Sebastian Arcelus, Stephanie D'Abruzzo, Karen Mason & More Join Town Hall's Broadway By Year Season Opener, 2/24

Tony Award-nominee Stephanie D'Abruzzo (Avenue Q), Drama Desk-nominees Chip Zien (Into the Woods, Falsettos) & Karen Mason (Sunset Boulevard, Mamma Mia!), Sebastian Arcelus (Elf, A Time to Kill), Nightlife Award-Winner Mark Nadler, Jillian Louis, Danny Gardner and the Broadway by the Year Chorus have been added to Town Hall's 14th season opener of its Broadway by the Year Series on Monday, February 24 at 8pm, THE BROADWAY MUSICALS OF 1915-1939. They join previously announced Tony Award-winners Tonya Pinkins and Beth Leavel, Tony Award-nominees Carolee Carmello, Stephanie J. Block, Karen Akers and Emily Skinner, Drama Desk Award-nominee Julia Murney, Grammy Award-winners Lari White and John Easterlin, Noah Racey (Curtains), Camille Saviola (Nine), concert and recording artist Howard Fishman and Nightlife Award-winner Carole J. Bufford. Individual tickets ($57 and $47) are on sale at or by phone at 800-982-2787; series subscriptions ($180-$220) are available at

Taking audiences from 1915 to 2014, this year the critically acclaimed Broadway by the Year Series enters its 14th season with a new twist. Instead of four years in four shows, the 2014 season will bring 100 years of Broadway history in four incredible evenings, showcasing 100 Show Tunes from 100 Shows performed by 100 Broadway Stars. Each show will cover a quarter of a century of Broadway songs from shows including A Chorus Line, Annie Get Your Gun, Babes in Arms, Brigadoon, Cabaret, Candide, Dreamgirls, Follies, Funny Girl, Girl Crazy, Gypsy, Guys & Dolls, Into the Woods, La Cage Aux Folles, Lady Be Good, Kiss Me Kate and more!

Created/written/hosted by Scott Siegel, each evening will feature 25 stars singing and dancing through the history of the Great White Way; the second show of the series will be on March 31, 2014 at 8pm (THE BROADWAY MUSICALS OF 1940-1964); the third show will be on May 12, 2014 at 8pm (THE BROADWAY MUSICALS OF 1965-1989); the fourth and final show of the series will be on June 23, 2014 at 8pm (THE BROADWAY MUSICALS OF 1990-2014).

Additional performers for the other three shows will be announced at a later date.

Tickets are $57 and $47 and can be purchased online at or by phone at 800-982-2787; subscriptions for the entire series are also currently on sale for $180-$220 and can be purchased online at (or email for more information).

The Town Hall is among New York City's most historic venues. Built in 1921 by a group of suffragettes, The Town Hall began as a lecture hall and public debate forum and grew to be a national landmark institution for arts, culture and education. Over the decades, Eleanor Roosevelt, Margaret Sanger, Billie Holiday, Igor Stravinsky, Marian Anderson, Bob Dylan and Miles Davis have graced the stage. It was home to the legendary radio program, America's Town Meeting of the Air, dozens of historic albums and recordings, and American debuts of musical legends. Today, the Hall boasts the very best in music performances, spoken word, comedy and dance, including speaking engagements with presidents and senators, live broadcasts of Garrison Keillor's Prairie Home Companion, and a number of new and critically acclaimed music series.

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts