Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

SHUFFLE ALONG, SHE LOVES ME's Jane Krakowski Top 2016 Astaire Awards; All the Winners!

The 2016 Fred and Adele Astaire Awards gala was held tonight, May 16, to honor outstanding dance and choreography on Broadway, off-Broadway, and in film, at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts (566 LaGuardia Place).

Broadway's SHUFFLE ALONG and SHE LOVES ME's Jane Krakowski led the pack - scroll down for the full list of winners!

For the first time, the Fred and Adele Astaire Awards have explored recognizing excellence in dance, movement, and choreography off-Broadway. Twenty eligible shows in the non-profit and commercial off-Broadway arenas met the eligibility requirements and were considered.

2016 BROADWAY AND OFF-BROADWAY WINNERS (marked in bold***):


Mara Davi, Dames at Sea
Deanna Doyle, Tuck Everlasting
Sandra Mae Frank, Spring Awakening
Jane Krakowski, She Loves Me***
Eloise Kropp, Dames at Sea
Ana Villafane, On Your Feet
Adrienne Warren, Shuffle Along


Phillip Attmore, Shuffle Along***
Alex Brightman, School of Rock
Daveed Diggs, Hamilton
Carlos Gonzalez, On Your Feet
Curtis Holland, Shuffle Along
Kendrick Jones, Shuffle Along
Luis Salgado, On Your Feet


Andy Blankenbuehler, Hamilton***
Warren Carlyle, She Loves Me
Savion Glover, Shuffle Along***
Lorin Latarro, Waitress
Spencer Liff, Spring Awakening
Casey Nicholaw, Tuck Everlasting
Sergio Trujillo, On Your Feet***
Josh Rhodes, Bright Star
Hofesh Shechter, Fiddler on the Roof
Randy Skinner, Dames at Sea


Bright Star
Dames at Sea
Fiddler on the Roof
On Your Feet
School of Rock
She Loves Me
Shuffle Along***
Spring Awakening


Luke Broadlick, Teresa Espinosa, Alison Faulk & Channing Tatum, Magic Mike XXL
Christopher Gattelli, Hail, Caesar!
Aakomon Jones, Pitch Perfect 2
Joey Pizzi, Lucky Stiff
Fatima Robinson & Charm Jordan, Dance Camp
Dave Scott, High Strung***


Yesenia Ayala, Trip Of Love
Leslie Kritzer, The Robber Bridegroom
Rumi Oyama, Sayonara***
Jaime Lynn Verazin, Standard Time
Ellen Zolezzi, Cagney


Jeremy Benton, Cagney
Dave Thomas Brown, The Legend Of Georgia McBride
Robert Creighton, Cagney***
Cory Lingner, Once Upon A Mattress
Matt McGrath, The Legend Of Georgia McBride


Joshua Bergasse, Cagney
Martha Clarke, Angel Reapers
Connor Gallagher, The Robber Bridegroom***
Paul McGill, The Legend Of Georgia McBride***
James Ortiz, Claire Karpen & Will Gallacher, The Woodsman
Sergio Trujillo & Darrell Grand Moultrie, Invisible Thread

The inaugural Off-Broadway Committee included Andy Sandberg (Chair), Jonathan Herzog, Michael Milton, Nikki Feirt Atkins, Judith Jamison, and Lee Roy Reams.

Judith Jamison, Artistic Director Emeritus of Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, was presented with the Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award. Nigel Lythgoe, Executive Producer of "So You Think You Can Dance," received the award for Outstanding Contribution to the Field of Dance. Broadway Director, Choreographer and Tony Nominated Actor Maurice Hines, who appeared off-Broadway this season in his show Tappin' Through Life, was recognized with a special recognition award for Outstanding Body of Work in Dance. Dr. Joan Fallon, Founder and CEO of Curemark, was presented with a special achievement award for her work in the field of autism-related disorders.

Established in 1982, The Fred and Adele Astaire Awards recognize outstanding achievement in dance on Broadway each season. The award was established with the cooperation of Fred Astaire to honor him and his sister, Adele, who starred with her brother in ten Broadway musicals between 1917 and 1931. The awards remain the gold standard for excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway. Since 1982, additional awards have been added to the lineup, including an award for choreography in film, a lifetime achievement award, and a unique award determined annually for exceptional contribution to the field.

Photo Credit: Julieta Cervantes

BroadwayWorld Shop
Shop BroadwayWorld

Shop this season's new musicals! Get dressed up for a night at the theatre, or just a night at home, with merch from some of Broadway's biggest hits including SOME LIKE IT HOT, KIMBERLY AKIMBO, and more!

Start Shopping

Related Stories
66th Annual Obie Awards to Return Live and in Person This February Photo
The 66th Annual Obie Awards, celebrating and honoring Off- and Off-Off-Broadway will take place on Monday, February 27, 2023 at Terminal 5.

Outer Critics Circle Awards Announces Dates & Genderless Acting Categories Photo
The dates have been announced for the 2023 Outer Critics Circle Awards, honoring the 2022-2023 Broadway and Off-Broadway season, as well as the reconstruction of the acting categories.   

Billy Porter, Michaela Jaé Rodriguez & More to Present at the Golden Globes Photo
The Hollywood Foreign Press Association has announced the initial lineup of stars that will be presenting at the Golden Globes next week. Billy Porter, Michaela Jaé Rodriguez, Ana Gasteyer, Colman Domingo, Quentin Tarantino, Ana de Armas, Jamie Lee Curtis, and more will present. Hugh Jackman, Jeremy Pope, Imelda Staunton, are nominated.

Drama League Awards Set 2023 Date Photo
The 89th Annual Drama League Awards has set its date for 2023!Tthe historic, highly anticipated annual luncheon ceremony and its pre-event industry reception will be presented at The Ziegfeld Ballroom (141 W 54th St, NYC) on Friday, May 19, 2023 at 12:00PM.

More Hot Stories For You

Cindy Williams, Stage Actor and LAVERNE & SHIRLEY Star, Passes Away At 75Cindy Williams, Stage Actor and LAVERNE & SHIRLEY Star, Passes Away At 75
January 30, 2023

Cindy Williams, a star of stage and screen and one half of the iconic duo, 'Laverne & Shirley' has passed away at the age of 75. 

Broadway Bares to Take Place This June at NYC's Hammerstein BallroomBroadway Bares to Take Place This June at NYC's Hammerstein Ballroom
January 30, 2023

Broadway Bares will once again kick off Pride week in New York City with two performances featuring more than 150 of the city’s dancers on Sunday, June 18, 2023, at Hammerstein Ballroom. See how to purchase tickets!

Photos/Video: Lea Michele and Ramin Karimloo Talk FUNNY GIRL on SiriusXMPhotos/Video: Lea Michele and Ramin Karimloo Talk FUNNY GIRL on SiriusXM
January 30, 2023

SiriusXM kicked off a special Town Hall with Lea Michele and Ramin Karimloo, co-stars of Broadway smash-hit Funny Girl, last Thursday.  Michele and Karimloo discussed the process of recording the musical's cast album, working with Barbra Streisand, and more!

Actors' Equity Releases Statement Condemning Attacks on Transgender People and Drag PerformancesActors' Equity Releases Statement Condemning Attacks on Transgender People and Drag Performances
January 30, 2023

Actors’ Equity Association, the national labor union representing more than 51,000 professional actors and stage managers in live theatre, has issued a statement regarding the growing number of attacks on transgender people, often framed as attacks on drag performance.

Howard McGillin, Jay Armstrong Johnson, and More Join PARADE; Full Casting Announced!Howard McGillin, Jay Armstrong Johnson, and More Join PARADE; Full Casting Announced!
January 30, 2023

Complete casting has been announced as rehearsals begin today for the new Broadway production of Parade starring Tony Award® winner Ben Platt and Micaela Diamond. Learn more about who will be starring in the revival here!