Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Folk Alliance International Announces 2019 Official Showcase Artists

Folk Alliance International Announces 2019 Official Showcase Artists

Folk Alliance International (FAI) is proud to announce the 2019 Official Showcase artists* representing 23 countries (*confirmed to date and subject to change) for the 31st annual conference taking place February 13-17, 2019, at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth in Montréal, Québec, Canada.

This was an exceptional applicant year with over 1000 artists (a 30% increase over the previous year) from 28 countries applying for 180 Official Showcase slots.

A 21-member international jury made up of festival directors and music industry professionals from the U.S., Canada, and abroad spent one month reviewing and scoring the applications. FAI places a priority on reflecting the full diversity of international folk music, and while scoring applications jurors are asked to consider how well the applicant helps broaden the view and offering of folk music for presenters, industry, and audience.

For the most up-to-date list of 2019 Official Showcase artists* visit See also below. Apply for press credentials

A platform for luminaries and rising stars, FAI's Official Showcases are 30 minutes in length and are held concurrently on ten full-production stages throughout the host hotel over four nights. Artists perform for hundreds of festivals and venue bookers, agents, managers, labels, media, and music industry representatives. The curated showcases feature touring and export-ready artists representing a diverse array of folk genres including Appalachian, Americana, Bluegrass, Blues, Cajun, Celtic, Francophone, Global Roots, Indie-Folk, Indigenous, Latin, Old-Time, Traditional, Singer-Songwriter, Spoken Word, and every imaginable fusion.

High profile artists from previous conferences include John Oates, Neyla Pekarek of The Lumineers, Lake Street Dive, Rhiannon Giddens with The Carolina Chocolate Drops, Lhasa de Sela, AHI, Béla Fleck , Sarah Jarosz, The Milk Carton Kids, The War and Treaty, Darlingside, The Stray Birds, Valerie June, John Fullbright, The Wailin' Jennys, Kaia Kater, The Waifs, and Nickel Creek. Past performances have also included guest appearances by Judy Collins, Billy Bragg, Rita Coolidge, Ron Sexsmith, Ani DiFranco, Archie Fisher, Sara Watkins, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Peggy Seeger and many more.

FAI is committed to diversity, inclusion, equitable representation in all programming. In compliment to ongoing efforts to prioritize this commitment, FAI has formally signed on to the PRS Foundation's international Keychange initiative, a pioneering effort which empowers women to transform the future of music and encourages festivals to achieve a 50:50 gender balance by 2022. FAI achieved this goal of gender equity with the 2018 Official Showcases and aims to achieve it across all stages and programs in 2019.

Returning to Canada in 2019, the FAI conference theme, The Spirit of Creativity, is an exploration of the artistic process from inspiration to vocation and a collective conversation about innovation, collaboration, and spirituality in art. The 31st annual conference will be held February 13-17, 2019, in Montréal, Québec, Canadawhich is known for its vibrant music scene and public celebration of the arts. Additionally, the historic host hotel Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, will be celebrating the 50th anniversary of John Lennon and Yoko Ono's bed-in at the hotel where they wrote: "Give Peace a Chance."

About Folk Alliance International

Folk Alliance International (FAI) is a registered nonprofit based in Kansas City, Missouri. Founded in 1989, FAI is an advocacy, professional development, and networking organization that produces the world's largest conference of the folk music community and industry. Guided by a mission "to serve, strengthen, and engage the global folk music community through preservation, presentation, and promotion," FAI serves over international 3,000 members and five regional affiliate organizations in North America.

About the annual FAI Conference
The FAI conference draws 2800 registrants from 35 countries. The annual event includes a 4-day conference with daytime panels, hundreds of Official Showcases, thousands of private showcase performances, the Louis Jay Meyers Music Camp, the International Folk Music Awards, Folk in the Schools and Artist in Residence programs. The 31th edition will be held February 13-17, 2019, at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth in Montréal, Québec, Canada.

