Christopher J. Hanke Joins BUYER & CELLAR on 3/18; Michael Urie to Launch Tour in May

‚Äč
Christopher J. Hanke Joins BUYER & CELLAR on 3/18; Michael Urie to Launch Tour in May

Producers Darren Bagert, Dan Shaheen and Ted Snowdon just announced that Broadway leading man Christopher J. Hanke (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying) will begin performances as Alex More in the smash hit comedy Buyer & Cellar on Tuesday, March 18, 2014 at the Barrow Street Theatre (27 Barrow Street). Current star Michael Urie ("Ugly Betty") will launch the first national tour at Chicago's Broadway Playhouse at Water Tower Place beginning Tuesday, May 6, 2014, through Sunday, June 15, 2014, followed by an engagement at Washington D.C.'s Harman Center for the Arts from Friday, June 20, 2014 through Sunday, June 29, 2014. Buyer & Cellar, starring Michael Urie will then play Los Angeles' Mark Taper Forum for six weeks from Wednesday, July 9, 2014 through Sunday, August 17, 2014. Buyer & Cellar will play additional cities through December 2014 including a four-week engagement at Toronto's Panasonic Theatre from Wednesday, November 12, 2014 through Thursday, November 30, 2014 (Casting TBD). Buyer & Cellar, which recouped its initial investment faster than any Off-Broadway show in recent history and continues to break box office records, is written by Jonathan Tolins and directed by Stephen Brackett.

The critically acclaimed hit comedy Buyer & Cellar swept the Best of 2013 Theater lists including The New York Times, Associated Press, The Hollywood Reporter, New York Post, New York Daily News, NPR, Newsday, The Huffington Post, AM New York, The New York Observer, The Advocate, The Daily Beast, Entertainment Weekly, NBC New York, Playbill, Towleroad, Gay City News and Time Out New York.

Buyer & Cellar had its world premiere in April 2013 at Rattlestick Playwrights Theater, where it received rave reviews and played a sold-out, extended run before transferring to the Barrow Street Theatre where it opened June 24, 2013.

Buyer & Cellar plays Friday through Wednesday at 7:30pm and Saturday and Sunday at 2:30pm at the Barrow Street Theatre (27 Barrow Street, east of Seventh Avenue South). Beginning Tuesday, March 18, Buyer & Cellar plays Tuesday through Sunday at 7:30pm and Saturday and Sunday at 2:30pm. There will be no 7:30pm performances on Sunday, March 30, Sunday, June 8 and Friday, July 4. There will be additional performances onWednesday, March 19, Wednesday, March 26, Wednesday, April 16 and Wednesday, June 11 all at 2:30pm, and Monday, June 30 at 7:30pm. Tickets, which are now on sale through August 31, may be purchased by phoning 212 868-4444 or by visiting www.smarttix.com. The Barrow Street Theatre box office opens daily at 1pm.

Related Articles



Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
 
Advertisement Advertisement