L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 34 Announced as...

L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 34 was announced as the winner in the “anthology” category for the New York City Big Book Award by awards sponsor Gabrielle Olczak. Book submissions were collected from six continents: Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America.

The New York City Big Book Award is one of the newer book awards created with the purpose of recognizing quality writing from around the world. Olczak noted, “Submissions came from the imprints of large traditional publishers such as HarperCollins and Random House; large independent press publishers such as Galaxy Press, Roman & Littlefield, and Wiley; small press and independent authors such as Marti MacGibbon to Sahar Aref.”

“What is very special with book awards,” noted John Goodwin President Galaxy Press, “is that they fully align with the purpose as laid out by the Contest’s founder, L. Ron Hubbard to provide a means for the aspiring artist to be seen and acknowledged.” Not only are the published winners in volume 34 national bestselling authors and artists due to sales, but they are also now authors of a national award-winning book as well. Based on the sequence in the book, these writers and corresponding illustrators are:

Writer Winner                Illustrator Winner
Erik Bundy                    Adar Darnov
Erin Cairns                    Kyna Tek
Jonathan Ficke                Sidney Lugo
Jeremy TeGrotenhuis            Brenda Rodriguez
Vida Cruz                    Reyna Rochin
Darci Stone                    Quintin Gleim
Cole Hehr                    Maksym Polishchuk
Janey Bell                    Bruce Brenneise

Eneasz Brodski                Alana Fletcher
N.R.M. Roshak                Jazmen Richardson
Diana Hart                    Anthony Moravian
Amy Henrie Gillett                Duncan Halleck

Over its 34 year history, the Contest has recognized 404 winners who have gone on to publish 1,150 novels and 4,450 short stories. Of these, 192 are still active with a writing career—that’s over 40%. Twelve of these Contest winners have gone on to become NYT bestselling authors: Dave Wolverton (aka David Farland), Sean Williams, Jo Beverly, Nancy Farmer, Lisa Smedman, Karen Joy Fowler, Patrick Rothfuss, Tim Myers, Eric Flint, Dean Wesley Smith, Tobias Buckell, and Elizabeth Wein. And Contest winners have garnered 155 major awards.

And with the last four volumes of Writers of the Future hitting national bestseller lists—and each of the winners becoming national bestselling authors and illustrators as a result—Contest entries continue to increase each quarter with entries from around the world.

For more information, go to http://www.writersofthefuture.com.

Related Articles View More Books Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram