Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

VIDEO: Moreish Idols Share Video For 'W.A.M.'

The video was released alongside the band's new EP.

London's Moreish Idols arrived this year with the absurdist smarts of "Speedboat" and the contorted punk-funk of "Hangar", their debut singles for tastemakers Speedy Wunderground. Following widespread support across the pair, the band today release their debut EP for the label, Float, four tracks that fidget and warp their way excitably across a variety of genres and musical directions, providing a thrilling document of the band's here and now.

To celebrate the release of Float, the band have also shared a video for "W.A.M". Jude Lilley, vocalist on the track, had the following to say about the themes behind their release day single:

"Wait A Minute is essentially a short story inspired by an article I once read about a private investigator being found dead in a South London car park. I wrote the lyrics from the perspective of an agent/hitman, stalking his target, unaware that the target is one step ahead of him and had been briefed to kill said hitman from the same source. I struggled to get my head around how something so archetypal and fictional could be happening in a place as mundane as Sydenham.

This song was a milestone for the band as it was the first track we wrote entirely as a five piece, in the practice room, from scratch. It exemplifies a turning point for us, allowing us to run with our ideas together as a unit."

Born from humble beginnings in a Cornish coastal town, the band recently relocated to the capital, expanding scope in the process to create something that not only stands apart from their peers, but also manages that aural diversity song to song within the same set.

Created with a strictly implemented manifesto: writing solely as a group so as to allow the blending of each member's widely divergent personalities and influences. This melded a sound that combines jazz, funk, krautrock, dub and punk into something decidedly... moreish.

In January 2022, Moreish Idols laid down the four songs that would make up Float over an intense five day studio session spurred on by Dan Carey.

The band's own Jude Lilley had the following to say about Float as a whole:

"The most exciting thing for us as a band is capturing our performances live, which something Speedy is renowned for. Everything you hear in the EP is us in the room working together as unit - apart from Dyl who recorded his take across the whole EP in one! There's something really cool about listening back to the takes and realising 'this is what the room sounded like 5 minutes ago... and that's us making the noise'.

To us "Float" is a collage, and a demonstration of the band putting everything in the mixer and seeing what comes out (lyrics included) and it's exactly what Dan heard before getting us involved with the label."

Produced, as ever, by the label's own aforementioned Carey, Float showcases more of the mercurial magic that is ever-present across the Speedy Wunderground catalogue.

Carey's most recent credits include Wet Leg, Kae Tempest and Fontaines DC while Speedy Wunderground have worked with the likes of Black Country, New Road, Sinead O'Brien, black midi, Jane Weaver, Squid and more.

Ahead of next year's 10 year label anniversary, Speedy Wunderground's fifth singles compilation - 'Speedy Wunderground - Vol. 5' - is out now, featuring:

The Lounge Society, PVA, moa moa, Joyeria, Pynch, Brodka & Scottibrains, Lazarus Kane and deep tan.

Watch the new music video here:

Regional Awards

From This Author - Michael Major

Interview: Ben Platt Talks 'Reverie' Tour & Performing After the PandemicInterview: Ben Platt Talks 'Reverie' Tour & Performing After the Pandemic
September 23, 2022

BroadwayWorld caught up with Platt to discuss what audiences can expect from the new tour, the difference between performing for concert audiences opposed to musical theatre audiences, and what he's most looking forward to when taking on the role of Leo Frank in the upcoming City Center production of Parade.

Taylor Young Band Release New Single 'Belong Together'Taylor Young Band Release New Single 'Belong Together'
September 23, 2022

Following 2020s debut album Mercury Transit, Taylor Young Band has embarked on an interstellar journey of discovery. Powered by new instrumentation, new arrangements, and Taylor’s trademark disarming earnestness, “Belong Together” propels an artist grounded in the roots of Americana to the swirling mist beyond the stars.

Broadway Watch Guide: Fall 2022 - Where to Watch Skylar Astin, Sheryl Lee Ralph & More on TV This FallBroadway Watch Guide: Fall 2022 - Where to Watch Skylar Astin, Sheryl Lee Ralph & More on TV This Fall
September 23, 2022

The upcoming fall television season features an exciting lineup of Broadway stars starring in new and returning television series. From Skylar Astin's new CBS series So Help Me Todd to newly-minted Emmy winner Sheryl Lee Ralph returning for the second season of Abbott Elementary, check out where and when you can watch Broadway stars on TV!

Lea Michele to Perform From FUNNY GIRL on THE TONIGHT SHOW Next WeekLea Michele to Perform From FUNNY GIRL on THE TONIGHT SHOW Next Week
September 23, 2022

The performance will mark the first televised performance from the musical. The Glee star is currently playing Fanny Brice in the Broadway revival of Funny Girl at the August Wilson Theatre. The production also stars Tovah Feldshuh, Ramin Karimloo, and Jared Grimes.

Quavo x Takeoff Reveal Pre-Save & Tracklist for Collaborative Debut Album 'Only Built For Infinity Links'Quavo x Takeoff Reveal Pre-Save & Tracklist for Collaborative Debut Album 'Only Built For Infinity Links'
September 23, 2022

Quavo and Takeoff have released the tracklist for their new album 'Only Built For Infinity Links.' Quavo brings his triplet flows and personalized style to his solo releases. Takeoff is the youngest member of trap trendsetters Migos, whose songs 'Versace' and 'Bad and Boujee' became major streaming hits.