Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on KRISTIN CHENOWETH

Photo Coverage: Drama Desk Awards Press Room & After-Party

The 52nd Annual Drama Desk Awards were presented on Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 9:00 PM, at the F.H. LaGuardia Concert Hall at Lincoln Center, 100 Amsterdam Avenue.  The glamorous VIP Reception took place at the China Grill.

Past Drama Desk winner Kristin Chenoweth—who was nominated for her performance in The Apple Tree—hosted the ceremony.  Tom Stoppard's The Coast of Utopia was awarded Outstanding Play, with Spring Awakening chosen Outstanding Musical, Journey's End Outstanding Revival of a Play and Company Outstanding Revival of a Musical.

In keeping with the Drama Desk's unique mission, the nominators considered theatrical events that opened on Broadway, off Broadway and off-off Broadway during the 2006/2007 season in the same competitive categories. Deliberations by the nominators culminated in a marathon weekend session at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, which ended Monday afternoon, April 23. The nominators included: Chairperson Barbara Siegel, and; Glenda Frank, Plays International and; Tony Phillips, New York Press; Andrew Propst, and XM Satellite Radio; Richard Ridge, Broadway Beat TV; and Drama Desk President William Wolf,

Abrams Gentile Entertainment and Russ Berrie, the creators of Shining Stars, sponsored the ceremony, as well as Production Resource Group and Sound Associates.  Each Drama Desk nominees and presenters were given their own Shining Star™ plush figure that they were able to name and take with them at the end of the evening.  Receptions were sponsored by Arte Café, Russian Tea Room, China Grill, and the NY Friars Club. Additional food and beverages were provided by Grey Goose Vodka, Peroni Beer, Tony's Di Napoli, Hawaiian Tropic Restaurant. and  Wines by Lubov Galleries. In-kind and media sponsors included Hit Show Club, Federico Salon, Variety and ARRIVE Magazine (on Amtrak). Software Pronto is the Manager/Host of the official Drama Desk website. Transportation was provided by Gray Line NY Sightseeing.  

For a complete list of Drama Desk Award-winners, visit this link.  Visit for more information.

Press Room

Hawaiian Tropic Girls

Andy Blankenbuehler

Jonathan Tunick and Mary-Mitchell Campbell

Rupert Holmes

Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater

Mark Bennett

Austin Pendleton

Jack Cummings

Zalmen Mlotek

John Kander

Robert R. Blume and John Kander

Catherine Zuber

Kathryn Faughnan, Ashley Brown and Matthew Gumley

Ashley Brown, Kathryn Faughnan and Matthew Gumley

Brian MacDevitt, Natasha Katz and Kenneth Posner

Jack O'Brien

Michael Mayer

Ryan Young, Suli Holum and T. Ryder Smith

The cast of "In The Heights"

Remy Zaken, Lilli Cooper and Phoebe Strole

Robin DeJesus and Priscilla Lopez

Christopher Jackson

Vanessa Redgrave

Bruce Dimpflmaier and Jim Dale

Naomi Watts and Liev Schreiber

Martha Plimpton

Les Schecter and Martha Plimpton

Robert R. Blume and Martha Plimpton

Gavin Lee

Gavin Lee

Boyd Gaines and Debra Monk

Frank Langella

Raul Esparza

Raul Esparza

Raul Esparza

Audra McDonald

Donna Murphy and Audra McDonald

Robert R. Blume and Raul Esparza

Donna Murphy 

Donna Murphy 

Eve Best

Donna Murphy, Raul Esparza and Audra McDonald

Mark Routh, Tom Viertel, Raul Esparza and Darren Bagert

Ellis Nassour and Vanessa Redgrave


Richie Ridge, Jonathan Groff, Preston Ridge

Mandy Gonzalez and Christopher Jackson

Laura Bell Bundy, Austin Peck, Emily Harvey and Gavin Lee

Preston Ridge, Laura Bell Bundy and Richie Ridge

Rick McKay and Laura Bell Bundy

Matt Cavenaugh and Yolanda Culler

Rick McKay and Jonathan Groff

Mary-Mitchell Campbell and Raul Esparza

Michael Mayer and Yolanda Culler

Jonathan Groff

Jonathan Gallagher

Remy Zaken and Jonathan Groff

Kimberly Grigsby and Jonathan Groff

Gavin Lee

Preston Ridge, Gavin Lee and Richie Ridge

Jonathan Groff and Lea Michele

Jonathan Groff, Tamara Tunie and Lea Michele

Richie Ridge, Jonathan Gallagher and Preston Ridge

Raul Esparza

Preston Ridge, Jonathan Groff, Lea Michele and Richie Ridge

Orfeh and Raul Esparza

Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

From This Author Linda Lenzi