Click Here for More Articles on STEPHEN SONDHEIM

SONDHEIM UNPLUGGED Continues at the Laurie Beechman Theatre, 4/25


Following twelve sold out shows, The Laurie Beechman Theatre will continue their hit series, SONDHEIM UNPLUGGED, for a thirteenth installment, Monday, April 25 at 7pm. Included in the cast are an array of Broadway and cabaret alums, including Emily Bergl (television's Desperate Housewives), Jim Brochu (Drama Desk winner for Zero Hour), Eric Michael Gillett (Kiss Me, Kate, Sweet Smell of Success), Hunter Herdlicka (B'way revival of A Little Night Music), Leenya Rideout (B'way revival of Company), Lucia Spina (B'way's Legally Blonde, South Pacific) and Jessica Vosk (recent NY Philharmonic Company). We're also pleased to welcome back three very special guests, each of whom created roles in Sondheim musicals: Joy Franz (Into the Woods, Assassins), Sarah Rice (Sweeney Todd) and Melanie Vaughan (Sunday in the Park with George). Recently, Sondheim Unplugged received the 2011 Bistro Award for Outstanding Cabaret Series, and has been nominated for the 2011 MAC Award.

The Laurie Beechman Theatre is located within the West Bank Cafe at 407 West 42nd St., in the heart of New York's theatre district. There is a $20 cover charge, as well as a $15 food/beverage minimum (a full dinner menu is available). For reservations, which are necessary, please call 212 695 6909.

SONDHEIM UNPLUGGED features an array of Broadway and Cabaret's most dynamic performers, celebrating the work of Broadway's most beloved and prolific composer, accompanied by piano only. The series boasts an impressive, rotating cast of some of the Theatre World and cabaret's most impressive talents, all of whom will perform their favorite Sondheim tunes. Also included in the cast on April 25: David Brian Colbert, Hilary Kole, Gabriel Mudd, Jillian Severin and Trevor Southworth. Musical Direction is by Ray Fellman.

Past special guests have included Len Cariou (Sweeney Todd, A Little Night Music), Danielle Ferland (Into the Woods, Sunday in the Park with George), Joy Franz (Into the Woods, Assassins), Annie Golden (Assassins), Steve Elmore (Company), Victoria Mallory (Follies, A Little Night Music), Donna McKechnie (Company), Pamela Myers (Company), Kurt Peterson (Follies), Teri Ralston (A Little Night Music), Sarah Rice (Sweeney Todd) and Pamela Winslow Kashani (Into the Woods). Each evening is hosted by Director/Producer Phil Geoffrey Bond (MAC/Bistro/Nightlife Award Winner).

Included in the rotating company: Carey Anderson (Avenue Q, Mamma Mia), Lisa Asher (MAC & Nightlife Award Winner), Raissa Katona Bennett (Phantom of the Opera), Christina Bianco (Drama Desk Nominee, Forbidden Broadway), David Brian Colbert (MAC Award Winner), Harris Doran (It Must Be Him), Natalie Douglas (MAC Award Winner), Michelle Dowdy (Hairspray), Kevin Dozier, Barbara Fasano (MAC /Bistro/Nightlife Award Winner), Terese Genecco (MAC & Bistro Award Winner), Eric Michael Gillett (Sweet Smell of Success, Kiss Me, Kate, MAC Award Winner), Larry Hamilton, Joe Iconis (Drama Desk Nominee), Hunter Ryan Herdlicka (A Little Night Music), Becca Southworth Johnson (The After Party), Trent Armand Kendall (Into the Woods), Audrey Lavine (Rags, Carrie), Lorinda Lisitza (Nightlife Award Winner), Karen Mack (MAC Award Winner), Rob Maitner (Bistro Award Winner), Cindy Marchionda (Jeff Award Winner), Liz McCartney (South Pacific, Taboo), Susie Mosher (Hairspray), Julia Murney (Wicked), Mark Nadler (MAC Award Winner), Karen Oberlin (MAC & Bistro Award Winner), Phyllis Pastore (MAC Award winner), Miles Phillips (MAC Award Winner), Marybeth Purdy, Shaynee Rainbolt (MAC Award Winner), Julie Reyburn (MAC/Bistro/Nightlife Award winner), Leenya Rideout (Company), Jana Robbins (Tale of the Allergist's Wife, Gypsy), Anne Runolfsson (Phantom of the Opera, Victor/Victoria), Nikki Scalera (Hairspray), Elizabeth Stanley (Company, Cry Baby, Million Dollar Quartet), Katie Thompson (Giant), Will Trice (MAC Award Winner), Jonathan Whitton (MAC Award Winner), Stephen Wallem (Nurse Jackie), Lennie Watts (MAC Award Winner) & Joann Yeoman.


Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...