STAGE TUBE: ROCKY HORROR SHOW Gets Banned From Georgia Arts Center

A Georgia production of THE ROCKY HORROR SHOW, playing at Carrollton Cultural Arts Center has just been shut down by local political leaders for being overly offensive and too risque. After the mayor, Wayne Garner, was shown a video of the show in rehearsal,  officials decided that an R-rated farce was not suitable for a city-owned venue, and the production was stopped. 

Get the scoop on the controversy in the video below!

The Rocky Horror Show originally played on Broadway in 1975 with the Roxy cast from Los Angeles, except for Graham Jarvis who initially was replaced by Chicago native William Newman for the first preview but then rehired, and Bruce Scott, who was injured in another play and replaced by author Richard O'Brien himself. Tim Curry and Meat Loaf rejoined the cast. After three previews, it opened on 10 March 1975 at the nine-hundred-sixty-seven-seat Belasco Theatre. The critics panned the show, and it closed on 6 April 1975 after forty-five performances.

The Rocky Horror Show had a longer revival on Broadway from October 2000 to January 2002 at the Circle in the Square Theatre and featured Tom Hewitt (later Terrance Mann) as Frank N. Furter, Alice Ripley as Janet, Raúl Esparza (later Sebastian Bach) as Riff Raff, Joan Jett as Columbia/Usherette (later Ana Gasteyer), Lea DeLaria (later Jason Wooten) as Eddie/Doctor Scott, and Daphne Rubin-Vega as Magenta. 


Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You