Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Lizzy McAlpine Unveils New Song 'Hate to Be Lame' Featuring FINNEAS

The track appears on McAlpine’s forthcoming album, five seconds flat, set for release this Friday, April 8.

"hate to be lame," the new song from rising artist Lizzy McAlpine featuring Grammy-Award winner FINNEAS, is out now, originally premiering on Apple Music's New Music Daily.

The track appears on McAlpine's forthcoming album, five seconds flat, set for release this Friday, April 8 on Harbour Artists & Music / AWAL Recordings. McAlpine's previously released singles "erase me," "doomsday," "all my ghosts" and "reckless driving" continue to receive praise; NPR Music featured "doomsday" in their All Things Considered New Mix, while Teen Vogue declared, "The Philadelphia-based songstress charges on the dark, mid-tempo track."

Rolling Stone added, "['erase me'] has just the right combination of the singer/songwriter vibe with a cinematic crescendo that makes the song a perfect fit for radio and even Top 40. Give this track and the artist a chance, you'll be playing this one on loop very quickly."

In addition, McAlpine performed on "The Ellen DeGeneres Show," the follow up to her U.S. television debut on ABC's "Jimmy Kimmel Live!."

Following her extensive run of North American tour dates with dodie, McAlpine confirms an album release show at Los Angeles' Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever Cemetery on Friday, April 8. Further headlining tour dates to be announced soon.

McAlpine takes five seconds flat in a bold new direction, using her evocative lyrics to create a story arc about heartbreak. The new music finds McAlpine stepping into her own as an artist, building on her past while looking toward the future. "I want to give my fans something different with each record, because I'm different each record," notes McAlpine. "I want to always be growing and moving forward as an artist."

Produced by Philip Etherington and Ehren Ebbage, the 14-track album was recorded in Eugene, OR and at The Laundry Pile in Los Angeles. five seconds flat also includes contributions from Grammy-Award winner Jacob Collier as well as Ben Kessler and Laura Elliott.

Born outside Philadelphia, McAlpine originally gained recognition when she began to share original songs and covers on Soundcloud and YouTube. In 2020, McAlpine released her debut album, Give Me A Minute, chronicling the beginning and end of a romantic relationship. With more than 150 million streams to date on DSPs, McAlpine has gained notable supporters on social media including Phoebe Bridgers, FINNEAS, Rostam, Clairo, Yebba, Shawn Mendes, Camila Cabello, Lennon Stella, Ben Platt and more.

Listen to the new single here:

From This Author - Michael Major

Kelsey Waldon Releases New Album 'No Regular Dog'
August 12, 2022

Produced by Shooter Jennings (Brandi Carlile, Tanya Tucker) and recorded at Los Angeles’ Dave’s Room Studio, No Regular Dog is rooted in deep self-reflection and features Waldon’s most personal songwriting to date. With these eleven songs, including “Season’s Ending,” a tribute to Waldon’s mentor John Prine.

David Guetta & Benny Benassi Share 'Satisfaction (2022)'
August 12, 2022

The newest rendition of ‘Satisfaction’ celebrates the storied original release with a fresh dose of energy, borrowing influences from the surging sounds of David Guetta’s Future Rave while still paying homage to the instantly recognisable and equally undeniable synth hook of Benassi’s 2002 original.

Vikina 'the Queen' of Latin EDM Releases 'Bad Girls'
August 12, 2022

From stardom, VIKINA shines like the most dazzling of diamonds. Since making her debut at a young age, the Miami-born artist of Ecuadorian-Cuban Latin heritage has continued to earn the respect of her fans around the world becoming the latest sensation in Latin EDM music with the unconditional support of her record label Mr. 305 Records.

VIDEO: Moreish Idols Share Video For 'W.A.M.'
August 12, 2022

London's Moreish Idols arrived this year with the absurdist smarts of 'Speedboat' and the contorted punk-funk of 'Hangar', their debut singles for tastemakers Speedy Wunderground. Following widespread support across the pair, the band has now released their debut EP for the label, Float, with four tracks. Watch the new music video now!

Ian Flanigan To Release Debut Album 'Strong' in September
August 12, 2022

Country music singer/songwriter and The Voice Season 19 finalist Ian Flanigan will release his upcoming debut album. He has consistently released fan favorite singles such as “Grow Up” featuring Blake Shelton, “Under A Southern Sky,” and “Last Name On It,” showing not only his versatility as a singer but as a songwriter as well.