Las Vegas Philharmonic Presents Glass, Mozart & Bach, Today

Las Vegas Philharmonic Presents Glass, Mozart & Bach, TodayThe Las Vegas Philharmonic presents Glass, Mozart & Bach featuring pianist, Simone Dinnerstein on Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 7:30 pm in Reynolds Hall at The Smith Center for the Performing Arts. The performance will showcase American composer Philip Glass's newest piano concerto, written specifically for Dinnerstein and commissioned in part by the Las Vegas Philharmonic. Music Director Donato Cabrera will host a pre-concert conversation in Reynolds Hall one hour prior to the performance (6:30 PM) for patrons interested in learning more about the music and guest artist.

The concert will open with Mozart's comedic opera Overture to Cosi fan tutte, K588. The title roughly translates to "they're all like that" and deals with themes of love and fidelity. Pianist Simone Dinnerstein will join the orchestra for two selections starting with Glass's commissioned Piano Concerto No. 3 followed by Bach's Concerto for Keyboard No. 7 in G Minor, BMV 1058. The evening concludes with Mozart's Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, K550, one of only two minor key symphonies he ever composed.

Dinnerstein, known for her "majestic originality of vision" (The Independent) and "lean, knowing and unpretentious elegance" (The New Yorker), describes Glass's Piano Concerto No. 3 as "a ravishingly beautiful piece that is quite introspective and meditative." Because they share a strong interest in the music of Bach and how it impacts musicians today, it was Dinnerstein who developed the idea for Glass to compose a piano concerto for a string orchestra which would be paired with a Bach concerto, specifically Bach's Concerto for Keyboard No. 7 in G Minor. The pianist cites the fact that there are almost no concertos written for piano and strings since Bach's time. This led to a consortium of a dozen orchestras being formed to fund the commission. The November 3 performance marks the Las Vegas debut for both the Glass commission and Dinnerstein.

The evening will conclude with Mozart's Symphony No. 40, referred to as his "Great G Minor Symphony", composed in 1788. The Philharmonic first performed this work in 2008. In commemoration of the orchestra's 20th anniversary, it is one of a handful of beloved works that Cabrera has selected for encore performances in this milestone season.

Ticket Prices and Shuttle Bus Services
Single tickets include five price levels in Reynolds Hall:
PT Box = $109, A Seating = $105, B Seating = $70, C Seating = $50 and D Seating = $30
Tickets can be purchased online through or The Smith Center Box Office at 702.749.2000.

The Las Vegas Philharmonic offers a roundtrip shuttle bus service from designated Henderson and Summerlin locations to the performance. A roundtrip bus pass costs $25 per concert and can be purchased in conjunction with the patron's concert ticket.

Related Articles View More Las Vegas Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You


Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram