Judith Light and Tony Kushner to Be Honored with DGF's Evans-Kingsley Awards

By: Mar. 01, 2019

Judith Light and Tony Kushner to Be Honored with DGF's Evans-Kingsley Awards

Actress Judith Light and playwright Tony Kushner are set to receive DGF Madge Evans & Sidney Kingsley Awards. Former DGF Fellow, Oliver Houser, also announced as recipient of the DGF Stephen Schwartz Award.

Established to honor the best of playwrighting and performing talent, these Awards reflect the importance of collaboration between actors and writers. On her relationship to writers in the theater, Light added, "For the benefit of our country's cultural landscape and our historical and personal stories, we must keep the American theater thriving. Writers for the stage, like the extraordinary Tony Kushner, have deeply impacted my life and career. These playwrights are crucial to making sure this art form stays ever expanding and evolving."

Previous Madge Evans-Sidney Kingsley Award actress recipients include Cherry Jones, Frances Sternhagen, Kathleen Chalfant, Marian Seldes, Julie Harris, Uta Hagen, Elizabeth Franz, Judith Ivey, Ruby Dee, Lois Smith, Laura Linney, Estelle Parsons, Linda Lavin and Viola Davis. Past playwright recipients of the Award include Tina Howe, Christopher Durang, Donald Margulies, Romulus Linney, John Guare, August Wilson, Terrence McNally, Edward Albee, Marsha Norman, John Patrick Shanley, David Ives, Lynn Nottage and Lisa Kron.

DGF has also announced Oliver Houser as the first-ever recipient of their new Stephen Schwartz Award. This award includes a $10,000 grant given in unconditional support of Houser's music.

The Stephen Schwartz Award is an annual pledge to the future of musical theater. It is given to a young musical theater writer that a private committee of composers and industry professionals believes to be important to the continued success of the craft. The Stephen Schwartz Award was created by producers Marc Platt, Nancy Rose, David Stone, and the Board of DGF in honor of Stephen Schwartz's incredible legacy of artistry and mentorship. His staggering career and continued support of young artists have been instrumental in elevating musical theater into the quintessential American art form.

DGF announced the creation of the award when they celebrated Stephen Schwartz's 70th birthday celebration in 2018. Schwartz said: "I consider the Dramatists Guild Foundation the best not-for-profit resource in America for the aid and education of dramatists, from professionals in need to aspiring students. As a former president of the Dramatists Guild, I know firsthand of the exceptional and tireless work they do all across the country."

DGF Executive Director Rachel Routh said: "One of the tenants of DGF is supporting and celebrating great theatrical talent. We are so honored to be feting the genius of Judith Light and Tony Kushner with this year's Evans-Kingsley Awards and welcome Oliver Houser as our first ever Stephen Schwartz Award recipient."

Dramatists Guild Foundation (DGF) is a national charity that fuels the future of American theater by supporting the writers who create it. DGF fosters playwrights, composers, lyricists, and bookwriters at all stages of their careers. We sponsor educational programs; provide awards, grants, and stipends; offer free space to create new works; and give emergency aid to writers in need. By supporting and nurturing the creators of today, we protect the stories of tomorrow.

These Awards will be formally presented to Kushner, Light, and Houser at a private awards ceremony on March 18th.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride / WM Photos