The Old Globe Held its Annual Meeting, Electing New Board Member for 2020 Fiscal Year

Article Pixel
The Old Globe Held its Annual Meeting, Electing New Board Member for 2020 Fiscal Year

The Old Globe's Annual Meeting was held on Monday, February 3, 2020 on the Donald and Darlene Shiley Stage in the Old Globe Theatre, part of the Conrad Prebys Theatre Center. Board Chair Nicole A. Clay welcomed the members of The Old Globe Board of Directors along with donors, subscribers, and guests, and announced the newly elected Directors serving three-year terms. Globe senior staff members presented highlights of the 2019 fiscal year, and Erna Finci Viterbi Artistic Director Barry Edelstein and Managing Director Timothy J. Shields spoke about the future of the Globe and its place in the San Diego community.

It was announced that Ann Davies will serve as Chair of the Board of Directors for a two-year term, succeeding Clay. The 2020 Executive Committee will consist of Davies (Chair), Nicole A. Clay (Immediate Past Chair), Donald L. Cohn (Past Chair, Ex Officio), Elaine Bennett Darwin (Past Chair, Ex Officio), Harold W. Fuson, Jr. (Past Chair, Ex Officio), Sheryl White (Past Chair, Ex Officio), Vicki L. Zeiger (Past Chair, Ex Officio), Evelyn Olson Lamden (Vice Chair, Nominating), Paula Powers (Secretary and Vice Chair, Development), Anthony S. Thornley (Treasurer), Terry Atkinson, Stephanie R. Bulger, Ph.D., Peter J. Cooper, Pamela A. Farr, Sue Sanderson, Karen L. Sedgwick, Jean Shekhter, and Karen Tanz.

Clay also announced that the following candidates identified by the Globe's Nominating Committee were formally elected to serve three-year terms on the Board of Directors: Nishma Held, Susan Hoehn, Stella Larsen (completing Dean Thompson's term), and Pamela Maudsley-Merrill (Globe Guilders President, Ex Officio).

Directors returning for additional three-year terms beginning in 2020 include Sean T. Anthony, Nicole A. Clay, Elaine Bennett Darwin, Pamela Farr, Robert Foxworth, Harold W. Fuson, Jr., Jack Galloway, Daphne H. Jameson, Keven Lippert, Noelle Norton, Ph.D., Paula Powers, Karen L. Sedgwick, Jean Shekhter, Karen Tanz, Michael Taylor, Evelyn Mack Truitt, Sheryl White, Karin Winner, and Vicki L. Zeiger.

Directors currently serving three-year terms during 2020 include Mary Beth Adderley, Jules Arthur, Terry Atkinson, Stephanie R. Bulger, Ph.D., Donald L. Cohn, Ellise Coit, Peter J. Cooper, Ann Davies, George S. Davis, Mark Delfino, Silvija Devine, Richard J. Esgate, Jo Ann Kilty, Evelyn Olson Lamden, Sheila Lipinsky, Thomas Melody, David Jay Ohanian, Sandra Redman, Sue Sanderson, Scott W. Schmid, Rhona Thompson, Anthony S. Thornley, Debra Turner, Jordine Von Wantoch, Pamela J. Wagner, Reneé Wailes, Muffy Walker, and Lynne Wheeler.

Board members Ruben Islas, Jacqueline Lewis, Kim Neapole (Immediate Past Globe Guilders President, Ex Officio), and Dean Thompson concluded their service and were honored for their outstanding commitment to The Old Globe.

The Tony Award-winning The Old Globe is one of the country's leading professional not-for-profit regional theatres. Now in its 85th year, the Globe is San Diego's flagship performing arts institution, and it serves a vibrant community with theatre as a public good. Under the leadership of Erna Finci Viterbi Artistic Director Barry Edelstein and Managing Director Timothy J. Shields, The Old Globe produces a year-round season of 16 productions of classic, contemporary, and new works on its three Balboa Park stages, including its internationally renowned Shakespeare Festival. More than 250,000 people annually attend Globe productions and participate in the theatre's artistic and arts engagement programs. Its nationally prominent Arts Engagement Department provides an array of participatory programs that make theatre matter to more people in neighborhoods throughout the region. Humanities programs at the Globe and around the city broaden the community's understanding of theatre art in all its forms. The Globe also boasts a range of new play development programs with professional and community-based writers, as well as the renowned The Old Globe and University of San Diego Shiley Graduate Theatre Program. Numerous world premieres-such as 2014 Tony Award winner for Best Musical A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder, Bright Star, The Full Monty, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, and Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas!-have been developed at The Old Globe and have gone on to highly successful runs on Broadway and at regional theatres across the country.

Related Articles View More San Diego Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You