STAGE TUBE: John Kander, Bill T. Jones & More Recieve National Medals of Arts

Just yesterday, President Barack Obama presented the National Medals of Arts in conjunction with the National Humanities Medals in an East Room ceremony at the White House. NEA Chairman Jane Chu said, "Whether its animation or architecture, writing or music, these artists' creativity and passion have made an enormous impact on our nation. I join the President in congratulating them and celebrating the arts in our country."

The official citations for the 2013 National Medal of Arts recipients are: Julia Alvarez, Brooklyn Academy of Music, Joan Harris, Bill T. Jones, John Kander, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Maxine Hong Kingston, Albert Maysles, Linda Ronstadt, Billie Tsien and Tod Williams, and James Turrell. Check out the ceremony below!

The National Medal of Arts is the highest award given to artists and arts patrons by the federal government. It is awarded by the President of the United States to individuals or groups who are deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to the excellence, growth, support, and availability of the arts in the United States.

Related Articles

More From This Author Stage Tube Bio