Follow FAI for updates. Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram

(see below for the full list of 2019 Official Showcase artists)

2019 Official Showcase Artists*

*confirmed to date, subject to change

Alash Ensemble

Alex Cuba

Ana Silvera

Andrew Finn Magill

Annie Oakley

April Verch Band

BeauSoleil avec Michael Doucet


Birds of Chicago

Blair Dunlop

Brock Zeman

Buckman Coe

California Guitar Trio & Montreal Guitar Trio

Caravana Banda

Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer

Chris Kasper

Christine Tassan et les Imposteures

Colm Mac Con Iomaire

Connie Kaldor

Coralie Herard

Cris Derksen Trio


Dan Parsons

Dave Gunning

David Bromberg Quintet

David Davis & The Warrior River Boys

David Keenan

David Myles

David Wax Museum

Dawn Landes

De Temps Antan

Dimpker Brothers

Dione Taylor & The Backsliderz

Diyet & The Love Soldiers


Duncan Chisholm

Durham County Poets

Eliza Gilkyson

Ellis Paul

Emily Mure

Emily Wurramara

Eric Andersen Band

Fabrizio Cammarata

Fanie Fayar

Farah Siraj

Findlay Napier

Flor de Toloache

Frazey Ford

Freddy & Francine

Gabrielle Papillon


Glen Phillips

Good Lovelies

Grace Petrie

Graeme James

Hafdis Huld

Harrison Kennedy

Hawksley Workman

Hayley Reardon

Ilaria Graziano & Francesco Forni


Jackie Venson

Jay Gilday

Jenn Grant

Jim Lauderdale

Joe Bel

Joe Crookston

John Kay

John Smith

Jordan Officer

Jordie Lane

Josh Halverson


Kaia Kater


Katie Pruitt

Kiran Ahluwalia


Le Vent du Nord

Leela Gilday Band

Lennie Gallant

Les Poules à Colin

Lisa Canny

Livingston Taylor

Lonely Heartstring Band

Low Lily

Lydia Persaud

Maddie Storvold

Madeleine Roger

Madison Violet

Maija Kauhanen


M?m? Mihirangi & the M?reikua


Matt Andersen and the Bona Fide

Matt Mays

Meaghan Blanchard

Mehdi Cayenne

Mel Parsons


Melisande [electrotrad]

Mike Biggar


Mission Songs Project

Mo Kenney




Nick Sherman

Niyaz featuring Azam Ali

Nomadic Massive

Oh Susanna

Oshima Brothers


Patty Griffin

Peppino D'Agostino


Peter Mulvey

Pierre Kwenders

Pipo Romero

Polky Village Band

Poor Nameless Boy

Ramy Essam

Raye Zaragoza

Rebecca Loebe

Red Moon Road

Reuben and the Dark

Rising Appalachia

Robbie Fulks

Roberto Cassani

Rory Block

Rosie & the Riveters

Royal Jelly Jive

Saint Sister

Sam Lynch

Sara Ajnnak

Sarah Jane Scouten

Sawyer Fredericks

Seamus Egan Project

Sean McConnell

Shakura S'Aida

Shari Ulrich

Shellie Morris

Shreem x Celtic Remixing

Sofia Rei


Stephen Fearing

Tanya Davis

The Alternate Routes

The Bombadils

The Brother Brothers

The Dardanelles

The East Pointers

The Fretless

The Ghost of Paul Revere

The Jellyman's Daughter

The Lost Brothers

The Lumber Jills

The Maes

The McDades

The O'Pears

The Revelers

The Small Glories

The Suitcase Junket

The Sweet Remains

The Turbans

The Way Down Wanderers

The Young'uns



Twin Flames

Twisted Pine

Vance GIlbert


Vivalda Dula

Vox Sambou

William Fitzsimmons

Willie Nile

Yves Lambert TRIO

Zachary Lucky

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You