Click Here for More Articles on 2020 AWARDS SEASON

Zachary Quinto & Matt Bomer to Present Educator Honor at 2014 Tony Awards

Two Carnegie Mellon University alumni - Zachary Quinto of "Star Trek" and Broadway's "The Glass Menagerie" and Matt Bomer of "The Normal Heart" and "White Collar" -- will debut an exclusive educator honor at this year's Tony Awards on Sunday, June 8 on CBS.

On stage at Radio City Music Hall during the live broadcast, Quinto and Bomer will introduce the creation of the "Tony Honor for Excellence in Theatre Education presented by Carnegie Mellon University," which is the first, national recognition program to honor kindergarten through high-school (K-12) theatre educators. This follows the university's announcement in April that it will collaborate with the Tony Awards as its first, exclusive higher education partner. Nominations for theatre educators will be accepted online this fall and the first recipient will be honored on stage at the 2015 Tony Awards.

CMU's School of Drama is the oldest drama degree-granting program in the United States and celebrates its centennial in 2014. In the past century, CMU has produced hundreds of Tony nominees and 31 Tony winners-eight winners in 2013 alone.

This year, six CMU alumni have been nominated for a Tony, including:

· Paula Wagner as a producer for Best Play for "Mothers and Sons;"

· Jamie deRoy (A '67) as a producer for Best Musical for "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder;"

· Cherry Jones (A '78) for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play for "The Glass Menagerie;"

· Sutton Foster for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical for "Violet;"

· Peter Hylenski (A '97) for Best Sound Design of a Musical for "After Midnight;"

· Leigh Silverman (A '96) for Best Direction of a Musical for "Violet."

In addition, Wagner and fellow CMU alum Billy Porter (A '91), a 2013 Tony Award winner, will join CMU's College of Fine Arts Dean Dan Martin for an on-stage presentation celebrating arts and theatre education, and its vital role in developing the next great generation of actors, directors, producers and all theatre professionals.

Last year, Porter and fellow CMU alumni Patina Miller (A '06), Judith Light (A '70), Ann Roth (A '53), Jules Fisher (A '60), Peggy Eisenhauer (A '83), Martin Platt (A '71) and Jamie DeRoy (A '67) took home Tony Awards.

The 2014 Tony Awards, hosted by Hugh Jackman, will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City on Sunday, June 8, on CBS. The 68th annual Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

VIDEO: Ben Platt and the Cast of DEAR EVAN HANSEN Perform 'You Will Be Found' on James Corden's HOMEFEST
Last night, CBS presented HOMEFEST: James Corden's LATE LATE SHOW SPECIAL, hosted by James Corden. One of the performers was Ben Platt, who joined the... (read more)

Living Room Concert: Lin-Manuel Miranda Sings HAMILTON
Today we've got Lin-Manuel Miranda singing from HAMILTON!... (read more)

PBS Streams Shows From Live From Lincoln Center and Great Performances Series For Free
PBS has unlocked a selection of its shows and concerts in its Live From Lincoln Center and Great Performances series, for a limited time.... (read more)

Actor David Schramm Has Passed Away At Age 73
BroadwayWorld is saddened to report that David Schramm has passed away. Schramm was a founding member of The Acting Company. The company's Margot Harl... (read more)

VIDEO: Andrew Lloyd Webber Rounds Up His Favorite 'Any Dream Will Do' Covers
Andrew Lloyd Webber called on fans to submit videos of themselves singing Any Dream Will Do, for a chance to win a pair of tickets to his production o... (read more)

VIDEO: Watch The Cast of BEETLEJUICE on STARS IN THE HOUSE Concert Series with Seth Rudetsky
Stars in The House continues today (2pm) with the cast of Beetlejuice... (read more)