Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Original Cast Recording Of Tom Kitt, Brian Yorkey & Kwame Kwei-Armah's THE VISITOR Released Today

The world premiere production of The Visitor, starring David Hyde Pierce and directed by Daniel Sullivan, ran at The Public Theater in fall 2021.

Original Cast Recording Of Tom Kitt, Brian Yorkey & Kwame Kwei-Armah's THE VISITOR Released Today

Today Craft Recordings / Concord Theatricals released the original cast recording of The Visitor on streaming and digital platforms worldwide. With music by Pulitzer Prize/Tony/Emmy/Grammy winner Tom Kitt, lyrics by Pulitzer Prize/Tony winner Brian Yorkey, and book by Kwame Kwei-Armah & Brian Yorkey, the world premiere production of The Visitor, starring Tony/Emmy winner David Hyde Pierce and directed by Tony winner Daniel Sullivan, ran at The Public Theater in fall 2021. Professional and amateur licensing of the new musical will also be available worldwide through Concord Theatricals.

Click HERE to stream or download the album.

Click HERE to learn more about stage licensing rights.

"This is an extraordinary new musical that urgently needs to be heard and produced across the country and around the world," said Sean Patrick Flahaven, Chief Theatricals Executive for Concord. "Its message of compassion and perseverance is delivered through a gorgeous score beautifully performed by this cast and band."

"It has been a great privilege to adapt Tom McCarthy's beautiful film for the stage, and I am incredibly grateful to Sean and everyone at Concord Theatricals for preserving this score, which has been captured so exquisitely by this extraordinary group of artists," said Tom Kitt. "I look forward to reliving the passion and beauty that this great company brought to the piece, as well as Jamshied Sharifi's gorgeous orchestrations, for years to come."

The album features the voices of Jacqueline Antaramian (Mouna), Robert Ariza (Ensemble), Anthony Chan (Ensemble), Alysha Deslorieux (Zainab), Delius Doherty (Ensemble), C.K. Edwards (Ensemble), Will Erat (Ensemble), Brandon Espinoza (Ensemble), Sean Ewing (Ensemble), Albert Guerzon (Swing), Crystal Joy (Swing), Marla Louissaint (Ensemble), Ahmad Maksoud (Tarek), Sahar Milani (Swing), Dimitri Joseph Moïse (Ensemble), Ariel Neydavoud (Swing), Takafumi Nikaido (Ensemble/Drummer), David Hyde Pierce (Walter), Pauli Pontrelli (Ensemble) and Katie Terza (Ensemble), who cooperatively wrote the liner note for the album.

The Visitor features orchestrations by Tony Award winner Jamshied Sharifi, music supervision by Meg Zervoulis, music direction by Rick Edinger, and associate music direction by Emily Whitaker. The band is Inna Dudukina, Greg Joseph, Harvey Valdes, Alexanda Eckhardt, Alan Hewitt and Hajnal Pivnick.

The album is produced by Sean Patrick Flahaven and Tom Kitt. It was recorded, edited and mixed by Ian Kagey, and mastered by Oscar Zambrano. Additional production credits can be found in the album booklet HERE.

The musical is based on the acclaimed Groundswell Productions and Participant Media Motion Picture written and directed by Academy Award winner Thomas McCarthy. Widowed and living alone, Walter is a middle-aged, white college professor who has lost his sense of purpose. When Tarek, a Syrian drummer, and Zainab, a Sengalese jewelry maker, enter his life unexpectedly, Walter is swept up into their struggle to stay in an America that they have made their home, but cruelly seeks to cast them out.


  1. Prologue
  2. Wake Up
  3. Tarek and Zainab
  4. Zainab's Apology
  5. Subway Transition
  6. In The Middle Of The Middle Row
  7. Two And Three
  8. Drum Circle
  9. Zainab's Song (Bound For America)
  10. Here In The First World
  11. World Between Two Worlds
  12. What Little I Can Do (Preprise)
  13. Where Is Home/No Home
  14. Lady Liberty
  15. Heart Into Your Hands
  16. Blessings
  17. Such Beautiful Music
  18. My Love Is Free
  19. Better Angels
  20. What Little I Can Do/Such Beautiful Music (Reprise)
  21. Drum Circle (Reprise)

The Visitor will be available for theatrical licensing through Concord Theatricals. Learn more about how to license the musical HERE.

Other recent recordings released by Craft Recordings / Concord Theatricals include the Grammy Award-nominated cast albums of Come From Away, Amélie (Original London Cast Recording), and the 2018 revival of Rodgers & Hammerstein's Carousel, as well as Mr. Saturday Night (Original Broadway Cast Recording), starring Billy Crystal; DRAG: The Musical (The Studio Recording); A Chorus Line (Original Spanish Cast Recording), starring Antonio Banderas; Jason Robert Brown's Coming From Inside The House, featuring Ariana Grande & Shoshana Bean; and Shaina Taub's Twelfth Night.

More Hot Stories For You

Cast and Creative Team Announced For The York Theatre's Return Engagement Of CHEEK TO CHEEK: IRVING BERLIN IN HOLLYWOOD
August 16, 2022

The cast includes Jeremy Benton (42nd Street, Cagney at The York), Darien Crago (Holiday Inn, Irving Berlin's White Christmas), Kaitlyn Davidson (Cinderella, Bright Star), Danny Gardner (Flying Over Sunset, The Decline and Fall of the Entire World… at The York), and Melinda Porto (Off Broadway debut). Understudies are Corinne Munsch (A Chorus Line at Signature, Bullets Over Broadway on tour) and Sean Quinn (Irving Berlin's White Christmas, Cinderella).

Photos: First Look at PATIENCE at Second Stage Theater
August 15, 2022

Second Stage Theater is now presenting PATIENCE by JOHNNY G. LLOYD. The production is directed by Zhailon Levingston and featured Justiin Davis, Jonathan Burke, Nemuna Ceesay, Zainab Barry, and Mary E. Hodges. Check out photos here!

THE INTERNATIONAL FRINGE ENCORE SERIES Returns To Soho Playhouse For 15th Season
August 12, 2022

SoHo Playhouse announces their 15th season of The International Fringe Encore Series, featuring some of the best productions from fringe theater festivals across the globe. The series is curated by SoHo Playhouse Artistic Director, Darren Lee Cole, Britt LaField (SoHo Playhouse), Scott Morfee (Barrow Street Theatre), Christina Olson (Barrow Street Theatre), Matthew Quinn (Theatre Asylum).

Manhattan Repertory Theatre to Present the World Premiere of POWERHOUSE Off-Broadway
August 11, 2022

Manhattan Repertory Theatre will present the world premiere production of David Harms’ POWERHOUSE, directed by Artistic Director, Ken Wolf. Casting will be announced shortly. POWERHOUSE will play a four-week limited engagement at Off-Broadway’s A.R.T./New York Theatres - Gural Theatre.

Harlem9 to Return in Person for 11th Annual 48HOURS IN...HARLEM FESTIVAL This Month
August 11, 2022

Harlem9 is back in person in Harlem after three years away with 48 Hours... In Harlem. A whirlwind weekend of play creation with emerging and established artists will culminate with two live performances on Sunday, August 21, 2022 at 7 PM and 9:30 PM.