Screaming Headless Torsos to Release CODE RED, 9/26; Travel to Europe This Fall

Screaming Headless Torsos to Release CODE RED, 9/26; Travel to Europe This Fall

On September 26, genre-bending Screaming Headless Torsos will release "Code Red", their first record in almost a decade. To support the worldwide release, they will hit the road in October for the European leg of their "Code Red Tour".

The first full-length release with lead vocalist Freedom Bremner showcases their signature "gumbo" of rock, pop, R&B, jazz and electro-soul. The self-released record boasts an impressive roster of special guests including fourteen-time GRAMMY-Award winning rock producer Ron Saint Germain; Maroon 5 guitarist James Valentine; legendary keyboardist and founding member of Parliament Funkadelic, Bernie Worrell; and Casey Benjamin from Robert Glasper Experiment.

"Code Red", the title track and collaboration with Saint Germain, rocks at break-neck speed and tells the story of the horrors of post-traumatic stress -- of a soldier who can't escape the nightmares in his head. James Valentine, known for his hooky guitar grooves, steps out on the electro-soul jam "Brooce Swayne" with a shredding Munsters-Meets-Maggot-Brain solo. "Wizard of Woo", the tribute to legendary keyboardist Bernie Worrell, is a madcap, tempo-shifting rollercoaster ride that features Bernie and unites the Torsos with the Mothership as only he can.

Listen to the track "Brooce Swayne" from "Code Red" below!

And go behind the scenes for a glimpse of the making of the record in the video!

Over the past nineteen years, Screaming Headless Torsos, lead by juggernaut guitar virtuoso, professor and Guggenheim fellow, David Fiuczynski, has been quietly expanding their reach as the cultish wild child of rock, jazz and soul. In addition to Fiuczynski and Bremner, the group includes percussionist Daniel Sadownick and bassist David Ginyard. In an unorthodox move, the Torsos, described by "Billboard Magazine" as having "cutting edge sounds that define today's music landscape," decided on a two-drummer rotation on Code Red, employing world renowned drummers, Gene Lake & Skoota Warner.

After the critically acclaimed release of their self-titled debut album in 1995, the band who "Musician Magazine" named as one of the "Top 10 Bands to Watch", has continued to be embraced by fans in the jazz and alternative rock communities. "It's pretty wild, when we're playing some of these big festivals, to see new fans who were children when our first record came out," said Fiuczysnki. It is SHT's message and groove and that keeps bringing fans into the fold from around the world.

Since then, Screaming Headless Torsos released the album "Torsos 2005" and has continued to tour all around the world, including large festivals in Latin America, Mexico and Europe. Vocalist Bremner remarked "After two years of being locked in writing sessions and studios, we can't wait to unleash this music on the world. Live."


1. Code Red
2. Brooce Swayne (featuring James Valentine)
3. Wizard of Woo (featuring Bernie Worrell)
4. Field of Light
5. With You
6. Fried Tongue
7. Sideways (featuring Casey Benjamin)
8. Running Black Water
9. Almond Pear in Love
10. Dead Christmas Trees
11. My Reasons for Silence

Screaming Headless Torsos to Release CODE RED, 9/26; Travel to Europe This Fall