Olivier Awards 2024: The Full List of Winners

Sunset Boulevard leads the pack with seven wins.

By: Apr. 14, 2024
Olivier Awards 2024: The Full List of Winners
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

The biggest stars of London theatre gathered today at the Royal Albert Hall for the Olivier Awards 2024, hosted by Hannah Waddingham

There were performances from Mastercard Best New Musical nominees including The Little Big Things, Next To Normal, Operation Mincemeat and A Strange Loop, alongside Best Musical Revival nominees Guys & Dolls and Hadestown in addition to a special moment from Groundhog Day Australia. Presenter, Emmy winner and multi-Olivier nominee Hannah Waddingham will open the event performing with singer and pianist Joe Stilgoe.

Awards were presented to winners by a host of well known names from the worlds of theatre, TV and fashion, including the likes of Carlos Acosta, Freema Agyeman, Michael Ball, Ryan Calais Cameron, Billy Crudup, Cara Delevingne, Adrian Dunbar, Edward Enninful, Denise Gough, Lenny Henry, Ruth Jones, Beverley Knight, Henry Lewis, Anna Maxwell Martin, Lucian Msamati, Georgina Onuorah, Rosalind Plowright, Jonathan Sayer, Michael Sheen, Luke Treadaway, Anjana Vasan, Michelle Visage and Dominic West. The voiceover for the evening was spoken by comedian, writer and actress Meera Syal.

This year's Olivier Awards coincided with The National Theatre's 60th anniversary. The theatre, founded by Laurence Olivier, has this year been nominated for 15 awards and celebrated the landmark anniversary with a special grand finale and onstage dedication. 

Among the most nominated this year include The National Theatre, with a total of 15 nominations, including for the company's productions of “Dear England” “The Motive And The Cue”, “Till The Stars Come Down” and “The Effect”.

This year’s most nominated production and biggest winner was Jamie Lloyd’s musical “Sunset Boulevard”, starring Nicole Scherzinger (Best Actress in a Musical winner) and Tom Francis (Best Actor in a Musical winner). The production also received nominations for all acting categories in a musical. 

 Winners are marked: **WINNER**

Noël Coward Award for Best New Entertainment or Comedy Play

Accidental Death Of An Anarchist 
Stephen Sondheim’s Old Friends
Stranger Things: The First Shadow **WINNER**
Vardy V Rooney: The Wagatha Christie Trial

Best Family Show

Bluey’s Big Play
Dinosaur World Live **WINNER**
The House With Chicken Legs
The Smeds And The Smoos

Gillian Lynne Award for Best Theatre Choreographer

Fabian Aloise for Sunset Boulevard 
Ellen Kane & Hannes Langolf for Dear England 
Arlene Phillips with James Cousins for Guys & Dolls **WINNER**
Mark Smith for The Little Big Things 
Susan Stroman for Crazy For You 

Mithridate Award for Best Costume Design

Bunny Christie & Deborah Andrews for Guys & Dolls 
Ryan Dawson Laight for La Cage Aux Folles 
Hugh Durrant for Peter Pan 
Marg Horwell for The Picture Of Dorian Gray **WINNER**

Cunard Best Revival

The Effect by Lucy Prebble 
Macbeth by William Shakespeare 
Shirley Valentine by Willy Russell 
Vanya by Anton Chekhov, adapted by Simon Stephens  **WINNER**

Best Musical Revival

Groundhog Day
Guys & Dolls
Sunset Boulevard **WINNER**

d&b audiotechnik Award for Best Sound Design

Paul Arditti for Stranger Things: The First Shadow 
Dan Balfour & Tom Gibbins for Dear England
Adam Fisher for Sunset Boulevard **WINNER**
Gareth Fry for Macbeth 

Outstanding Musical Contribution

Tom Brady and Charlie Rosen for Guys & Dolls 
Matthew Brind for Just For One Day
Steve Sidwell and Joe Bunker for Operation Mincemeat 
Alan Williams for Sunset Boulevard **WINNER**

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Will Close for Dear England **WINNER**
Paul Hilton for An Enemy Of The People 
Giles Terera for Clyde’s 
Luke Thompson for A Little Life 
Zubin Varla for A Little Life 

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Lorraine Ashbourne for Till The Stars Come Down 
Priyanga Burford for An Enemy Of The People 
Haydn Gwynne for When Winston Went To War With The Wireless **WINNER**
Gina McKee for Dear England 
Tanya Reynolds for A Mirror 

Blue-i Theatre Technology Award for Best Set Design

Miriam Buether for Set Design & 59 Productions for Video Design for Stranger Things: The First Shadow **WINNER**
Bunny Christie for Set Design for Guys & Dolls 
Es Devlin for Set Design & Ash J Woodward for Video Design for Dear England 
Soutra Gilmour for Set Design and Nathan Amzi & Joe Ransom for Video Design for Sunset Boulevard 

White Light Award for Best Lighting Design

Jon Clark for Dear England 
Jon Clark for Stranger Things: The First Shadow 
Paule Constable for Guys & Dolls 
Jack Knowles for Sunset Boulevard **WINNER**

Best Actress in a Supporting Role In a Musical

Grace Hodgett Young for Sunset Boulevard 
Zoë Roberts for Operation Mincemeat 
Amy Trigg for The Little Big Things **WINNER**
Eleanor Worthington-Cox for Next To Normal 

Best Actor in a Supporting Role In a Musical

Jak Malone for Operation Mincemeat **WINNER**
Cedric Neal for Guys & Dolls
David Thaxton for Sunset Boulevard 
Jack Wolfe for Next To Normal 

TAIT Award for Best New Opera Production

Blue by the English National Opera 
Innocence by the Royal Opera **WINNER**
Picture A Day Like This by the Royal Opera 
The Rhinegold by the English National Opera

Outstanding Achievement in Opera

Antonio Pappano for his role as Musical Director of the Royal Opera House **WINNER**
Belarus Free Theatre Company for King Stakh’s Wild Hunt at the Barbican Theatre
Marina Abramović for her concept and design of 7 Deaths Of Maria Callas at the London Coliseum

Best Actor in a Musical

David Cumming for Operation Mincemeat 
Tom Francis for Sunset Boulevard **WINNER**
Daniel Mays for Guys & Dolls 
Charlie Stemp for Crazy For You 

Best Actress in a Musical

Natasha Hodgson for Operation Mincemeat 
Nicole Scherzinger for Sunset Boulevard **WINNER**
Marisha Wallace for Guys & Dolls 

Best New Dance Production

Broken Chord by Gregory Maqoma & Thuthuka Sibisi 
The Rite Of Spring by Seeta Patel 
La Ruta by Gabriela Carrizo, part of Nederlands Dans Theater – NDT 1 **WINNER**
Time Spell by Michelle Dorrance, Jillian Meyers & Tiler Peck

Outstanding Achievement in Dance

Isabela Coracy for  NINA: By Whatever Means, part of Ballet Black: Pioneers **WINNER**
Jonzi D for Breakin’ Convention 2023 International Festival Of Hip Hop Dance Theatre
Rhiannon Faith for Lay Down Your Burdens at The Pit 

Unusual Rigging Award for Outstanding Achievement in Affiliate Theatre

Blue Mist by Mohamed-Zain Dada at the Jerwood Theatre Upstairs 
A Playlist For The Revolution by AJ Yi 
Sleepova by Matilda Feyişayo **WINNER**
The Swell by Isley Lynn 
The Time Machine: A Comedy by Steven Canny and John Nicholson 

Sir Peter Hall Award for Best Director

Stephen Daldry & Justin Martin for Stranger Things: The First Shadow 
Rupert Goold for Dear England 
Jamie Lloyd for Sunset Boulevard **WINNER**
Sam Mendes for The Motive And The Cue 

Best Actress

Laura Donnelly for The Hills Of California 
Sophie Okonedo for Medea 
Sarah Jessica Parker for Plaza Suite 
Sheridan Smith for Shirley Valentine 
Sarah Snook for The Picture Of Dorian Gray **WINNER**

Best Actor

Joseph Fiennes for Dear England 
Mark Gatiss for The Motive And The Cue **WINNER**
James Norton for A Little Life 
Andrew Scott for Vanya 
David Tennant for Macbeth 

The Londoner Award for Best New Play

Dear England by James Graham **WINNER**
The Hills Of California by Jez Butterworth
The Motive And The Cue by Jack Thorne 
Till The Stars Come Down by Beth Steel 

Mastercard Best New Musical

The Little Big Things
Next To Normal
Operation Mincemeat **WINNER**
A Strange Loop

Vote Sponsor