Click Here for More Articles on STEPHEN SONDHEIM

2009 Lucille Lortel Award Winners Announced; Fela!, Our Town, Ruined, Cripple of Inishmaan Lead Pack

Awards were handed out for 14 categories and 2 special awards are announced by the Off-Broadway League for the Lucille Lortel Awards recognizing Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway.  This year’s ceremony benefits The Actors Fund.  A list of nominees follows below.
Now in its 24th year, the Lortel Awards were handed out on Sunday, May 3, 2009 at the “Off” Broadway Ballroom at the Marriott Marquis.  The Lortel Recipients were lauded by lovely host, Kristen Johnston, a performance by nominated comedian Mike Birbiglia and with a bevy of presenters, including Jane Krakowski, Parker Posey, Marcia Gay Harden, Piper Perabo, Lisa Edelstein, Jeremy Irons, Ari Graynor, Rosie Perez, Ellen Burstyn, Craig Bierko, Christian Siriano, Tim Gunn, Mireille Enos, Olivia d’Abo, John Glover, Margarita Levieva, Mark Indelicato, Keith Nobbs, Kerry Butler, Marsha Mason, Robert Verdi, Karen Olivo, Boyd Gaines & Lynn Cohen, Stephanie J Block, Fern Mallis, Ty Burrell, Phyllis Newman, Michael T. Weiss, Kate Jennings Grant, Jessica Blank & Erik Jensen.
Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation in addition to theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals serve on the Voting Committee.  The 2009 Voting Committee is comprised of Jeremy Dobrish, John Clinton Eisner, Barrack Evans, Kurt Everhart, Peter Filichia, David Finkle, Jeffrey Fiske, ElizaBeth Frankel, Melanie Herman, Linda Herring, Matthew Kelty, Walt Kiskaddon, Renée Lasher, Russell Lehrer, Niclas Nagler, Barbara Pasternack, Richard Price, Mark Rossier, David Savran and Barbara Toy. 
The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the Off-Broadway League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.  Additional support provided by Theatre Development Fund. Support also provided by Ketel One Vodka, Lunetta Prosecco, The Powder Group and Amavi Cellars.
The Lortel Awards website, <> , has updates and news about the ceremony, hosts and media releases.  To follow the Lortel Awards on Twitter, please go to:; Facebook at the Lucille Lortel Awards Group.


Outstanding Play:

Animals Out of Paper; Second Stage Theatre, Producer; Rajiv Joseph, Playwright
Becky ShawSecond Stage Theatre, Producer; Gina Gionfriddo, Playwright
Ruined; Manhattan Theatre Club and Goodman Theatre, Producer; Lynn Nottage, Playwright

The Good Negro; The Public Theater in association with Dallas Theater Center, Producers; Tracey Scott Wilson, Playwright
The Sound and the Fury (April Seventh, 1928); New York Theatre Workshop and Elevator Repair Service, Producers; Text by William Faulkner, Created by Elevator Repair Service
Outstanding Musical:

Fela! A New Musical; Ruth and Stephen Hendel and Roy GabayProducers; Book by Jim Lewis and Bill T. Jones, Music and Lyrics by Fela Anikulapo Kuti, Add'l Music by AaRon Johnson and Jordan McLean, Add'l Lyrics by Jim Lewis.

My Vaudeville Man!; The York Theatre Company and Melanie Herman, Producers; Book by Jeff Hochhauser, Music by Bob Johnston, Lyrics by Bob Johnston and Jeff Hochhauser
Road Show; The Public Theater, Producer; Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by John Weidman
Saved; Playwrights Horizons in association with Elephant Eye Theatrical, Producers; Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman, Book and Lyrics by John Dempsey and Rinne Groff
This Beautiful City; Vineyard Theatre, Producer; Composer and Lyricist Michael Friedman, Librettist Steve Cosson and Jim Lewis, Created by The Civilians
Outstanding Solo Show:

Humor Abuse; Manhattan Theatre Club, Producer; Created by Lorenzo Pisoni and Erica Schmidt, Performed by Lorenzo Pisoni

