Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Senators Klobuchar and Cornyn Pen Letter to SBA, Demanding Immediate Action Over Save Our Stages Delay


'Further delays are unacceptable and would have irreversible consequences for these industries.'

Senators Klobuchar and Cornyn Pen Letter to SBA, Demanding Immediate Action Over Save Our Stages Delay

Senators Amy Klobuchar and John Cornyn have written a letter to the Small Business Administration's chief Isabella Guzman over the delay in the Save Our Stages funds reaching the venues who need it. Venues owned by large corporations including Live Nation and AEG have begun to reopen their doors and stage live performances, while the small venues that Save Our Stages was created to protect are unable to reopen until they receive the funds that were passed into law almost six months ago.

The letter, printed originally by Variety, states:

The Honorable Isabella Casillas Guzman
Administrator, Small Business Administration
409 3rd Street, SW
Washington, DC 20416

Dear Administrator Guzman: The Save Our Stages Act, now the Shuttered Venue Operators Grant (SVOG) program, was created to prevent widespread closures of venues that have been devastated by the loss of revenue due to the COVID-19 pandemic. As supporters of the SVOG program, we urge you to take immediate action to ensure that the relief reaches eligible applicants without further delay.

With each passing day, more independent businesses are forced to shutter permanently or file for bankruptcy. Landlords and banks are no longer permitting deferrals and are pressing for immediate payment of past due accounts; businesses are receiving eviction notices; mom-and-pop businesses are being forced to sell.

It has been nearly six months since Congress passed the Save our Stages Act, nearly two months since the second launch of the program, and [nearly 50] days since the Small Business Administration (SBA) began receiving applications. We urge you to immediately take steps to ensure the funds are distributed to qualified applicants.

The SVOG program is unique, with necessary restrictions built in to ensure taxpayer funding goes only to eligible applicants in need. Under the terms of the law, the SVOG program requires the award of funding to eligible applicants who meet the simple requirements of the program. In this context, the insistence on strict compliance with competitive grant rules has created unnecessary delays in funding. Similarly, restrictions that SBA has placed on communication with grant applicants are unnecessary and have prevented the agency from providing administrative support to individual applicants that could have streamlined the application review process. Bureaucratic process cannot stand in the way of getting these desperately needed funds out the door.

Further delays are unacceptable and would have irreversible consequences for these industries. In an effort to keep our constituents informed and ensure our small businesses receive the support they were promised, we respectfully request you provide us with the following information:

The number SVOG awards that have been approved;

The number of SVOG grants that have been disbursed to recipients;

The amount of SVOG funding that has been disbursed;

The number of applications with holds;

The number of first-priority applicants that have received an award notice;

What SBA is doing to update small business owners on the status of their applications;

What SBA is doing to ensure applicants are not incorrectly associated with similar-named individuals and entities on the List of Excluded Individuals/Entities (LEIE);

What SBA is doing to correct false DNP designation notices sent to thousands of applicants;

SBA's justification for breaking grant awards, regardless of size, into multiple disbursements; and

SBA's timeline for subsequent disbursements and what grantees need to do to receive them.


Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)

Senators Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), James Risch (R-ID), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Angus King (I-ME), Patty Murray (D-WA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Bill Haggerty (R-TN), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Jack Reed (D-RI), Rob Portman (R-OH), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), John Thune (R-SD), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Steve Daines (R-MT), Ed Markey (D-MA), Tina Smith (D-MN), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), John Boozman (R-AR), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Jon Tester (D-MT), Mike Braun (R-IN), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Bob Casey (D-PA), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Chris Coons (D-DE).

Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You