Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
HOOGENBOOM Drops New Single 'Shame On Us'

HOOGENBOOM Drops New Single 'Shame On Us'

HOOGENBOOM's new album will be released on February 10.

On Friday, February 10, HOOGENBOOM, aka singer and songwriter Brandon Hoogenboom, will share his debut album Good For Nothing (A Spiraling Blackout Montage) via Rose Garden (Runnner, Monster Rally).

Don't let the name fool you: Good For Nothing (A Spiraling Blackout Montage) is a resplendent collection of bold, beatific melodies cut with Brandon's deeply felt, introspective songwriting. "A lot of emotion went into these songs," he says while talking about what the album means to him.

As a final preview before the album's release, today, HOOGENBOOM shared "Shame On Us." The darkly shaded swoons on the track provide perfect accompaniment to Brandon's biting satirical exploration of blame in the internet age. In the end, it's a song about the contradictions that make us human; as Brandon puts it, "I hope that we get better at seeing the gray area, the good, the bad and the in between in order to find some common ground."

The soaring melodies and warm instrumentation as heard in today's single, as well as previous teaser tracks "Damn Good," "The Violinist (Penalized & Paralyzed)," and "Skipping Town," are undercut with Brandon's reflective lyricism, which finds him ruminating on a dark period in his life that the album title gestures towards.

"I had a tendency to take things too far in an attempt to cope with what felt like the breakup of a tight-knit family," he explains while discussing the title's meaning. "A lot of this album is me taking the time to address my issues inside and outside of the band, and it's taken a decade for me to really understand that period of my life and be able to move on. This is me learning how much I need to take the reins of my own life and my own story."

Throughout Good For Nothing, Brandon zooms in on the highs and lows of friendships and relationships in general, unafraid to explore life's uncomfortable corners. Indeed, the album is the result of Brandon putting his honest self forward artistically and personally, all the while exercising his muscle for writing gorgeous, full-bodied songs that sound both timeless and immediate.

He says, "This is the first collection of recorded music that I'm really proud of, and it feels like it's just the beginning-but every day I'm pushing myself and my art forward, too." These nine songs find Brandon looking at his journeys as a musician and a human being on this rock we call Earth, and they happen to chart an exciting future for HOOGENBOOM as a whole, too.

Rose Garden is a newly-formed artist management company and record label home to artists such as Runnner, Monster Rally, RUMTUM, Bolinas and HOOGENBOOM based in Brooklyn, New York. Rose Garden is the brainchild of artist manager and music supervisor Ethan Converse, previously of the Brooklyn management, sync and PR company, Sub Rosa Curation.

Young Jimmy Releases Cover of Nirvanas Come As You Are Photo
Young Jimmy has a genre defying sound dubbed HOOD ROCK, showcasing a dynamic rock rhythm in reinterpreted Nirvana classic: 'COME AS YOU ARE'.

Danny Wright, International Pianist And Composer To Release New Single Alfie On March 31 Photo
Danny Wright, in conjunction with Burton Avenue Music will release his new single 'Alfie' in honor of the late Burt Bacharach. The single will be available on Spotify, Apple Music, and Deezer on March 31st, 2023.

Singer/Songwriter Miron To Release New Track Too Deep March 28 Photo
Singer/songwriter Miron is back with his latest single, an ambient and relaxing track titled 'Too Deep,' set for release on March 28th.

Hip-Hop Legend Coolios New Track Titled “TAG YOU IT” Ft. TOO $HORT & DJ WI Photo
Prior to his untimely death at age 59, Grammy award winner Coolio and longtime collaborator DJ Wino had been wrapping up in the studio, recording what would have been the rapper's first studio album release since 2009's From The Bottom 2 the Top.

From This Author - Michael Major

Hozier Returns With New EP 'Eat Your Young'Hozier Returns With New EP 'Eat Your Young'
March 17, 2023

The three-song EP marks Hozier’s first official offering of new music since his 2019 sophomore album Wasteland, Baby!, which debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Top 200 Chart. Featuring songs lifted from Hozier’s forthcoming full-length album Unreal Unearth due later this year, Eat Your Young touches on the album’s exploration.

Zodiac Links Up With Vannah For New Single 'With Me'Zodiac Links Up With Vannah For New Single 'With Me'
March 17, 2023

BIJOU’s esteemed imprint Do Not Duplicate Records, is thrilled to welcome back dance music’s newest enigma Zodiac with his latest single ‘With Me’. The latest from the mysterious and talented DJ and producer is a mesmerizing collaboration with captivating vocalist Vannah Pereda, and is poised to take the dance music world by storm.

Taleban Dooda Drops Defiant New Single 'Come After Me'Taleban Dooda Drops Defiant New Single 'Come After Me'
March 17, 2023

East Tampa rapper Taleban Dooda returns with the raw and unfiltered new single “Come After Me.” The rising MC’s first solo release of 2023 finds him in a typically defiant mood as he lays down the gauntlet for haters. That project followed Dooda’s other 2022 release White Chalk & Yellow Tape, which is disarmingly cohesive from front to back.

The Flaming Lips' 'Fight Test' & 'Ego Tripping at the Gates of Hell' Released on Vinyl for the First TimeThe Flaming Lips' 'Fight Test' & 'Ego Tripping at the Gates of Hell' Released on Vinyl for the First Time
March 17, 2023

“Fight Test” originally landed in June 2003 as the third single and opening track from the seminal 2002 Gold-certified opus Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots. Upon arrival, it cracked the Billboard Top 100 and rose to #28 on the UK singles chart. The Fight Test EP adorned the 6-CD box set of Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots: 20th Anniversary Edition.

R&B Artist Noby Drops Motown Records Debut 'It's Never That Deep'R&B Artist Noby Drops Motown Records Debut 'It's Never That Deep'
March 17, 2023

NOBY makes his Motown Records debut with the unfiltered “It’s Never That Deep.” Hailing from Alabama, the rising alt-R&B artist has already amassed a devoted fanbase with his boundary-pushing lyrics and haunting melodies — two qualities that are very much on display on his latest single, which tackles the aftermath of cheating in a relationship.