, Santana, Chet Atkins, Johnny Cash, Lucinda Williams, The Band, Widespread Panic, Freddie King, Phish, Waylon Jennings, Maria Muldaur, Bobby "Blue" Bland, Hiss Golden Messenger, Dan Auerbach, and Lee Fields, to name just a few.

JJ Cale -Stay Around

1. Lights Down Low

2. Chasing You

3. Winter Snow

4. Stay Around

5. Tell You 'Bout Her

6. Oh My My

7. My Baby Blues

8. Girl Of Mine

9. Go Downtown

10. If We Try

11. Tell Daddy

12. Wish You Were Here

13. Long About Sundown

14. Maria

15. Don't Call Me Joe

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You