Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on 2020 AWARDS SEASON

VIDEO: Watch the Full 65th Annual Obie Awards!

Article Pixel

Tonight, in celebration of Off- and Off-Off Broadway theater, the American Theatre Wing and The Village Voice honored the recipients of the 65th Annual Obie Awards. See the full list of winners here!

"There has never been a more important time to gather - even if we can't be in the same room - to honor the work of the boldest and bravest among us," said Heather Hitchens during the show. "It's our collective responsibility to ensure this moment lives up to its promise - by making space for and upholding the voices of artists who will challenge the status quo, move our culture forward, and evolve the landscape of American theatre."

Hosted by comedian, actor and writer Cole Escola, the virtual ceremony featured performances from Obie Award winners Michael R. Jackson, Saycon Sengbloh, Sahr Ngaujah and LaChanze, who was joined by her daughter, Jagged Little Pill's Celia Rose Gooding.

Additionally, in celebration of the 25th Anniversary of its Obie Award wins, members of the York Theatre Company revival of Merrily We Roll Along were joined by members of the original Broadway and 2019 Fiasco Theater revival casts for a special performance of "Our Time." Songwriter and performer Shaina Taub (The Devil Wears Prada, Suffragist) performed during the In Memoriam.

Guest presenters included Clint Ramos, Craig Lucas, Cynthia Erivo, Dominique Morisseau, Eisa Davis, Emilio Sosa, Heather Hitchens, Heidi Schreck, Katrina Lenk, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Liesl Tommy, Malcolm Gets, Rachel Chavkin, Rachel Hauck, Sahr Ngaujah, Sam Pinkleton and Saycon Sengbloh. During the show, the American Theatre Wing and the Village Voice also honored Michael Feingold, longtime Village Voice theatre critic and former Obie Chairman, with a special citation for his work as a leading voice in theater criticism, his advocacy on behalf of Off- and Off-Off-Broadway, and his 43 years of dedication to the Obie Awards, including twelve as the Chairman. In addition, the Obies will establish a Special Citation to be given annually in Mr. Feingold's name - the Michael Feingold AWARD. This award will recognize achievement in criticism, dramaturgy, translation, scholarship, mentorship or education, or for a theatrical contribution which has not been historically acknowledged by major awards.

Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

More Hot Stories For You