Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on 2021 AWARDS SEASON

YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU's Julie Halston and SOMETHING ROTTEN!'s Brad Oscar Win 2015 Richard Seff Award


Julie Halston (You Can't Take It With You) and Brad Oscar (Something Rotten!) are the recipients of the annual Richard Seff Award presented by the Actors' Equity Foundation to veteran female and male character actors for the best performance in a supporting role in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. The announcement was made by Arne Gundersen, president of the Foundation, which administers the award.

Halston, the recipient of three Drama Desk, two Drama League, two Outer Critics' Circle nominations and an Off-Broadway Alliance Lifetime Achievement Award for her work, appeared in the Charles Busch comedies, Vampire Lesbians of Sodom. The Lady in Question and Red Scare on Sunset. Broadway credits include Anything Goes, Hairspray, Gypsy and Twentieth Century. Off-Broadway appearances include The Tribute Artist and The Divine Sister. She has won four MAC (Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs) for her solo comedy performances and on TV, she was on Sex and the City and the CBS TV series, The Class.

Brad Oscar received a Tony nomination for his work in The Producers, in which he also played on London's West End. Broadway credits include Big Fish, Nice Work If You Can Get It, The Addams Family, Spamalot, Jekyll & Hyde and Aspects of Love. He was in the National Tours of The Phantom of the Opera, Young Frankenstein and Jekyll & Hyde and has also appeared Off-Broadway, in Encores! productions and in regional theatre, receiving a Carbonell Award as Best Actor in a Musical for Barnum at the Osolo Repertory Theatre in Sarasota, Florida.

Equity member Richard Seff established this award in 2003. Previous recipients include: Tom Aldredge, Reed Birney, Larry Bryggman, Lynn Cohen, Jim Dale, Hallie Foote, Jayne Houdyshell, Dana Ivey, Kristine Nielsen, Patrick Page, Laila Robins, Lewis J. Stadlen and, in 2014, Peter Maloney and Mare Winningham.

The presentation, a check and crystal trophy, will take place at Equity's Eastern Regional Board meeting at 2pm on Tuesday, June 9, 2015 at Equity's office, 165 West 46th Street.

The Judges' Panel includes: Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out New York; Susan Haskins-Doloff, Theater Talk; Harry Haun, Playbill and David Rosenberg, The Hour Newspapers.

The Actors' Equity Foundation, a philanthropic and humanitarian nonprofit organization, was created in 1962 to aid and assist the members of the acting profession and to promote the theatre arts. It is separate from Actors' Equity Association and is funded by estate bequests and individual donations.

Photo Credit: Joan Marcus

Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You