Neil Patrick Harris, Anna Kendrick Among SHORTY AWARD Nominees

Neil Patrick Harris, Laverne Cox, Anna Kendrick, Mindy Kaling, Chris Pratt, Shonda Rhimes, Taylor Swift and Mark Ruffalo among this year's nominees for the 7th Annual SHORTY AWARDS, which honor the best of social media, recognizing the people and organizations producing content on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, Vine, and the rest of the social web.

The awards ceremony takes place in April in New York City and are livestreamed to a global audience.

Previous Shorty Awards ceremonies welcomed Ricky Gervais, George Takei, Jimmy Kimmel, Retta, Jerry Seinfeld, Kiefer Sutherland, Jim Gaffigan, Amanda Palmer, CONAN O'Brien, Cory Booker, Natasha Leggero, Sesame Street's Grover, Ted Leo, Shaquille O'Neal, Stephen Fry, Suze Orman, Rachel Maddow, William Shatner, Carrie Keagan, Chris Hardwick, David Karp, Biz Stone, Alexis Ohanian, Coco Rocha, Andrew WK, Samantha Bee and Jason Jones, Matt Walsh, Aasif Mandvi, Tiffani Thiessen, Jerry Stiller, Anne Meara, and Felicia Day.

Winners are selected by members of the Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts & Sciences which is comprised of luminaries from advertising, media, entertainment and the internet. The group includes Apple co-founder Steve "The Woz" Wozniak, actor Adam Scott, CMO of Virgin America Luanne Calvert, celebrity chef Jamie Oliver, actor and producer Nick Cannon, Instagram co-founder Mike Krieger, Youtube Comedy Duo The Fine Bros, Craigslist founder Craig Newmark, actress and philanthropist Alyssa Milano, co-founder and editor-in-chief of The Huffington Post Arianna Huffington, Wikipedia founder Jimmy Wales, comedian and actress Retta and more.

The partial list of nominees follows. Click here for complete list!

Actor

James Franco @JamesFrancoTV

Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH

Chris Pratt @prattprattpratt

Misha Collins @mishacollins

Jensen Ackles @JensenAckles

Osric Chau @OsricChau

Eric West @ericxwest

Actress

Lena Dunham @lenadunham

Sarah Jessica Parker @SJP

Laverne Cox @Lavernecox

Natasha Negovanlis @natvanlis

Shay Mitchell @shaymitch

Carrie Hope Fletcher @CarrieHFletcher

Bella Thorne @bellathorne

Band

BASTILLE @bastilledan

HAIM @HAIMtheband

One Direction @onedirection

Little Mix @LittleMix

Fifth Harmony @FifthHarmony

5 Seconds of Summer @5SOS

The Vamps @TheVampsband

Celebrity

Conan O'Brien @ConanOBrien

Ellen DeGeneres @TheEllenShow

Anna Kendrick @AnnaKendrick47

Justin Bieber @justinbieber

James Maslow @jamesmaslow

Logan Henderson @1LoganHenderson

Oliver Trevena @olivertrevena

Comedian

Jenny Slate @jennyslate

Hannibal Buress @hannibalburess

Mindy Kaling @mindykaling

Nicole Arbour @NicoleArbour

Stats Britain @StatsBritain

Cooper the Comedian @VerifiedCoop

Jonny Sun @jonnysun

Musician

Questlove @questlove

Lorde @lordemusic

Calum Hood @Calum5SOS

Bang Yongguk @BAP_Bangyongguk

Emine Sari @EmineMusic

Ruki @RUKItheGazettE

Soles @SolesMusic

Singer

Demi Lovato @ddlovato

Taylor Swift @taylorswift13

Beyoncé Knowles @Beyonce

Ibtissam Tiskat @IbtissamTiskat

Kenza Morsli @Kenza_Morsli

Laith Abu Joda @LaithAbuJoda

Sam Alves @samalvesmusic

TV Show

Pretty Little Liars @ABCFpll

The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon @FallonTonight

Girls @girlsHBO

The Quest @TheQuestABC

Supernatural @cw_spn

Faking It @mtvfakingit

Orphan Black @OrphanBlack

Vine Artist

Ian Padgham @origiful

Tom Shea @tommyfox

Meghan Doherty @mdoherty04

Alicia Herber @leeshespieces

Xaviera López @xavieralopez

Jack Bethmann @jackbethmann

Tom Deslongchamp @tomthinks

Vine Comedian

Josh Peck @PortuableShua

Logan Paul @LoganPaul

Jake Paul @ImJakePaul

Meghan McCarthy @MeghanWMcCarthy

Christian Leave @ChristianLeave

Brandon Bowen @BrandonRayBowen

Alx James @AlxJames10

Vine Musician

Eric Nakassa @ericnakassa

Rajiv Dhall @JivDude

Shawn Mendes @ShawnMendes

Sebastian Olzanski @SEBTSB

Anna Clendening @annaclendening

Kenzie Nimmo @kenzienimmo

Em Harriss @EmHarriss

Vine Star of the Year presented by Univision

Michael Lopriore @MichaelLopriore

Brittany Furlan @BrittanyFurlan

Jessi Smiles @jessismiles__

Alexander Holtti @ImAlexHoltti

Thomas Sanders @foster_dawg

Lele Pons @lelepons

King Bach @KingBach

Web Show

Laci Green @gogreen18

Marques Brownlee @MKBHD

Mental Floss Video @MF_video

Rob Dyke @TheRobDyke

Carmilla Series @carmillaseries

SourceFed @sourcefed

Peacekeepers @peacekeepersnyc

YouTube Comedian

Nathan Zed @TheThirdPew

GloZell Green @GloZell

Jenna Marbles @Jenna_Marbles

Steve Zaragoza @stevezaragoza

Zach Clayton @bruhitszach

Rudan C @rudanc

Lilly Singh @IISuperwomanII

YouTube Guru presented by FYI

Zoella @ZozeeBo

Michelle Phan @MichellePhan

Lisa Eldridge @Lisa_Eldridge

Lex Fleming @MadeULookbyLex

Amy Hislop @itsamyxoxo

Paul Zedrich @paulzedrich

Jen Espinoza @JenifferXo

YouTube Musician

Sam Tsui @SamuelTsui

Pentatonix @PTXofficial

Mike Tompkins @Mike_tompkins

Christina Grimmie @TheRealGrimmie

Tanner Patrick @TannerPatrick

Connie Talbot @ConnieTalbot607

Peter Hollens @PeterHollens

YouTube Star of the Year presented by A&E

Smosh @smosh

Jon Cozart @JonCozart

Grace Helbig @gracehelbig

Matthew Santoro @MatthewSantoro

The Hillywood Show @HillywoodShow

Philip DeFranco @PhillyD

Connor Franta @ConnorFranta

There are two branches of the Shorty Awards: the individual competition and the brands & organizations competition. The awards for brands & organizations honor the innovative and creative work professionals are executing in the social media space through a formal online entry process. The awards for individuals are submitted by tweet nominations. Each year, the Shorty Awards receives millions of tweet nominations from fans supporting their favorite social media stars. Voters can also create Shorty Award Community Categories by tweeting their own hashtag. Over 2,000 community categories have been created to date.

The winners of the 7th Annual Shorty Awards, as chosen by The Academy, will be revealed at the ceremony in April of 2015 in New York City.

Source: The Shorty Awards



Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk