SHUFFLE ALONG, JOHN and DEAR EVAN HANSEN Artists Top 2016 Hewes Theater Design Awards

By: Oct. 20, 2016
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

Four theater artists will be honored by the Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee during the presentation of its 2016 Awards in a luncheon ceremony to be held November 7, 2016.

In honor of the late Jane Hewes, who worked on the Hewes Awards for 50 years, the 2015 ceremony was postponed and will be combined with the 2016 ceremony this fall. The 2015 honorees were announced earlier this year.

The 2016 Henry Hewes Design Awards Honorees are:

Mimi Lien (John, Signature Theatre Company) - Scenic Design

Ann Roth (Shuffle Along, Broadway) - Costume Design

Mark Barton (John, Signature Theatre Company) - Lighting Design

Peter Nigrini (Dear Evan Hansen, Second Stage) - Notable Effects (Projection Design)

Three of the four have received Henry Hewes Design Awards in the past. Mark Barton will receive his first Henry Hewes Design Award. For the 2016 honors, 84 theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 63 productions presented during the 2015-2016 New York Theater season. (A complete list of 2016 nominees follows this awards announcement.)

These annual awards honor designers for work in venues on Broadway, Off Broadway and Off Off Broadway, recognizing not only the traditional categories of Scenic Design, Costume Design and Lighting Design, but also "Notable Effects," which encompass sound, music, video, puppetry and other creative elements. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions. The Hewes Awards Committee considered more than 200 productions when making its nominations.

Andrew Ondrejcak and David Zinn led all artists with three nominations each for their design work. Ten other designers received two nominations each for their work during the 2015-2016 season. The Off Broadway production of "Signature Plays," a compilation of work at Signature Theatre Company, garnered four nominations, the largest number among all productions. Seven productions received three nominations each and twelve productions received two nominations each.

The 2015 Henry Hewes Design Award Honorees, who will also receive their awards on November 7, are:

Riccardo Hernandez (The Invisible Hand, NY Theatre Workshop) - Scenic Design

Paul Tazewell (Hamilton, The Public Theater) - Costume Design

Howell Binkley (Hamilton, The Public Theater) - Lighting Design

Nevin Steinberg (Hamilton, The Public Theater) - Notable Effects (Sound Design)

The HHDA Committee named honorees in four categories: Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design and Notable Effects. As of the 2016 awards, the Committee has bestowed 298 honors on 192 artists representing 208 productions.

Originally known as the Maharam Awards at their inception in 1965, the Hewes Awards were later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards in honor of the Wing's generous sponsorship. They were renamed in 1999 for noted critic Henry Hewes, who created the awards and served as a board member of the American Theatre Wing until his death in 2006 at age 89.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; David Barbour; David Cote; Glenda Frank; HeLen Shaw; and Michael Sommers.


(2016 Honorees in bold)


Adam Rigg O, Earth

Adam Rigg Revolt. She Said. Revolt Again.

Andreea Mincic LongYarn

Andrew Ondrejcak You Us We All

Arnulfo Maldonado Judy

Caroline Mraz I'll Never Love Again

Christopher and Justin Swader The Offending Gesture

Christopher Oram Hughie

David Korins Misery

David Rockwell She Loves Me

David Zinn 10 Out of 12

David Zinn The Humans

Derek McLane Mercury Fur

Donyale Werle Allegiance

Donyale Werle The Robber Bridegroom

G.W. Mercier Head of Passes

Jan Versweyveld The Crucible

Jason Sherwood Sojourners

Jennifer Sims Discotropic

Michael Schmelling Really

Mimi Lien John

Mimi Lien "Signature Plays"

Nick Vaughan The Royale

Riccardo Hernandez Red Speedo

Santo Loquasto Shuffle Along

Steven Kemp The New Morality

Timothy R. Mackabee Guards at the Taj

Todd Rosenthal Nice Fish


Anaïs Koivisto The Roaring Girl

Andreea Mincic LongYarn

Andrew Ondrejcak You Us We All

Andrew Ondrejcak with Alba Clemente Elijah Green

Angela Huff Sense and Sensibility

Anita Yavich Nathan the Wise

Anita Yavich The Legend of Georgia McBride

Ann Roth Shuffle Along

Beth Goldenberg The Changeling

Bobby Frederick Tilley II Guards at the Taj

Clint Ramos Eclipsed

Constance Hoffman Pericles

David C. Woolard Dames at Sea

Emily Blumenauer The Offending Gesture

Emily Rebholz The Robber Bridgroom

Jacob A. Climer and David Zinn Fondly, Collette Richland

Jeff Mahshie She Loves Me

Jennifer Caprio Perfect Arrangement

Kaye Voyce "Signature Plays"

Martha Bromelmeier Cagney

Martha Hally Women Without Men

Susan Hilferty Familiar

Toni-Leslie James Amazing Grace


Barbara Samuels O, Earth

Ben Stanton Marjorie Prime

Ben Stanton Spring Awakening

Bradley King Empanada Loca

Christopher Akerlind Angel Reapers

Christopher Kuhl Empathy School and Love Story

David Weiner Guards at the Taj

Donald Holder She Loves Me

Jake DeGroot Sea Wife

Japhy Weideman Nice Fish

Jason Lyons Dry Powder

Jeff Croiter Mercury Fur

Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer Shuffle Along

Justin Townsend 10 Out of 12

Justin Townsend The Humans

Kenneth Posner On Your Feet!

Mark Barton John

Mark Barton "Signature Plays"

Mary Eleanor Stebbins LongYarn

Michael Schmelling Really

Neil Austin Hughie

Yi Zhao Revolt. She Said. Revolt Again.


Alex Basco Koch (Projection Design) The Wildness: Sky-Pony's Rock

Fairy Tale

Andrew Lazarow (Projection Design) Once Upon a Mattress

and Ken Fallin (Live Drawings)

Brad Peterson (Projection Design) The Eternal Space

Brandon Wolcott (Sound Design) "Signature Plays"

Bray Poor (Sound Design) John

Darrel Maloney (Projection Design) Tappin' Through Life

Fitz Patton (Sound Design) The Humans

Janet Wong (Projection Design) Empathy School and Love Story

Nevin Steinberg (Sound Design) Bright Star

Nicholas Hussong (Projection Design) These Paper Bullets!

Palmer Hefferan (Sound Design) Revolt. She Said. Revolt Again.

Peter Nigrini (Projection Design) Dear Evan Hansen

Ralph Lemon (Production Design) Scaffold Room

Riccardo Hernandez (Pool Design) Red Speedo

Samuel Crawford Angel Reapers

and Arthur Solari (Sound Design)

Tal Yarden (Video Design) Lazarus

Theodora Skipitares Six Characters (A Family Album)

(Mask and Puppet Design)

Tom Lee Shank's Mare

and Koryu Nishikawa V (Puppet Design)

Zachary G. Borovay (Projection Design) Smart People

Photo Credit: Julieta Cervantes