Courtney Barnett Shares HOUSES And CHARITY From Spotify Session

Courtney Barnett Shares HOUSES And CHARITY From Spotify Session

Today Courtney Barnett, one of the most acclaimed and exceptional artists of her generation, shares the latest fruits of her labor - a live version of "Tell Me How You Really Feel" favorite "Charity", and a poignant and sublime cover of Elyse Weinberg's "Houses".

Recorded during a Spotify Singles Session in New York City in May, the two tracks find Courtney in brilliant form; razor sharp and rocking out on the live studio.

Of her cover choice, Courtney says:

I first heard of Elyse Weinberg while on tour with a night off. My friend Janet Weiss (of Sleater Kinney and many other bands) invited me to her house for a home-cooked meal. Late in the evening Janet pulled out a record titled Elyse. The artwork reminded me of Joni Mitchell's Ladies Of the Canyon. I fell in love with this mysterious artist and in particular her song "Houses". Rumour has it that Neil Young is playing the lead guitar line. I flipped the record over but couldn't find his name in the credits. Elyse Weinberg once said of her life in music that "the plan is to remember who i really am". I liked that.

The session is available to stream in full on Spotify now, but the tracks will also be available as a gorgeous red vinyl 7" single via Vinyl Me Please in the US, Rough Trade in UK/EU and the Milk! Records Store in Australia/NZ. As usual, it is another stunning addition to what is already becoming a canonical body of work for Courtney Barnett.?

Barnett just wrapped her second North American tour for year, headlining major festivals and selling out venues around the US and Canada. While in DC she stopped by the NPR studios to chat about the album for this All Songs Considered special and also rocked the outdoor stage at Jimmy Kimmel Live! playing "Need A Little Time" and "Charity."

UPCOMING SHOWS

Sat 29th Sept - Ogden Theatre, Denver SOLD OUT

Sun 30th Sept- Ogden Theatre, Denver (tickets)

Tue 2nd Oct - The Van Buren, Phoenix (tickets)

Wed 3rd Oct - The Observatory North Park, San Diego (tickets)

Fri 5th Oct - Greek Theatre, Los Angeles (tickets)

Mon 8th Oct - Paramount Theatre, Seattle (tickets)

Tue 9th Oct - Vogue Theatre, Vancouver SOLD OUT

Wed 10th Oct - Vogue Theatre, Vancouver (tickets)

Thu 11th Oct - McMenamins Crystal Ballroom, Portland (tickets)

Fri 12th Oct - McMenamins Crystal Ballroom, Portland SOLD OUT

Sun 14th Oct - Treasure Island Music Festival, Oakland * (tickets)

Wed 17th Oct - Pabst Theatre, Waukesha (tickets)

Thu 18th Oct - Riviera Theatre, Chicago (tickets) JUST ANNOUNCED

Fri 19th Oct - Stage AE, Pittsburgh (tickets)

Sun 21st Oct - House Of Blues Boston, Boston (tickets)

Tue 23rd Oct - The Fillmore - Philadelphia, Philadelphia (tickets)

Thu 25th Oct - Marathon Music Works, Nashville (tickets)

Sat 27th Oct - Stubb's Waller Creek Amphitheatre, Austin (tickets)

With Waxahatchee

* w/ Lord Huron, Sharon Van Etten

Australia and New Zealand

Fri 17th Aug - Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide

Sat 18th Aug - Metropolis, Fremantle

Weds 22nd Aug - The Tivoli, Brisbane

Thurs 23 Aug - Sydney Opera House

Sat 25th Aug - Sydney Opera House

Tues 28 Aug - The Powerstation, Auckland

Weds 29th Aug - The Powerstation, Auckland SOLD OUT

Thurs 30th Aug - Opera House, Wellington

Sat 1st Sept - Festival Hall, Melbourne

With East Brunswick All Girls Choir*

*excluding Sydney

UK / EU tour dates

Thurs 1st Nov - Berlin at Huxleys Neue Welt

Sat 3rd Nov - Stockholm at Kagelbanan

Sun 4th Nov - Copenhagen at Vega

Mon 5th Nov - Oslo at Rockerfeller Music Hall

Weds 7th Nov - Paris at Casino De Paris

Fri 9th Nov - Wiesbaden at Schlachthof

Sun 11th Nov - Kortrijk at Sonic City Festival

Mon 12th Nov - Dublin at Olympia Theatre

Weds 14th Nov - London at O2 Brixton Academy

Thurs 15th Nov - Oxford at O2 Academy

Fri 16th Nov - Brighton at The Dome

Sun 18th Nov - Cardiff at The Great Hall

Mon 19th Nov - Birmingham at O2 Academy 1

Tues 20th Nov - Glasgow at O2 Academy

Weds 21st Nov - Newcastle at Northumbria University

With special guest Laura Jean

Photo Credit: Mia Mala McDonald



Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You