Janine Nabers Headshot

Janine Nabers

Get Janine Nabers Email Alerts

Be the first to get news, photos, videos & more.

Janine Nabers BIO

Janine Nabers is the 2013-2014 Aetna New Voices fellow at Hartford Stage. Her plays include Annie Bosh is Missing, Welcome to Jesus, Serial Black Face, A Swell in the Ground, Juniper: Jubilee and the book to the Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes musical Mrs. Hughes with composer and lyricist Sharon Kenny. Recent awards include the 2013 NYFA playwriting Fellowship, the 2012 New York Theatre Workshop fellowship and the 2011 Page 73 Playwriting Fellowship. Janine recently graduated from the playwriting program at The Juilliard School.
She is published by Nick Hern Books, Samuel French, Inc. and PlayScripts, Inc

Janine Nabers Videos

Janine Nabers News

New York Stage and Film Reveals Participants For the 2023 Filmmakers' Workshop

New York Stage and Film has announced the early-career film and TV writers who have been selected to participate in the 2023 Filmmakers’ Workshop. The participants are Nancy Duff; Harrison Hamm; Drew Harper; Atticus Hoffman; Summera Howell; Anndi Jinelle Liggett; Allyson Morgan; Craig T. Williams; and G. Wilson. 

Playwrights' Center & Venturous Theater Fund Reveal 2023�"25 Venturous Playwright Fellowships

Playwrights' Center and Venturous Theater Fund have revealed the 2023-25 Venturous Playwright Fellows: Harmon dot aut, with their play Tornado Tastes Like Aluminum Sting (in partnership with Spectrum Theatre Ensemble and the Contemporary American Theater.

New York Theatre Workshop Reveals 2050 Fellows, New Company-in-Residence and Artistic Department Expansion

New York Theatre Workshop has announced the artists selected for the 2023/24 Season 2050 Artistic Fellowship.

Actor's Express Presents PRAYER FOR THE FRENCH REPUBLIC By Joshua Harmon

Actor's Express continues its 35th anniversary season with Prayer for the French Republic by multi-award winning playwright Joshua Harmon (Bad Jews/Skintight). 

Rivendell Welcomes New Ensemble Members

Rivendell Theatre Ensemble (RTE), Chicago’s only Equity theatre dedicated to producing new work with women at the core, welcomes eight new ensemble members.

P73 Names Majkin Holmquist 2023 Playwriting Fellow; Interstate 73 Playwrights Announced

Page 73, the acclaimed organization that develops and produces the work of early-career playwrights who have yet to receive a professional production in New York City, has named its 2023 Playwriting Fellow and announced its 2023 Interstate 73 Writing Group. Majkin Holmquist is the 20th playwright honored with the Playwriting Fellowship, the organization's most prestigious award.

Actor's Express Opens 35th Anniversary Season With Acclaimed Satire Musical URINETOWN

Actor’s Express opens its 35th anniversary season with the critically acclaimed satire musical Urinetown, a co-production with Oglethorpe University Theatre. In the not-so-distant future, a twenty-year drought has depleted the land of water.

Sarah Slight Named Raven Theatre's Interim Artistic Director

The Board of Directors of Raven Theatre has announced that Sarah Slight will serve as the theater’s Interim Artistic Director beginning December 1, 2022, as the theater conducts a search to replace Cody Estle, who is departing to serve as the Artistic Director of Next Act Theatre in Milwaukee.  

Page 73 Announces Playwriting Fellowship Semifinalists

Page 73 has announced 13 semifinalists for the 2023 Page 73 Playwriting Fellowship. The selected playwright will be Page 73’s 20th Fellow, honored during the organization’s 25th anniversary year.

Actor's Express to Continue 34th Season With DESIRE UNDER THE ELMS in August

Actor’s Express will continue its 34th season with a production of Desire Under the Elms, a landmark American play by Eugene O’Neill, American playwright and Nobel laureate in literature. Performances run August 6-28, 2022.

New York Theatre Workshop Announces 2022/23 2050 Artistic Fellows

New York Theatre Workshop has announced the playwrights and directors selected for the 2022/23 Season 2050 Artistic Fellowship. The 2022/23 Artistic Fellows are Miranda Cornell, Thaddeus McCants, Aileen Wen McGroddy, Attilio Rigotti, Andrew Rodriguez and Minghao Tu.

Jeremy O. Harris Announced as Next Presiding Playwright for 2023 Yale Drama Series Prize

The 2023 Yale Drama Series Prize has chosen Jeremy O. Harris, the Yale alum and Tony-nominated author of Slave Play, as the presiding playwright for its landmark 15th anniversary year. As his first order of business, Harris is assembling an international group of readers to help evaluate submissions as part of a larger effort to infuse the process with a more global point-of-view.

Page 73 Announces Marvin González De León as 2022 Playwriting Fellow

Page 73 has announced Marvin González De León as 2022 Playwriting Fellow, selected from a group of 10 semifinalists and three finalists for the 2022 Fellowship—narrowed from a pool of over 300 applicants.

Page 73 Announces Semifinalists for Playwriting Fellowship

Page 73 has announced 10 semifinalists for the 2022 Page 73 Playwriting Fellowship. From a pool of over 300 applicants, Page 73 has selected Melis Aker, Syreeta Briggs, Vichet Chum, Kate Douglas, Ryan Drake, Marvin González De León, Majkin Holmquist, Deepa Purohit, Gab Reisman, and Haygen-Brice Walker.


F*It Club, the New York Innovative Award-winning film and theatre company, will complete ten years of its annual series of short, commissioned world-premiere plays at the IRT Theater as part of their 3B Development Series in Manhattan's West Village with The Spring Fling: Happily Ever After.

Rachel Lynett's APOLOGIES TO LORRAINE HANSBERRY (YOU TOO AUGUST WILSON) Wins 14th Annual Yale Drama Series Prize

This year the Yale Drama Series Prize once again saw a robust and talented group of applicants dedicated to writing for the theater, receiving over 2050 submissions from 60 countries.

BWW Interview: Playwright Matthew Paul Olmos UNDERNEATH & All Around LOS ANGELES

The Echo Theater Company's next production UNDERNEATH THE FREEWAYS OF LOS ANGELES will live-stream April 2 for sixteen Zoom performances. Written by playwright Matthew Paul Olmos, this interactive murder mystery experience has been inspired by historical events centering in and around the Los Angeles neighborhood of Boyle Heights. Michael Alvarez directs the cast of Mia Ando, Morgan Danielle Day, Amy K. Harmon, Gloria Ines, Roland Ruiz and Darrett Sanders.

Page 73 Announces Bleu Beckford-Burrell as 2021 Page 73 Playwriting Fellow

Page 73 has named Bleu Beckford-Burrell the 2021 Page 73 Playwriting Fellow. An Interstate 73 writers group member who was first invited to work with Page 73 in their 2017 Summer Residency, Beckford-Burrell is also one of the playwrights granted 11-day virtual residencies this season.

Cristin Milioti, Dylan Baker, Christopher Abbott and More Set for Sixth Edition of THE HOMEBOUND PROJECT

Following its debut on May 6, 2020, The Homebound Project has announced the lineup for a surprise sixth edition airing January 13–17, 2021. Co-creators Catya McMullen and Jenna Worsham, along with their all-volunteer team, have also announced that this online theater initiative brought together 137 artists, and premiered 56 new theater works.

Page 73 Announces Finalists for 2021 Playwriting Fellowship, Awards Each a $1,000 Honorarium

Page 73 has announced Bleu Beckford-Burrell, Marvin González De León, Jessica Huang, April Ranger, and Haygen-Brice Walker as finalists for the Page 73 Playwriting Fellowship. Page 73 is, for the first time in the award’s history, providing an honorarium of $1,000 for all finalists.

Get Janine Nabers Email Alerts

Be the first to get news, photos, videos & more.



Recommended For You