Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

SONGS OF THE PHOENIX, Featuring Sondheim, Schwartz, Lippa, and More, Available Now

The album is available everywhere, digitally, now!

SONGS OF THE PHOENIX, Featuring Sondheim, Schwartz, Lippa, and More, Available Now

Just in time to celebrate Pride weekend! The live recording of Songs of the Phoenix, will be available everywhere, digitally, Friday, June 24th. Songs of the Phoenix features music by composers and lyricists Ty Defoe, Alexandra Elle, Siedah Garrett, Joriah Kwame, Daniel Lazour, Patrick Lazour, Melissa Li, Andrew Lippa, Ingrid Michaelson, Stephen Schwartz, Stephen Sondheim, Diana Syrse, and Kit Yan.

Songs of the Phoenix was commissioned by The San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus and co-comissioned by Atlanta Gay Men's Chorus; Austin Gay Men's Chorus; Gay Men's Chorus of Los Angeles; Gay Men's Chorus of South Florida; Heartland Men's Chorus; New York City Gay Men's Chorus; North Coast Men's Chorus; One Voice Chorus of Charlotte, NC; Philadelphia Gay Men's Chorus; Portland Gay Men's Chorus; Windy City Gay Men's Chorus & Treble Quire. The album was recorded live on April 10th, 2022.

About Songs of the Phoenix

In the early days of the pandemic, Tim Seelig and Andrew Lippa began conversations about completing a trilogy of works created by Andrew for the San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus. The first two were "I Am Harvey Milk" (2013) and "Unbreakable" (2018). Both had words and music by Andrew. This time, Andrew offered to curate a work that might address the myriad challenges facing our nation during the pandemic. Andrew envisioned a large work created by as diverse a group of librettists and composers as possible. Two years, later, Songs of the Phoenix was birthed with the world premiere on April 10 at Davies Symphony Hall in San Francisco.

Songs of the Phoenix features narration written by Josh Wilder and Carson Grace Becker and performed by Rodney Earl Jackson, Jr and Cheri Miller. Orchestrations by Peter Seibert and vocal arrangements by Dave Volpe and curation by Andrew Lippa. The album is produced by Leslie Ann Jones. The album is also produced by Dr. Timothy Seelig and Andrew Lippa with engineering by Dann Thompson and Leslie Ann Jones. Denise Woodward and Nick Abreu as recording engineers with edits by Leslie Ann Jones, Robert Gatley and Dann Thompson. The recording has been mixed by Leslie Ann Jones at Skywalker Sound, a Lucasfilm Ltd. Company with assistant mixing by Dann Thompson. Mastered by Michael Romanowski of Coast Mastering. The album was recorded live at the San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center, Louise M Davies Symphony Hall.

The orchestra is conducted by Dr. Timothy Seelig, and features Nicolas Perez on piano, Aaron Shaul on bass, Matthew Wrobel on bass, Juan Carreon on drums, Fred Morgan on percussion, Peter Seibert on keyboard, Yuri Kye on violin, Andrés Vera on cello, Tom Regouski on reeds. Dave Volpe created the TTBB arrangements and William Southerland created SATB vocal arrangements.

Song List:

  1. PRELUDE 1 /THE LIFE CYCLE OF A STAR (ADAGIO) (Music by Andrew Lippa, Narration by Josh Wilder)

  2. WE RISE (Music and Lyrics by Ingrid Michaelson)

  3. WHO AM I? (Music by Melissa Li, Lyrics by Kit Yan and Melissa Li)

  4. WE ARE THE TREES (Music and Lyrics by Ty Defoe Speaker:Landa Lakes)

  5. MOTHER DEAR (Music by Andrew Lippa, Lyrics by Siedah Garrett)

  6. PRELUDE 2 / INVISIBLE GRIDS (Music by Andrew Lippa, Narration by Carson Grace Becker)

  7. SONG OF TOMORROW (Music and Lyrics by Joriah Kwamé)

  8. MÚSICA Y SABORES (Music and Lyrics by Diana Syrse)

  9. PRAYER (Music and Lyrics by The Lazours)

  10. PRELUDE 3 / WAVE (Music by Andrew Lippa, Narration by Josh Wilder)

  11. FLAG SONG (Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim)

  12. BLOOM (Music by Stephen Schwartz, Lyrics by Alexandra Elle)

  13. PRELUDE 4 / FIN (Music by Andrew Lippa, Narration by Josh Wilder)

  14. SONG OF THE PHOENIX (Music and Lyrics by Andrew Lippa)

Related Stories

More Hot Stories For You

The Streetlight Collective Present SPRING AWAKENING
August 12, 2022

The Streetlight Collective has announced its inaugural production at the Pax Amicus Castle Theatre. Spring Awakening focuses on the struggles of a group of teenagers striving to understand their sexuality in a repressed and a dark world.

Birdland Will Present The Return Of Karen Akers This September
August 12, 2022

Returning to Birdland after the sold-out debut of this show in April, Akers once again takes a look back at some of the songs that first brought her attention in cabaret as well as on Broadway, television, and recordings: works by Craig Carnelia, Maury Yeston, Edith Piaf, and Stephen Sondheim, among other treasures.

The Hearty Meal Returns To Caveat With 'Memorial Cabaret For A Fictional Composer'
August 12, 2022

Following the success of RJ Christian and Cameron Reese's recent concert 'Morbin' Time', the viral writing team returns to Caveat with 'Memorial Cabaret for a Fictional Composer' directed by Robert Malbrough for one performance only August 26th at 7:00pm.

Pete Miller Releases Debut Americana Album On MTS Records – 'Live On Record'
August 12, 2022

Featuring pure and untampered acoustic guitar and a rich voice that is reminiscent of Johnny Cash, Pete Miller's debut album 'Live On Record' is a breath of fresh air for folks who like their music raw and real. With elements of folk, country, and rock, Pete digs deep with introspective and poetic storytelling.

Proud Mary Theatre Presents Upstate Premiere of BOOTYCANDY
August 12, 2022

Uproarious satire crashes headlong into the murky terrain of pain and pleasure...