Schedules Announced for Broadway Show Softball League, Kicks Off May 13

The Broadway Show Softball League is set to kick off its 56th season on May 13th with its annual opening ceremonies in Central Park. 

Games will be held every Thursday at 11:30, 1:30 and 3:30 and are open to the general public. Games are played at the Heckscher Ballfields and the Great Lawn in Central Park. All team schedules can be viewed online by clicking here.

According to the league's official website, "The League is comprised of people who work on Broadway and Off-Broadway shows: celebrities currently "on the boards," and members of the casts, crews, and orchestras, as well as union teams and theatrical organizations. Having established itself as co-ed, the League requires two women to bat and play the field at all times for every team. The regular season schedule usually consists of nine or ten games, followed by playoffs to determine the champions in various categories, plus special games for charity, All Stars, and Old-Timers."

The League's official website also states that "ActorsFCU is the sole sponsor of the Broadway Show League. Continuing the Broadway Community's tradition of "giving back" to its own, ActorsFCU makes a generous donation on behalf of the Broadway Show League to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights Aids. Along with team registration fees, the Credit Union covers the expenses of the League including: pre- and post-season parties, Broadway Night with the Mets, and end-of-season awards."

For complete information on schedules, teams and contact information, visit the League's official website


Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram