Aaron Glick Awarded Columbia University School of the Arts' T. Fellowship

T. Fellowship in association with Columbia University School of the Arts announced Aaron Glick as the third fellow in the one-year program designed to educate and empower new creative producers. The fellow will receive a stipend of $10,000 with a $20,000 budget for the development of a new theatrical production.

T. Fellowship mentors are Harold Prince (Mentor and Founder), Margo Lion, Gregory Mosher, Tom Schumacher, Jeffrey Sellerand David Stone. The program is managed by Columbia University School of the Arts.

Other advisors and staff for the T. Fellowship program include Victoria Bailey (Executive Director, Theatre Development Fund),Steven Chaikelson (Head of the MFA Theatre Management & Producing Concentration at the School of the Arts), Ed Wilson (Co-Founder) and Orin Wolf (President, NETworks)

The T Fellowship honors the legacy of Broadway producer T. Edward Hambleton.

The Fellowship is designed to support the development of gifted emerging theatrical producers. The T Fellowship is committed to sustaining the finest traditions of creative producing. Although the environment in which theatre is produced continues to change, the underlying principles that have historically shepherded great works of American theater continue to have validity today and must be understood and adapted if the art form is to thrive.

The T Fellowship exposes the fellows to the best contemporary producing practices, but doesn't teach those practices as the only or most effective way to produce theater. The philosophy is that which is good for the art form is good for business. The Fellowship emphasizes that the creative producer's role is to be the instigator, the collaborator, and the leader who gets art on the stage and to the public. The T Fellowship neither wishes to turn back the clock to 1950 nor settle for the status quo. The T Fellowship is looking to empower new producers to reinvent the wheel themselves, on their own terms, following their own tastes, in their own style.

Each selected T Fellow will participate in two distinct tracks with different focuses. The first track exposes the fellows to the widest possible range of contemporary theatrical producing practices while providing opportunities to discuss the shifting role of the creative producer. During this phase, fellows can be placed in "the field" with working professionals and/or allowed to audit Columbia University courses that are of particular interest to the fellow. The internship placement and course selection varies depending on what skills the fellow most needs to develop. It is anticipated that fellows might work in a general manager's office, a Production Office, or be involved in a production process.

Limiting selection to one or two candidates a year is fundamental to the program. The limitation on the number of fellows allows for maximum attention to the individual goals and needs of the fellows. In addition it insures that the fellowship can maintain a high degree of selectivity. Selection is based on an application, essays, and interviews. Applications for T. Fellowship were accepted from May 2013 through August 1, 2013. Final candidates went through an interview process with the T. Fellowship committee.

Aaron Glick has produced PigPen Theatre Company's The Old Man and the Old Moon (off-Broadway and in Chicago with The Writers' Theatre), This One Girl's Story at the New York Musical Theatre Festival, Abraham Lincoln's Big Gay Dance Party at Theatre Row, Hedwig and the Angry Inch at The Producer's Club, and Hair at Marymount Manhattan College. Aaron works with producer David Stone and 321 Theatrical Management on such shows as: Three Days of Rain (with Julia Roberts), The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee (Broadway and National Tours), Wicked (Broadway and around the world), Next to Normal (winner of the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Drama), and the upcoming new musical If / Then. Aaron is a graduate of Marymount Manhattan College.

John Pinckard and Orin Wolf were awarded the first T. Fellowships in 2007.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram