NAMT Announces Directors & Music Directors For October Festival!

Article Pixel

The National Alliance for Musical Theatre (NAMT) has announced the directors and music directors for this year's Festival, happening October 25 & 26 at New World Stages in Midtown Manhattan!

An impressive group of celebrated directors take the helm of this year's group of new musicals: Gary Griffin directing 17 Again with music direction by Ben Cohn; Stephen Brackett directing A.D. 16 with music direction by Julie McBride; Warren Adams directing Gun & Powder with music direction by Steven Jamail; Jenn Thompson directing Monstersongs with music direction by Emily Marshall; Schele Williams directing The River Is Me; Anne Kauffman directing Row with music direction by Wiley Deweese; Charlotte Westenra directing The Wicker Husband with music direction by Eli Zoller; and Hunter Bird directing XY. To read about this year's creative teams, check out's coverage of our Festival.

NAMT is also thrilled to announce the inaugural class of observers for the Festival Observership for Early-Career Directors. The program is dedicated to providing professional development and networking opportunities to early-career directors, while simultaneously expanding diversity in the musical theatre pipeline by providing these opportunities for underrepresented communities. This year's observers are Lindsy Bissonnette, Carlton Byrd, Leo Yu-Ning Chang, Amanda Connors, Carsen Joenk, Rhonda Kohl, Nicky Maggio and Tai Thompson.

Casting will be announced in the coming weeks but don't wait until then...register today!

This year's Festival shows are...
17 AGAIN book by Marco Pennette, music & lyrics by Alan Zachary & Michael Weiner (NAMT Fest '01, The Mystery of the Dancing Princesses; Weiner: NAMT Fest '00, Liberty Smith)
A.D. 16 book by Bekah Brunstetter, music & lyrics by Cinco Paul
GUN & POWDER book & lyrics by Angelica Chéri, music by Ross Baum
MONSTERSONGS book, music & lyrics by Rob Rokicki
ROW book by Daniel Goldstein, music & lyrics by Dawn Landes
THE RIVER IS ME book & lyrics by Sukari Jones, music by Troy Anthony
THE WICKER HUSBAND book by Rhys Jennings, music & lyrics by Darren Clark
XY book, music & lyrics by Oliver Houser, developed with Hunter Bird

Click on any of the shows or the image above to learn more about this year's Festival, our shows, our writers and to register!

The Festival is free for industry members, on a space availability basis, with options to contribute to NAMT to receive additional benefits including schedule selection, guaranteed seating, priority queuing, invitation to the closing party and more...
Or join NAMT to receive VIP access to the Festival, plus many more year-round benefits!

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

BREAKING: Matt Doyle, Jennifer Simard, Christopher Sieber, and More Join COMPANY; Cast Announced!
Full casting has been announced for the upcoming Broadway production of Company! Joining the previously announced Katrina Lenk as Bobbie and Patti LuP... (read more)

Zachary Noah Piser to Join Cast of DEAR EVAN HANSEN as Evan Alternate; Plus New Cast Begins Tomorrow
Zachary Noah Piser will join the Broadway company of Dear Evan Hansen on November 26, 2019 as the 'Evan alternate', playing his first performance as E... (read more)

Sophia Anne Caruso, Eddie Perfect, Kelvin Moon Loh, and more of the Broadway smash hit BEETLEJUICE performed for a sold-out crowd of fans of the stran... (read more)

Breaking: THE WHO'S TOMMY Will Come Back to Broadway in 2021
It was announced today that producers Hal Luftig and Patrick Catullo will bring a new production of the classic rock opera The Who's Tommy back to Bro... (read more)

Photo Flash: In Rehearsal with the Tour Cast of BANDSTAND
Get a peek inside rehearsals for the Tony Award-winning musical Bandstand before the company heads out for the national tour.... (read more)

Photo Flash: First Look at Raul Esparza, Krysta Rodriguez & More in MCC's SEARED
Currently in previews at MCC Theater is the New York premiere of Seared by Pulitzer Prize finalist and two-time Emmy Award nominee Theresa Rebeck (Ber... (read more)