Sleepwalk With Me; Eli Gonda, Ryan Scott Warren, Marc Turtletaub, Peter Saraf, and Nathan Lane, Producers; Written and Performed by Mike Birbiglia
Outstanding Revival:

Enter Laughing, The Musical; The York Theatre Company, Producer; Book by Joseph Stein, Music and Lyrics by Stan Daniels, Based on the play Enter Laughingby Joseph Stein, from the novel by Carl Reiner.
Othello; Theatre for a New Audience, Producer; William Shakespeare, Playwright
Our Town; Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian, Tom Wirtshafter, Ted Snowdon, Eagle Productions, Dena Hammerstein/Pam Pariseau, The Weinstein Company, Burnt Umber Productions, Producers; Thornton Wilder, Playwright

The Cripple of Inishmaan; Atlantic Theater Company and Druid Theatre CompanyProducers; Martin McDonagh, Playwright
The Glass Cage; Mint Theater CompanyProducer; J.B. Priestley, Playwright
Outstanding Director:

Arin ArbusOthello
David CromerOur Town
Garry HynesThe Cripple of Inishmaan
Kate WhoriskeyRuined
RoBert Woodruff, Chair

Outstanding Choreographer:

Martha ClarkeGarden of Earthly Delights
Bill T. JonesFela! A New Musical
Janet MillerThe Marvelous Wonderettes
Lynne Taylor-Corbett and Shonn WileyMy Vaudeville Man!
Sergio TrujilloSaved

Outstanding Lead Actor:

Ned EisenbergOthello
Josh GrisettiEnter Laughing, The Musical
Brian d'Arcy JamesPort Authority
Sahr NgaujahFela! A New Musical
John Douglas Thompson, Othello

Outstanding Lead Actress:

Ellen BurstynThe Little Flower of East Orange
Saidah Arrika EkulonaRuined
Carmen M. Herlihycrooked
Kellie OverbeyThe Savannah Disputation
Annie ParisseBecky Shaw

Outstanding Featured Actor:

Utkarsh AmbudkarAnimals Out of Paper
Francois BattisteThe Good Negro
John McMartinSaturn Returns
Aaron MonaghanThe Cripple of Inishmaan
Thomas SadoskiBecky Shaw

Outstanding Featured Actress:

Annika BorasChair
Kerry CondonThe Cripple of Inishmaan
Lisa EmeryDistracted
Mamie GummerUncle Vanya
Juliet Rylance, Othello

Outstanding Scenic Design:

Beowulf BorittAnimals Out of Paper
Marina DraghiciFela! A New Musical
Roger Hanna, The Glass Cage
James SchuetteWig Out!
David ZinnChair

Outstanding Costume Design:

Marina DraghiciFela! A New Musical
Ann Hould-WardRoad Show
Toni-Leslie JamesWig Out!
Karen PerryThe First Breeze of Summer
Theresa SquireRafta, Rafta…

Outstanding Lighting Design:

Christopher AkerlindGarden of Earthly Delights
Mark BartonChair
Lap Chi Chu, The Good Negro
Marcus Doshi, Othello
Jason LyonsMourning Becomes Electra

Outstanding Sound Design:

Quentin ChiappettaIrena's Vow
John GromadaShipwrecked! An Entertainment
Robert KaplowitzWig Out!
Jane ShawThe Widowing of Mrs. Holroyd
Matt TierneyThe Sound and the Fury (April Seventh, 1928)

Special Awards:

Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence:

Ira Weitzman

Outstanding Body of Work:

The Lark Play Development Center

The Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were created in 1985 by the Off-Broadway League.  The Lortel Awards recognize excellence Off-Broadway by honoring the invaluable contribution of artists to the theatre community.
Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation in addition to theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals serve on the Voting Committee.
The awards are given in the following categories: Play, Musical, Solo Show, Revival, Alternative Theatrical Experience, Director, Choreographer, Lead Actor and Actress, Featured Actor and Actress, Scenic, Costume, Lighting and Sound Design.  The following honorary awards may also be given: Lifetime Achievement, Body of Work (awarded to an institution), the Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence and induction onto the Playwrights’ Sidewalk in front of the historic Lucille Lortel Theatre in New York City.
For more information, please see

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram