Bay Street Players Announce 2011-2012 Dolly Award Winners

Bay Street Players Announce 2011-2012 Dolly Award Winners

The 2011-2012 Bay Street Players Dolly Award winners were announced during the 37th Annual Dolly Award event, "Night of the Stars." The gala evening took place Saturday evening August 18, 2012 at the Historic State Theatre in Eustis. This event featured the opening of the theatre's newly remolded lobby extension.

The Dolly Awards – so named because the first show presented by the Bay Street Players was "Hello Dolly" – is fashioned after classic award ceremonies such as Broadway's Tony Awards. The evening celebrated the close of the most successful season in the history of Bay Street Players and it featured highlights and presenters from the 37th Season as well as live entertainment snapshots of what is to come in the 38th Season. In addition to the best actor awards, others were honored for outstanding contributions made during the season.

John and Evelyn Smith of Eustis were honored with their names receiving the premier placement in the Galaxy of Stars. This award was created to give permanent recognition of enduring philanthropic support.

A special slide show honored Bay Street Players' beloved actresses, Madeline Hamilton and Regina Mancino, who recently passed. Homage was also paid to Dison Locke, a long time back stage worker, who also passed this year.

The event was immediately followed by a champagne toast and dessert buffet catered by Olivia's Coffeehouse. Dolly Award nominees and winners are selected by a private jury.

The 2011-2012 Dolly Award Winners are:

Actor in a Play: BrenDon Rogers as David Kahn in Social Security
Actress in a Play: Sue Cohen as Barbara Kahn in Social Security
Supporting Actor in a Play: Ken Peterson as Dr. Seward in Dracula
Supporting Actress in a Play: Barbara Lorio as Trudy Heyman in Social Security
Featured Actor in a Play: Ashley Richards as R.M. Remfield in Dracula
Featured Actress in a Play: Terry Hill as Sophie Greengrass in Social Security
Male Bit in a Play: Adrian LePeltier as Maurice Koenig in Social Security
Female Bit in a Play: Shelby Frasier as Miss Wells in Dracula

Actor in a Musical: Jeff Lindberg as Douglas Panch in The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Actress in a Musical: Ashley Willsey as Rona Lisa Peretti in The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Supporting Actor in a Musical: Fred Ledden as King Pellinore in Camelot
Supporting Actress in a Musical: Katelyn Long as Olive Ostrovsky in The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Featured Actor in a Musical: Michael Osowski as Mordred in Camelot
Featured Actress in a Musical: Kelly Coy as Nimue in Camelot
Male Bit in a Musical: Walker Ford as Tom of Warwick in Camelot
Female Bit in a Musical: Nina Vatter as Sister Mary Nina Stage Manager in Sister Amnesia's Country Western Nunsense Jamboree

PRODUCTION OF THE YEAR: The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

BAY STREET Second Stage Series
Best Actor: Don Fowler as Don in Rounding Third
Best Actress: Jennifer Bonner as Beth in Dinner with Friends

The Julia Nora Vatter Technical Theatre Award: Patrick Adams
Young People's Theatre Student of the Year: Joe Patterson
Volunteer of the Year: Lila Shoop
Executive Director's Award: Nina Vatter
Artistic Director's Award: Jimmy Miller
President's Award: Amanda & Joel Warren
Youth Volunteer of the Year Award: Jonathan Scaringella

Related Articles

Long Island THEATER Stories | Shows

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...