Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

32nd Santa Barbara International Film Festival Announces Award Winners

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF), presented by UGG®, announced today the highly anticipated winners for its 32nd year at a breakfast held in their honor. All eleven awards were announced, culminating in the coveted audience award, which went to MY HERO BROTHER. The films were chosen by jury members Richard Raymond, Joanna Kerns, Jesus Lloveras, Martin Gooch, Anthony & Arnette Zerbe, Alan Marshall, Artie Schmidt, Janet Walker, Phyllis de Picciotto, Perry Lang, Mimi deGruy, and Richard Harris.

Three awards were handed out for short films. The Bruce Corwin Award for Best Live Action Short Film went to Cameron Fay's IT'S BEEN LIKE A YEAR, chosen for its humorous depiction of a young man BECOMING increasingly distracted during a romantic rendezvous. CONFINO, directed by Nico Bonomolo, received the Bruce Corwin Award for Best Animated Short Film. When asked why they chose CONFINO, jury members Mimi deGruy and Perry Lang stated, "With a combination of beautiful rendering, music and heart, it's a poignant portrait of an artist reaching out in the dark for community." Finally, Best Documentary Short Film was awarded to two films: Matthew K. Firpo's REFUGE, and REFUGEE, directed by Joyce Chen and Emily Moore. REFUGEE was chosen because of the filmmakers' unique portrait of a West African woman that leaves her children to come to the US to provide them with a better future. Jury members chose REFUGE for its impressive chronicle of stories from the European Refugee Crisis, and for its messages of humanity and hope.

The Nueva Vision Award for Spanish / Latin American Cinema went to Elia Schneider's TAMARA, chosen by jury members for being so bold and straightforward with such an important and relevant issue as transitioning genders, and for electrifying filmmaking with powerful and emotional performances.

MY HERO BROTHER was awarded the Best Documentary Film Award, as well as the Audience Choice Award, sponsored by the Santa Barbara Independent. Director Yonatan Nir's stirring documentary was chosen for its heartwarming portrayal of a group of young people with Down syndrome embarking on an arduous trek through the Himalayas.

Paul Shoulberg's THE GOOD CATHOLIC took home the Panavision Spirit Award for Independent Cinema. Jury members Joanna Kerns and Richard Harris commented that ""Every once in awhile you get the privilege to watch a film that pulls you in emotionally from the opening moment, THE GOOD CATHOLIC is that movie. Economically written, flawlessly directed, cast and performed, this intimate film about a young priest's crisis of faith after meeting a woman in confessional, takes you on that journey."

The Social Justice Award for Documentary Film went to ANGRY INUK, directed by Althea Arnaquq-Baril. Jury members chose the controversial film for its deep dive into the central role of seal hunting in the lives of the Inuit, and the negative impact that international campaigns against the seal hunt have had on them.

Jury members chose THE CONSTITUTION as the recipient of the Jeffrey C. Barbakow Award for Best International Film. Jury members praised the performances of the actors and applauded the film as a richly conceived and ambitious look at multiple characters that live in the same building but avoid each other because of their differences in assets, sexual habits, nationality, and religion.

Sponsored by Santa Barbara and Tri-Counties ADL, The ADL Stand Up Award went to Wiktor Ericsson's STRAWBERRY DAYS. The purpose of the ADL Stand Up Award is to recognize and celebrate the impact that storytelling can have in fostering mutual understanding and respect. "Strawberry Days" was chosen for its brave portrayal of the exploitation of foreign workers, and its depiction of the touching bond that forms between a 15-year-old worker and the farmer's daughter.

The Valhalla Award for Best Nordic Film was awarded to SÁMI BLOOD, directed by Amanda Kernell. The film was selected for its powerful and vivid representation of racism in the 1930s and compelling story of a 14-year-old girl determined to leave her life behind.

A list of award winners follows:

Audience Choice Award: MY HERO BROTHER
Best Documentary Award: MY HERO BROTHER
Best Documentary Short Film Award: REFUGE
Best Documentary Short Film Award: REFUGEE
Bruce Corwin Award - Best Live Action Short Film: IT'S BEEN LIKE A YEAR
Bruce Corwin Award - Best Animated Short Film: CONFINO
Jeffrey C. Barbakow Award - Best International Feature Film: THE CONSTITUTION
Panavision Spirit Award for Independent Cinema: THE GOOD CATHOLIC
Nueva Vision Award for Spain/Latin America Cinema: TAMARA
Social Justice Award for Documentary Film: ANGRY ANUK
Valhalla Award for Best Nordic Film: SÁMI BLOOD

About the Santa Barbara International Film Festival The Santa Barbara International Film Festival is a 501(c)(3) non-profit arts and educational organization dedicated to discovering and showcasing the best in independent and international cinema. Over the past 30 years, SBIFF has become one of the leading film festivals in the United States - attracting 90,000 attendees and offering 11 days of 200+ films, tributes and symposiums, fulfilling their mission to engage, enrich, and inspire the Santa Barbara community through film.

SBIFF continues its commitment to education and the community through free programs like its 10-10-10 Student Filmmaking and Screenwriting Competitions, Mike's Field Trip to the Movies, National Film Studies Program, AppleBox Family Films, 3rd Weekend and educational seminars. This past June, SBIFF entered a new era with the acquisition of the historic and beloved Riviera Theatre. The theatre is SBIFF's new home and is the catalyst for program expansion and marks the first time that Santa Barbara has had a 24/7 community center to expand their mission of educational outreach.

Related Articles View More TV Stories

NOS Dance

From This Author Caryn Robbins