Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
The No Ones Share 'Phil Ochs Is Dead'

The No Ones Share 'Phil Ochs Is Dead'

“Phil Ochs Is Dead,” the latest track from their new album, My Best Evil Friend, out March 31.

The No Ones-Peter Buck, Arne Kjelsrud Mathisen, Scott McCaughey, and Frode Strømstad-share "Phil Ochs Is Dead," the latest track from their new album, My Best Evil Friend, out March 31 on Yep Roc Records. Available in all formats, the First Edition double-LP features six exclusive tracks.

Of "Phil Ochs is Dead," Scott McCaughey says, "Well, yes, I guess, but never too far gone...he lives on. Peter dove into his folk-rock closet, resplendent with a pea coat and fisherman cap. I've always wanted to pay tribute to Phil -- his heart, his music, his wicked mind, his fed-uppedness, everything. It brought out the chamber-pop side of us too. Debbi sang beautifully with the rest of us. If only the story had a better ending!"

Their first full-length collection since 2020, My Best Evil Friend pays tribute to the artists that inspire them and populate their turntables; My Best Evil Friend channels Nick Lowe, Pamela Polland, Marvin Gaye, Jenny Lewis, Jesse Ed Davis, ? & The Mysterians, Plastic Ono Band, and Phil Ochs, among others.

With a lineup that stretches from Norway through Athens, Georgia, to the Northwest corner of the U.S., The No Ones are comprised of Scott McCaughey (lead and backing vocals, bass, keyboards, guitars), Peter Buck (12-string, guitars, electric sitar, bass), Arne Kjelsrud Mathisen (drums, percussion, keyboards, backing vocals), and Frode Strømstad (lead and backing vocals, guitars).

For the album, the group enlisted backing vocals contributions from friends Debbi Peterson (The Bangles), Ben Gibbard (Death Cab For Cutie), Norman Blake (Teenage Fanclub), and Victor Krummenacher (Camper Van Beethoven) on bass, and strings from Marin Stallemo Bakke.

My Best Evil Friend was recorded by Bård Ingebrigtsen at Amper Tone Studios in Oslo, Norway, Scott McCaughey at Dungeon of Horror in Portland, OR, Arne Kjelsrud Mathisen at Nygrenda Kev & Dur in Grimstad, Norway, and Erik Bekkeheien in Egersund, Norway.

Previously released singles include "Song For George," a reflective, mid-tempo tune that pays homage to George Harrison and features Ben Gibbard (backing vocals) and Peter Buck on electric sitar, and "All the Stupid Days," which sees the band rueing the days of bad decisions in music and life through clever and descriptive lyricism, topped with psychedelic flourishes.

Listen to the new single here:

Samara Joy, Take 6 And Jose James Added To CHRIS BOTTI AT SEA Photo
Newly minted GRAMMY winner Samara Joy, gospel and jazz icons Take 6 and the exciting, genre-bending vocalist Jose James have just been added to the lineup of Chris Botti at Sea, a luxury cruise personally curated by Botti himself.

Video: Tribe Friday Release Pop Video For Swimsuit Photo
The 80’s styled iridescent track mastered by Stephen Marcussen (The Rolling Stones, Nirvana, Cher) touches upon bouts of survivor's guilt and self reflection. Bolstered by a driving beat, the music video sets the stage for an explosive chorus that channels pent-up frustrations stemming from loss, built up anxieties and regret.

Spirit Award Releases New Single Western Violence Photo
The new album, The Fear, co-produced/mixed by Trevor Spencer (Beach House, Father John Misty) is an exploration of the supernatural, love, dreaming/waking, and most of all facing the things that scare you or you think you can’t do, all encompassed in a warping and changing landscape. Listen to the new single now!

Dolly Parton & Snoop Dogg to Feature on Bebe Rexhas New Album Photo
Bebe Rexha has revealed the tracklist for her new album, 'BEBE,' featuring Dolly Parton and Snoop Dogg. The album also features David Guetta on Rexha's hit single 'I'm Good (Blue).' The news follows the recent arrival of the artist's '70s-infused single 'Heart Wants What It Wants' and ahead of the release of 'Call On Me.' Plus, tour dates!

From This Author - Michael Major

Nashville Duo Jaye Madison Release Debut EP TomorrowNashville Duo Jaye Madison Release Debut EP Tomorrow
March 30, 2023

Recorded at Revolver Recordings in Los Angeles with Grammy-Award winning producer and mixer Mikal Blue (OneRepublic, Colbie Caillat, Jason Mraz), Co-producer Dean Dinning and Josh Daubin of Toad the Wet Sprocket, Michael Ward (Guitar) of The Wallflowers, and songwriter Dalton Cyr (Piano and Guitar), and more.

Bravo Launches New SUMMER HOUSE Spin-Off in Martha's VineyardBravo Launches New SUMMER HOUSE Spin-Off in Martha's Vineyard
March 30, 2023

Bravo heads north to an exclusive enclave with “Summer House: Martha’s Vineyard,” featuring Nicholas “Nick” Arrington, Jasmine Ellis Cooper, Silas Cooper, Jordan Emanuel, Bria Fleming, Shanice Henderson, Amir Lancaster, Jason Lyke, Preston Mitchum, Summer Marie Thomas, and Alex Tyree. Watch the video trailer now!

Video: Watch Martin Short Sing a CHICAGO Parody in New SCHMIGADOON! ClipVideo: Watch Martin Short Sing a CHICAGO Parody in New SCHMIGADOON! Clip
March 30, 2023

Watch the new preview video from the season premiere of Schmigadoon, in which Martin Short returns as a mysterious Leprechaun to pass on a message to Josh (Keegan-Michael Key) and Melissa (Cecily Strong). The message comes in the form of a song, which bares a striking resemblance to 'All That Jazz' from Chicago. 

My Morning Jacket to Officially Release Bonnaroo 2004 'Return to Thunderdome' SetMy Morning Jacket to Officially Release Bonnaroo 2004 'Return to Thunderdome' Set
March 30, 2023

Recorded on the Which Stage at Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival in Manchester, TN on June 12, 2004, the 12-song collection will be available at all DSPs and as 2xLP 140g Coke bottle clear vinyl (with gatefold jacket and digital download card).

Roadside Attractions Acquires Bill Pohlad's Music-Inspired Drama DREAMIN' WILD starring Casey Affleck, Noah Jupe and Zooey DeschanelRoadside Attractions Acquires Bill Pohlad's Music-Inspired Drama DREAMIN' WILD starring Casey Affleck, Noah Jupe and Zooey Deschanel
March 30, 2023

Featuring original music by Donnie Emerson, the film stars Academy Award® Winner Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea, Gone Baby Gone) Noah Jupe (A Quiet Place II, Honey Boy), Emmy®-nominated Zooey Deschanel (New Girl, 500 Days of Summer), Emmy®-nominated Walton Goggins (Justified, The Hateful Eight), and more.