Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on CHEYENNE JACKSON

Theatre World Awards Announced - Ceremony to Take Place May 23

The honors are awarded to performers for making their first major New York stage appearance (Broadway or Off-Broadway debuts). The 61st awards ceremony will take place May 23 at Studio 54 from 3:30-6:00 PM.

The 2005 Theatre World Awards winners are:

Created in 1944 by Theatre World founders Daniel Blum, Norman McDonald, and John Willis to coincide with the first release of Theatre World, the now 60-year-old definitive pictorial and statistical annual record of the American theatre, the Theatre World Awards are the oldest awards given for debut performances in New York City, as well as one of the oldest honors bestowed on New York actors.

A committee of New York drama critics currently chooses six actors and six actresses for the Theatre World Award, who have distinguished themselves in Broadway and Off-Broadway productions during the past theatre season. Votes are tabulated and coordinated by critic Peter Filichia, longtime Theatre World editor John Willis, and Theatre World associate editor Ben Hodges.

Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

More Hot Stories For You