2014 NEOMFA Playwrights Festival Begins This February, 2/6-15

2014 NEOMFA Playwrights Festival Begins This February, 2/6-15

Convergence-continuum presents four new plays by local graduate-student playwrights at the 2014 NEOMFA Playwrights Festival. The Festival features four world-premiere plays: two full-length plays by final-year MFA candidates, and two ten-minute plays by second-year grad students. These plays are part of a three-year intensive program of study under playwright and professor Mike Geither, and are co-produced by convergence-continuum, Northeast Ohio Master of Fine Arts (NEOMFA) in Creative Writing and Cleveland State University. This will be the third year convergence-continuum has mounted the Festival at its performance space, the Liminis, 2438 Scranton Rd., Cleveland 44113 in the historic Tremont neighborhood.

February 6, 7, 8 (Thurs - Sat, 8pm): The full-length play River Sky (Soapocalypse Now) by Claire Robinson May, and 10-minute play Delta 32 by Keith Marcum.

February 13, 14, 15 (Thurs - Sat, 8pm): The full-length Warlords of Walderhaven by Michael Laurenty, and the 10-minute Murphy's Law Department by Monica Morgan.

River Sky (Soapocalypse Now) by Claire Robinson May is a dramedy set in an environmentally, economically and socially calamitous future where cave-dwelling is commonplace, yet some are able to sail with soap-opera celebrities on luxury cruises. River Sky is directed by convergence-continuum's Tom Kondilas and features con-con actors Liz Conway, Jack Matuszewski, Michael Regnier, Amy Bistok Bunce and Wes Shofner.

Delta 32 by Keith Marcum is a ten-minute sci-fi, inter-species drama. Directed by con-con's Cory Molner and featuring Lisa Wiley, Rob Branch and Amy Bistok Bunce.

Warlords of Walderhaven by Michael Laurenty is a comedy featuring four geeky guys, who attempt to become heroes in a role-playing adventure game, and their astonishing female "doubles." Directed by con-con Artistic Director, Clyde Simon and featuring con-con's Zac Hudak, Bobby Coyne, Eric Sever, Beau Reinker, Jaclyn Cifranic, Lauren B. Smith, Denise Astorino, Lisa Wiley, Laura Starnik and Rob Branch.

Murphy's Law Department by Monica Morgan is a ten-minute comedy set in a hitherto unknown region of the afterlife. Directed by Cory Molner, featuring Wes Shofner, Beau Reinker and Denise Astorino.

The 2014 NEOMFA Playwrights Festival opens Thursday, February 6 and runs at 8 p.m. Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays through February 15 at the Liminis, 2438 Scranton Rd., Cleveland, OH 44113.

Tickets are $10 general and $5 for students. For reservations and information visit www.convergence-continuum.org or call 216-687-0074.

More Cleveland!
Go to the Homepage

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
(Runs 7/1 - 9/2)
Motown the Musical in ClevelandMotown the Musical
(Runs 10/3 - 10/19)
Newsies The Musical in ClevelandNewsies The Musical
(Runs 11/4 - 11/16)
The King and I in ClevelandThe King and I
(Runs 11/14 - 11/23)
The Sound of Music in ClevelandThe Sound of Music
(Runs 11/21 - 12/7)
Jesus Christ Superstar in ClevelandJesus Christ Superstar
(Runs 12/18 - 12/28)
Dirty Dancing in ClevelandDirty Dancing
(Runs 3/3 - 3/22)

View All | Add Show | Auditions

Message Board