Jungle Theater Extends DRIVING MISS DAISY Through 12/29

Jungle Theater Extends DRIVING MISS DAISY Through 12/29

The Jungle Theater announces that it has added six performances of DRIVING MISS DAISY, extending the run of the popular production through December 29, 2013. Directed by Artistic Director Bain Boehlke, and starring Ivey Award-winning Wendy Lehr as Atlanta matriarch Daisy Werthan, and James Craven as her compassionate chauffeur, the production has received extensive praise from both audiences and critics alike.

Driving Miss Daisy performances are at the Jungle Theater, 2951 Lyndale Av. S. in Minneapolis. Ticket prices are Tuesdays ($20), Wednesdays ($28) and Thursdays ($33) at 7:30 p.m.; Fridays and Saturdays at 8 p.m. ($38); Sundays at 2 p.m. ($33); and Sundays at 7:30 p.m. ($28). Senior, student and group discounts are also available, and rush tickets are available every night of the week 30 minutes prior to the performance for $10 off the regular price. Tickets are available at (612) 822-7063 or online at www.jungletheater.com

Remaining Performances
Wednesday, December 4 @ 7:30pm
Thursday, December 5 @ 7:30 pm
Friday, December 6 @ 8 pm
Saturday, December 7 @ 8 pm
Sunday, December 8 @ 2 pm & 7:30pm
Tuesday, December 10 @ 7:30pm
Wednesday, December 11 @ 7:30pm
Thursday, December 12 @ 7:30 pm
Friday, December 13 @ 8 pm
Saturday, December 14 @ 8 pm
Sunday, December 15 @ 2 pm & 7:30pm
Tuesday, December 17 @ 7:30pm
Wednesday, December 18 @ 7:30pm
Thursday, December 19 @ 7:30 pm
Friday, December 20 @ 8 pm
Saturday, December 21 @ 8 pm
Sunday, December 22 @ 2 pm & 7:30pm
Six performances added
Thursday, December 26 @ 7:30 pm
Friday, December 27 @ 8 pm
Saturday, December 28 @ 2 pm & 8pm
Sunday matinee, December 29 @ 2 pm & 7:30pm

Alfred Uhry's Pulitzer Prize-winning play is a searing, funny and ultimately hopeful meditation on race relations in America. Daisy Werthen (Wendy Lehr), an independent, aging Jewish widow reluctantly surrenders the driver's seat of her car to Hoke Colburn (James Craven), a proud, soft-spoKen Black man. In this family drama, set in Atlanta from 1948 - 1973, what begins as a troubled and hostile pairing soon blossoms into a profound, life-altering friendship that transcends all the societal boundaries placed between them.

Photo by Drew Trampe




Comment & Share




About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
 
🔀MINNEAPOLIS SHOWS
Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat in MinneapolisJoseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
(Runs 4/11 - 4/26)
Oklahoma! in MinneapolisOklahoma!
(Runs 4/24 - 4/26)
In the Heights in MinneapolisIn the Heights
(Runs 4/24 - 4/26)
The Sound of Music in MinneapolisThe Sound of Music
(Runs 5/2 - 5/2)
Once Upon a Mattress in MinneapolisOnce Upon a Mattress
(Runs 4/24 - 5/3)
Two by Two in MinneapolisTwo by Two
(Runs 4/25 - 5/3)
CARRIE the musical in MinneapolisCARRIE the musical
(Runs 4/30 - 5/3)

More Shows | Add a Show

Message Board

BWW BLOGS