2019 Chita Rivera Awards Winners - Full List!

By: May. 19, 2019
2019 Chita Rivera Awards Winners - Full List!
Cast of Kiss Me, Kate- who will
perform at tonight's ceremony

The 2019 Chita Rivera Awards will be presented tonight, May 19, 2019 at 7:30pm at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts (566 LaGuardia Place off Washington Square Park), and produced by Joe Lanteri, Founder and Executive Director of the New York City Dance Alliance Foundation, Inc. in conjunction with Patricia Watt.

The mission of the Chita Rivera Awards is to celebrate dance and choreographic excellence, preserve notable dance history, recognize past, present and future talents, while promoting high standards in dance education and investing in the next generation.

At this year's Chita Rivera Awards, dancer, choreographer and theater director Graciela Daniele will receive the third annual Lifetime Achievement Award, and Flody Suarez, Jeffrey Seller, and Cher (producers of The Cher Show on Broadway) will be honored with the Ambassador for the Arts Award honoring their contribution to the convergence of theater, film, and television. George C. Wolfe will be presented with the SDC Director Award for exemplary collaboration with choreographers on Broadway.

BroadwayWorld will be bringing you the full list of winners live. be sure to check back throughout the night for updates!

NOTE: Winners will be marked: **Winner**

2019 Chita Rivera AWARDS


Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show:

Warren Carlyle, Kiss Me Kate
Denis Jones, Tootsie
David Neumann, Hadestown **Winner**
Casey Nicholaw, The Prom
Sergio Trujillo, Ain't Too Proud - The Life and Times of The Temptations

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show:

Corbin Bleu, Kiss Me Kate
Rick Faugno, Kiss Me Kate
James T. Lane, Kiss Me Kate
Jeremy Pope, Ain't Too Proud - The Life and Times of The Temptations
Ephraim Sykes, Ain't Too Proud - The Life and Times of The Temptations **Winner**

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show:

Ashley Blair Fitzgerald, The Cher Show **Winner**
Gabrielle Hamilton, Oklahoma! **Winner**
Amber Gray, Hadestown
Leslie Kritzer, Beetlejuice
Angie Schworer, The Prom

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show:

Ain't Too Proud - The Life and Times of The Temptations
King Kong **Winner**
Kiss Me Kate
The Cher Show
The Prom


Outstanding Choreography

Joshua Bergasse, Smokey Joe's Cafe
Raja Feather Kelly, If Pretty Hurts, Ugly Must Be a Muhfucka
Rick and Jeff Kuperman, Alice By Heart **Winner**
Lorin Latarro, Merrily We Roll Along
Shea Sullivan, Neurosis, A Musical That Gets in Your Head

Outstanding Male Dancer

Brennan Caldwell, Neurosis, A Musical That Gets in Your Head
Zachary Downer, Alice By Heart
Brendan Henderson, Cleopatra
Jelani Remy, Smokey Joe's Cafe
Wesley Taylor, Alice By Heart **Winner**

Outstanding Female Dancer

Emma Degerstedt, Smokey Joe's Cafe
Mia DiLena, Alice By Heart
Irina Dvorovenko, The Beast in the Jungle **Winner**
Dionne D. Figgins, Smokey Joe's Cafe
Naomi Kakuk, The Beast in the Jungle

Outstanding Ensemble

Alice By Heart , MCC Theatre
Fiddler on the Roof, National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene
If Pretty Hurts, Ugly Must Be a Muhfucka, Playwrights Horizons
Smokey Joe's Café, Steven Baruch, Mark Routh, Richard Frankel, Tom Viertel **Winner**
Twelfth Night, The Public Theater


Theatrical Release

Isn't It Romantic - (Release date, February 13, 2019, Rebel Wilson, Liam Hemsworth) Choreographer: Christopher Gattelli; Assistant Choreographer, Jon Rua

Mary Poppins Returns - (Release date, December 19, 2018, Emily Blunt, Lin-Manuel Miranda)
Choreographers: Rob Marshall & John DeLuca; Co-Choreographer, Joey Pizzi; Associate Choreographer, Tara Nichole Hughes, Assistant Choreographer: Marlon Pelayo **Winner**

Shine - (Release date, October 6, 2018, Alysia Reiner, David Zayas)
Director of Choreography: Anderson Cruz, Choreographers, Charlie Garcia, Osmar Perrones, Grisselle Ponce

Swimming with Men - (Release date, December 7, 2018, Rob Brydon, Rupert Graves) Choreographer: Caroline Pope

The Nutcracker and The Far Realms - (Release date, November 2, 2018, Misty Copeland)
Choreographer: Liam Scarlett


Ballet Now - (Release date, July 20, 2018; Tiler Peck)
Director: Steven Cantor

Bathtubs Over Broadway - (Release date, November 30, 2018; Tribeca Film Festival Award Winner prior and other festivals, Chita Rivera, Martin Short, etc.)
Director: Dava Whisenent

Hot to Trot - (Release date, NY, August 24, 2018, nationwide rollout to follow)
Director: Gail Freedman

If The Dancer Dances - (Release date, July 24, 2018, Dance on Camera Festival)
Director, Maia Weschler

Moving Stories, Lives Transformed By Dance - (Release Date, August 11, 2018, Battery Dance Festival, MoMa)
Director: Rob Fruchtman, Wilderness Films, Producer **Winner**