Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Edmund Donovan And Zoey Anderson Take Home Clive Barnes Awards


The Clive Barnes Foundation, under the leadership of former Royal Ballet soloist Valerie Taylor-Barnes, awarded its prizes today for the 9th Annual Clive Barnes Awards, recognizing excellence in Theater and Dance, to Edmund Donovan (Theater, Lewiston/Clarkston) and Zoey Anderson (Dance, Parsons Dance). The awards were presented by Michael Novak, artistic director of Paul Taylor Dance Company and Tony-winner Beth Leavel, currently starring in Broadway's The Prom. The event, hosted by New York Post columnist and WOR radio personality Michael Riedel was held at the Walter Reade Theater at Lincoln Center.

Edmund Donovan was honored with this year's Theater Aritst Award for his work in Rattlestick Playwrights Theater's Lewiston/Clarkston. Also recognized as finalists in the category were Ian Duff (Dutch Masters), Will Roland (Be More Chill), and Ana Villafañe (Collective Rage: A Play in 5 Betties). Zoey Anderson of Parsons Dance was presented with the Dance Artist Award, celebrating her fourth season with the company. Joo Won Ahn (American Ballet Theatre), Erez Milatin (New York Theatre Ballet), and Sebastian Villarini Velez (New York City Ballet) were nominated as finalists in the category.

Mr. Donovan and Ms. Anderson each received a $5,000 award in recognition of their artistry. All finalists in both categories receive a cash prize of $500.

Previous winners are Chase Finlay (2010, New York City Ballet), Nina Arianda (2010, Tony Award winner), MJ Rodriguez (2011), Isabella Boylston (2011, American Ballet Theatre), Rob McClure (2012, Tony Award nominee), Lauren Lovette (2012, New York City Ballet), Jonny Orsini (2013), Lloyd Mayor (2013, Martha Graham Dance Company), Russell Janzen (2014, New York City Ballet), Alex Sharp (2014, Tony Award winner), Gabe Stone Shayer (2015, American Ballet Theater), Dave Thomas Brown (2015), Khris Davis (2016), Indiana Woodward (2016, New York City Ballet), Gemma Bond (2017, American Ballet Theatre) and Evan Ruggiero (2017).

The finalists and winners for the dance and theatre awards are chosen by the Selection Committee, which is comprised of a panel of critics and performers in each field. This year's Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Award includes William H. Ausman, Diana Byer, Pia Catton, Jenny Chiang, Frank DiLella, George Dorris, Erik Forrest Jackson, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton and Valerie Taylor-Barnes.


Edmund Donovan was seen this fall as Christopher in Samuel D. Hunter's Lewiston/Clarkston at Rattlestick Playwrights Theater. His previous New York credits include Jeremy O. Harris' Xander Xyst;Dragon: 1 (Ars Nova, ANT Fest); and Sharr White's The Snow Geese (MTC). His television and film credits include "Blue Bloods," "Unforgettable," "Orange is the New Black," and Akron. Edmund is a 2017 graduate of Yale School of Drama.

Zoey Anderson was born and raised in Utah where she trained in Contemporary, Ballet, Jazz, and Ballroom Dance. She graduated from Marymount Manhattan College under the direction of Katie Langan, where she received a BFA in Dance, having performed in works by Dwight Rhoden, Lar Lubovitch, and Aszure Barton. In 2013, she traveled to China to perform at the Yang Liping International Dance Festival. She has been a member of Parsons Dance since 2015 and has performed David Parsons iconic piece, Caught, and also works by Robert Battle (Train), Trey McIntyre, and Kate Skarpetowska among others. In 2018, Zoey was honored to receive a nomination for Outstanding Sustained Achievement from the Bessie Awards for her work with Parsons Dance.


Throughout his professional life, Clive Barnes was caring and generous to his colleagues and friends; always ready to advise and listen. After his death, many condolence letters spoke of his generosity and practical help, especially to young people. In this spirit, The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009 to create Annual Awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals and, thus, honoring the memory of the many years of critical work and the warm personal generosity of Clive Barnes.

The Foundation gives an Annual Award to two talented young professionals in the artistic fields of dance and theatre.

The Clive Barnes Foundation Board of Directors includes Valerie Taylor-Barnes (President), William H. Ausman (Vice President), Charles Askegard, George Dorris, Anthony Ferro, Paloma Herrera, Holly Jones, Michelle Mathesius, Lloyd Mayor, Michael Riedel and Spring Sirkin.

Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You