Nominees Announced for The 2018 ESPYS Presented by Capital One, Airing July 18 on ABC, Hosted by Danica Patrick

Article Pixel

Nominees Announced for The 2018 ESPYS Presented by Capital One, Airing July 18 on ABC, Hosted by Danica Patrick

LeBron James, Tom Brady, Chloe Kim, Kevin Durant, James Harden, Jose Altuve, Shaun White, Mike Trout, Cristiano Ronaldo, Roger Federer and USA Women's Ice Hockey Are Among Nominees for 'The 2018 ESPYS Presented by Capital One,' Airing July 18 on ABC, Hosted by Danica Patrick.

For a complete list of nominees and to cast your vote, click HERE!

In Best Male Athlete, three-time nominee Tom Brady is joined by three newcomers to the category - Alexander Ovechkin, James Harden, and José Altuve. Brady was previously nominated for this award in 2004 and 2008.

Alpine skier Mikaela Shiffrin is nominated for a second time in Best Female Athlete. She will compete for the honor against fellow Olympian Chloe Kim, the WNBA's Sylvia Fowles and Julie Ertz of USA women's soccer - all first-time nominees in the category.

Kevin Durant is eying a second-straight win for Best Championship performance on the heels of a second-straight NBA FINALS MVP. He's facing off against SUPER BOWL MVP Nick Foles, WORLD SERIES MVP George Springer and NCAA Men's Final Four MOP Donte DiVincenzo.

For the first time since 2004, two NBA players are going head-to-head in Best Breakthrough Athlete: Ben Simmons and Donovan Mitchell. They are joined by NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Alvin Kamara and U.S. Open champion Sloane Stephens.

In Best Record-Breaking Performance, Aaron Judge enters the ring with three returning nominees: Tom Brady, Rodger Federer and Diana Taurasi. Any of the four would be a first-time victor in the category.

LeBron James graces the Best NBA Player category for the 14th straight time, vying this year for his third consecutive win. He faces stiff competition from James Harden, Giannis Antetokounmpo and Anthony Davis.

"The ESPYS" return to ABC for the fourth year with a star-studded evening celebrating major sports achievements, reliving unforgettable moments, and saluting the leading performers and performances of the past year in sports.

Top celebrities from sports and entertainment will gather to recognize nominees and honor winners in categories such as Best Game, Best Team, Best Female Athlete, Best Upset, Best Male U.S. Olympic Athlete and more. "The 2018 ESPYS Presented by Capital One" will also showcase inspiring human stories through three pillar awards - the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, the Jimmy V Perseverance Award and the Pat Tillman Award for Service. The show supports ESPN's ongoing commitment to The V Foundation for Cancer Research, launched by ESPN with the late Jim Valvano in 1993.
"The 2018 ESPYS Presented by Capital One" will be hosted by Danica Patrick and broadcast live on ABC, Wednesday, July 18 (8 - 11 p.m. EDT), from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk