Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Broadway College Center

Learn More About BroadwayWorld Education

Brigham Young University - Provo

Department of Theatre and Media
Visit Web Site

D-581 Harris Fine Arts Center (HFAC)
Provo,UT 84602

TwitterCollege Twitter

FacebookCollege Facebook

InstagramCollege Instagram

Bachelor of Arts in Media Arts Studies

Bachelor of Arts in Theatre Arts Education

Bachelor of Arts in Theatre Art Studies

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting

Master of Art in Media and Performance Studies

The BYU Theatre program is designed to educate students in a basic foundation of dramatic literature, theatre history, theory, and performance skills as either an actor, director, designer, dramaturg, educator, historian, or playwright, along with techniques in all areas of theatre design technology and production. The BYU Media Arts program is designed to educate students in a basic foundation of film history, theory, and criticism, along with the fundamental production competencies in film, new media, or animation. Areas of emphasis include critical studies (film, media literacy, and new media), media arts fiction production (directing, editing, producing, and screenwriting), and non-fiction production (directing, producing, and editing). The TMA Graduate program is a scholarly two-year degree, and students should be in residence for the duration of the program. The coursework consists of core courses in media and performance studies supplemented by electives chosen by the student in conjunction with her/his advisor. The program wraps up with comprehensive exams and the writing of a solid scholarly thesis.

Notable Alumni Include:

Faculty Info: Thevenin, Benjamin Media Arts Critical Studies Area Head Duncan, Dean Associate Professor Jensen, Amy Associate Dean, Professor Jensen, Kimball Assistant Professor Larsen, Darl Professor Parkin, Jeff Media Arts Fiction Production Area Head, Teaching Professor Larsen, Darl Professor Loosli, Kelly Teaching Professor Russell, Tom Teaching Professor Christopherson, Scott Media Arts Nonfiction Production Area Head Barber, Brad Associate Chair, Associate Professor Hollingshaus, Wade Department Chair, Theatre Arts Studies Area Head, Associate Professor Gunn, Tony Visiting Assistant Professor Jones, Megan Sanborn Professor Nelson, George Professor Kraczek, Michael Assistant Professor Scanlon, Rory Design/Tech Area, Professor Wright, Dennis Assistant Professor Breinholt, Stephanie BFA Acting Area Head, Assistant Professor Houghton, Adam Associate Chair, Associate Professor Morgan, David Associate Professor Ashworth, Julia Theatre Education Area Head, Assistant Teaching Professor Peterson, Kris Assistant Teaching Professor Jensen, Amy Associate Dean, Professor

Related Articles