Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Photo Coverage: DruidSynge Party for Druid Theatre Company


In celebration of the John Millington Synge festival DruidSynge, a party was thrown at the Irish Consulate for the Druid Theatre Company. In attendance was Tim O'Connor, the Consul General of Ireland, as well as Angela's Ashes author Frank McCourt.

Through July 23rd, Tony Award-winner Garry Hynes (The Beauty Queen of Leenane) directs DruidSynge which is comprised of six Synge's plays--Riders to the Sea, The Playboy of the Western World, Deirdre of the Sorrows, The Shadow of the Glen, The Well of the Saints and The Tinker's Wedding. DruidSynge, which began on July 10th, runs through July 23rd as part of Lincoln Center Festival.

Hynes is the Artistic Director of Druid Theatre Company. "Founded in 1975, Druid was the first professional theatre company in Ireland outside Dublin and is universally recognized as one of the pioneers of the modern cultural development of Ireland in the last three decades. From its Galway home, it has been to the fore in the development of Irish theatre, performing in its home in Chapel Lane, elsewhere in Galway, Ireland and beyond."

For tickets and information, visit For more on DruidSynge, visit

Eoin Lynch, Richard Flood, and Tom Joyce

Charlie McCarthy, Dr. Gerald W. Lynch, and Seamus O'Grady

John Hughes and Eamon Morrissey

Sean Cooney, Bil Burke, Noelle Clancy, Malachy McCourt, and Sean McGinley

Peg Power and Malachy McCourt

Dr. Alfred Hellreich and Marcus Lamb

Leighann Kowalsky, Louise Gorman, Simon Donohoe, Tina O'Donnell, Ciara Pierce Keogh, and Christy Kowalski

Ellen McCourt, Frank McCourt, Liza O'Connor, and Seamus O'Grady

Frank McCourt and Seamus O'Grady

Joseph Kelly, Orlagh Cassidy, Marty Maguire, Ciaran O'Reilly, and Sean McGinley

Alma Hynes, Carmel Hynes, Tim O'Connor (Consul General of Ireland), and Aedhmar Hynes

Dorris Marie Meyer, Maura Donnelly, and Simon Pereira Shorey

Doireann McDermott, Michael McDermott, and Thomas McDermott

Elaine Ni Bhraonain, James Houlihan, Tom Joyce, Seamus Murphy-Mitchell, and Bri Murphy-Mitchell

Matthew McBride, Andrew Pike, Robert Shortt, and Geraldine Hughes

Garry Hynes

Carmel Hynes and Garry Hynes

Tim O'Connor

Garry Hynes

Garry Hynes

Seamus O'Grady

Seamus O'Grady and Tim O'Connor

Tim O'Connor, Garry Hynes and Seamus O'Grady

Steven Collins, John Cronogue, Mark Montague, and David M.J. Nolan

Fionn Mullally, Doireann McDermott, Veronica Mullally, Thomas McDermott, and Michael McDermott

Fiachra O'Suilleabhan, Saidbh Byrne, John McGrain, and Uilick McGhee

Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

From This Author Ben Strothmann

Ben Strothmann has been a portrait and theatrical photographer since 1995. Since building his first darkroom in his hometown of Milwaukee WI, his portrait studio (read more...)